We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“intimate, spotless, atmospheric”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 173 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Campbell House represents the best of the boutique hotels...anywhere. When we checked in, Sharmayne asked if we had checked in for our flight the next day. when we said we hadn't, she did the whole process for us, taking a huge load off our plate. we stayed for one night only; wish it could have been more. Breakfast, served in their on site Italian restaurant, was really a cut above other boutique hotels in Malaysia. Nadia and Roberto are marvelous hosts. Don't miss a chance to stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
There are newer reviews for Campbell House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 862 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed for just one night in the lovely Indochine room at this charming, period furnished, spotless boutique hotel. Staff were all smiles and extremely helpful. Dining was great with a genuine Italian Chef. Lavish breakfast was included. The location is perfect for discovering all the sights, sounds, tastes and smells of the still original, Chinese and Indian, downtown neighbourhoods. Stairs only to bedrooms therefore not handicapped friendly.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms preferable with vaulted ceilings and no noise from above.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We didnt stay here but wished we had. If they had ground floor rooms we would have done... our bad luck.
We ate in the restaurant twice and both times had wonderful experience. Good luck to the friendly owners for taking up this adventure. See you next time . :))

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank size16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Great cosy building right in the middle of Georgetown. Spent 2 nights in the Blossom room and the service was really friendly and the staff made everything to make sure it was as comfortable as possible. Even rocking up at midnight, we were still available to get into our room and check in the next day with no problem. The building has the old colonial feel to it but the renovated rooms have all the modern equipment and toiletries. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Calvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

It was a great pleasure to stay at Campbell House. Nothing was too much trouble for the helpful staff who advised and arranged bookings and reservations for us when requested.
Cannot recommend it too highly. They are a hard act to beat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Lovely restored old building with beautiful designed rooms.
The staff was very nice and friendly,only one thing-- why were we not informed that there is free
bus taking you around town?
It would have been good to know that,to use it and to get your barings right at the beginning of the stay.
The staff at breakfast could sometimes forget your bread,other times forget the yogurt.........
These are little things.........we enjoyed our stay,it was superclean and cozy.
And do not miss the chinese restaurant across the street,the dimsung place with the oldest waitresses seen,lovely old ladies and fantastic food. Hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugforever2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent 3 nights in the Peacock Room at Campbell House and I cant speak highly enough of the property.
The owners Nardya and Roberto greeted us and ensured that we had enough information to make the most out of our time in George Town. The hotel is tastefully, renovated character property and is an oasis in the middle of George Town. Loved the extra touches which included fresh juice and cold water in the room and when we arrived back to our room each afternoon we were greeted with cake. The décor is beautiful and the bed very comfortable. I would only add that a larger mirror would be recommend in the room and the only minor issue was the slight traffic noise, we are light sleepers and this did not pose a great problem.
The breakfast was really good - fresh fruit platter, juices, coffee, toast / croissants, choice of cereals and that was before they even offered you a hot dish!
The location is great - a lot of good restaurants within walking distance and even a choice of great street hawker food.
We will definitely be back and would like to try a room on the top floor, just because all the rooms are different. All the staff were incredibly helpful, knowledgeable and polite.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 85 in George Town
618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 85 in George Town
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 85 in George Town
3,625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 85 in George Town
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#14 of 85 in George Town
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Address: 106 Lebuh Campbell, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: $89 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campbell House is a new class... a new breed of Heritage hotel in Georgetown. A stunning 3 story corner shop house lovingly restored by European owners Nardya & Roberto, located arms length from the madding crowd, with 10 individual suites offering today's modern traveller a luxurious home away from home. Campbell House has plenty of charm, and personal touches, modern amenities mixed with classic Colonial style at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing