We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 174 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just a charming unique hotel central to many of the tourist attractions in Georgetown. Fabulously located amongst the busy historic streets. If you enjoy walking and exploring the culture, this gem is perfect!
The Sari Room on the first floor has a cute balcony overlooking the street life. Although on a busy corner, the windows are double glazed with thick drapes to minimise noise although this to me if part of the experience of inner city living. Great comfy bed, coffee machine and nice touches like cake at night make this place adorable.
Dinner at the on site Restaurant was excellent quality and very reasonably priced.
The breakfast was delicious with freshly squeezed juice, coffee and a variety of the usual breakfast dishes even though the food did take quite a time to arrive.
Of course, the staff are priceless and just go above and beyond your expectations.
The fabulous hosts Nadya and Roberto make you welcome into their home. They have created a unique atmosphere and I would definitely revisit.

Room Tip: The Sari Room if you like a balcony to view the local street life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaliGalSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 892 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

We made the mistake of spending only one night at this hotel and two at a resort in Batu Ferringhi on our recent short break in Georgetown. In hindsight, we should have taken a day trip to the "beach" and spent all three nights here in Campbell House.

Service was faultless - from the initial overview of attractions the friendly concierge gave us on check-in, through to the turndown service and complimentary cake we found in our room when returning from an afternoon exploring.

We stayed in the "Blossom" room, which is immediately off the landing on the first floor, above the reception and with large street-facing windows. I barely heard a noise through the beautiful stained glass windows and wooden slats and slept soundly on the 'just right' bed with 'just right' pillows. My husband and I did find some amusement in the glass wall to the bathroom, but a second wall does afford privacy from the sleeping area of the room itself.

Breakfast, included in the rate, is plentiful, with Nespresso machines in the rooms also. It was pleasant to indulge in this manner, while reading one of the many guidebooks available from the library which is also found on the first floor.

Location-wise, we walked to most attractions in Georgetown. It is only a few blocks from the Clan Jetties, which themselves are only a few blocks from Fort Cornwallis and the old colonial areas.

A great stay!

Room Tip: Beautiful stained glass in 'Blossom' adds to the charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmeliaMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was our second tie with Nardya's and her team, we loved visiting the first time, and even better the second... They remembered I drank decaf coffee and preferred hard pillows!
I really appreciate both their attention to detail, as well as the great location surrounded by great food
(Sorry I gave them 5 stars for fitness centre... Live on the top floor)

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic, second floor are cooler, no need for Aircon, ceiling fan is ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dr_Les_Sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 days at Campbell House, wondering if, like almost every former guest of this place, we would feel compelled to give it 5 stars. Without a single doubt, the answer is YES!!!

LOCATION




The hotel is located in the outer area of the Unesco protected part of Georgetown. It is at the corner of a busy street, within walking distance of most interesting sights in GT and many excellent restaurants.


AMBIENCE



The hotel is a lovely colonial style house, which has been renovated to its former glory with tender loving care. On the ground floor, you find a small reception area, and the Bacaro restaurant, where breakfast is served, and where we very much enjoyed going for a quiet drink. On the first floor, a cosy space has been arranged as a library, where you can borrow guide books or DVDs to watch in the privacy of your room. On the second floor, there is also a nice terrace, where you can enjoy the warm air, or go for a cigarette. Inside the hotel, guests are invited to remove their shoes, as customary in Asia and you can savour the feeling of the varnished hardwood floors on your feet. The house itself is very well maintained and everything is kept immaculately clean.


ROOM



We chose the Colonial room, which is at the very end of the corridor on the 2nd floor. We appreciated a lot its genuine colonial atmosphere, complete with wood shutters and colored glass windows. The bathroom was quite large, and also nicely decorated in the same style as the room. There is a minibar in the room, which the staff keeps filled with milk for coffee and a jar of homemade lemon ice tea, a lovely touch. Also, each afternoon, they leave you a little treat, such as a piece of cake or biscuits to enjoy while in your room. For coffee lovers, there is a Nespresso machine available, with complimentary capsules. The bed is firm, yet comfortable. With the street below, it can be a little noisy, but this is to be expected if you choose an hotel in the middle of GT.


BREAKFAST



Excellent breakfast offer, with à la carte choices, and the usual fare of toasts, fruit, yogurt, etc. I particularly loved the porridge they served every morning. Wonderfully British and so in tune with the colonial theme! The eggs were particularly delicious as well, as was everything we tasted during these three days.


SERVICE



Definitely the main asset of this hotel! From the moment we booked our room, to the time we departed in our taxi, the service was flawless. At this point, it's not even service anymore, as you feel treated like royalty by incredibly attentive friends. During check-in, the staff takes you through a thorough explanation of the sights to see, places to eat, things to do in GT. Each time you walk in the door, they ask you about your day with genuine interest and readily share tips and ideas to make your trip even more enjoyable. Every minute of our stay, we felt very well looked after by the entire staff and it was a pleasure to see them at the end of each day.
Many thanks to Emily, Daniele and Kumar. You have made our stay absolutely unforgettable!
 


VALUE




Very good value for a hotel of this category, given the quality of service and the loveliness of the place.


IN SUM



If you ever go to Georgetown, I strongly recommend you stay at this place. You will not regret it!

Room Tip: Each room is unique, choose one that fits your taste. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jewels_Gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Everything about the Campbell House is laudable. The hotel interior and common areas have a old mansion, wooden, colonial feel, with high ceilings and stained glass windows. The rooms are decorated tastefully and everywhere you look in the hotel you'll find something special, interesting and meaningful. They are spacious, quiet, clean and very comfortable, with great expresso coffee facilities and an bathroom beautifully tiled and with rain showers. The Venetian restaurant on the premises serves the best panacota we have ever tasted.The Torresella Refosco is a must try wine, served in proper wine glasses by well trained staff. Everyone, from the proprietors to the chamber maids where very friendly, professional and helpful, they give the impression that they do care about the guests and the place, and despite running their own restaurant at the hotel, they will happily advise on different culinary spots which you must pay a visit to before leaving Penang. The whole house has a fantastic vintage feeling throughout and they even have a rooftop beautifully arranged with sofas and cushions. The location is also perfect and you can walk everywhere. All in all, a 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntonioGP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

You will be treated so well here. The owners go out of their way to ensure your visit is so relaxing. The accommodation is top class - beds are incredibly comfortable - and the attention to detail like the coffee machine, little treats along with the lemon tea left in the fridge each day, the reading room with some great books, the terrace, the wonderful breakfasts in the restaurant and the very very attentive staff make you want to stay. Great location - easy walk to everywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voila88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Only one regret, should have booked for longer. The enthusiastic professionalism of all those associated with Campbell House is the reason that this boutique property is justifiably so highly regarded. The sympathetic restoration of the building is a delight.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 87 in George Town
882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,727 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 87 in George Town
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 87 in George Town
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#7 of 87 in George Town
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Address: 106 Lebuh Campbell, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: $94 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campbell House is a wonderful 12 bedroom boutique hotel with Italian restaurant located in the heart of heritage Georgetown. A stunning and unique 3 story corner shop house circa 1903 that has been extensively and lovingly restored offering today's modern traveler a luxurious home away from home. Campbell House has plenty of charm, and personal touches, modern amenities mixed with classic Colonial style at affordable prices. Perfectly located in the hustle of China Town, minutes from some of the best street food, and walking distance to historical museums, and fabulous street art. Campbell House offers an oasis of calm in this wonderful UNESCO world heritage city, come and explore Georgetown and Penang with us, we look forward to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing