We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and wonderful Hotel”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Campbell House Hotel is stunning. The decor and service was beyond everything we had expected. The staff are all superb and go one more step to make sure that your stay is perfect. Nadya and Roberto have a wonderful run hotel and the perfect place to relax after a day of sightseeing. The breakfast was amazing and nothing was any trouble. We would highly recommend the Campbell House Hotel to everyone visiting Penang. An absolute gem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborahjones2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    69
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
94
508
62
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Everything about this hotel is well thought out and it is an extraordinary place. The lovely owners are smart, totally dedicated, and they give this little gem of a hotel--and you if you're staying there--care and attention that is personal, savvy, and extremely warm. They have reinterpreted luxury and offer it to their guests in ways that are not just fancy, but actually make your stay more pleasurable. Like stocking fresh milk to go with the coffee from the espresso machine in your room, offering gorgeous smelling local shampoo and soap, cold filtered water rather than bottled, and a different cake or other sweet treat left in your room every day. It's also quite a beautiful place--the old building has been lovingly restored in excellent taste, each room is different, and there's a lovely library. Everyone that works there is unique, open, and friendly. I have never felt so welcome in a hotel and I've never enjoyed staying anywhere so much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorilongb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Its colonial, right in the heart of penang , what can be described as a haven from the heat of the day, Nadya & Roberto clearly run a slick ship here!and what I loved most was the way they and the staff connect with their guests , great attention to detail, the staff are attentive, you can clearly see that your hosts come from a well groomed past in this business. Like most people I put enormous amount of faith in Trip advisor, and you know what, all the Campbell house reviews are spot on ..
The minute we arrived at Penang Int Airport , a car and the hotel collection went smoothly, he called ahead, and when we arrived at the hotel Daniele was there to meet us.. a really nice touch.. !, checked in quickly , very informative overview of Georgetown was given.
We stayed in the opium room, up 2 flights of stairs, basically you take your shoes off and let the staff winch your bags up to your room , the rooms are all wonderfully appointed, with a nice touch of Water and juice in the fridge.
Our only regret was not allowing enough time in Georgetown, its great lots to see, we hired a guide which was really useful, allowed us to go directly to all the sights… well worth the insight into Georgetown.
Do…
Eat Char Kway Teow, Nasi Kandar.
Have.. Afternoon Tea at the Eastern & Oriental Hotel
See.. Klan Jetty, and have tour by guide
In summary great place…. Splendid breakfast, centrally located, nice people ,made to feel welcome……… and don’t forget to roll your sleeves up and get stuck into that lovely Penang food. And enjoy..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tootsweet52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsberg, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We just loved our stay at Campbell House and would absolutely love to come back. The staff was great, the room ("Colonial") was beautiful, the breakfast was wonderful. I could go on, but the short version is that everything was just excellent and we would not hesitate to recommend Campbell House.

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in "Colonial" which is located right next to the roof terrace, a very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Nicely decorated hotel, makes you feel like you're traveling in time - in a good way. Clean, huge and comfortable rooms and sitting area. Great location, within walking distance to many George Town's site.

PS: I wouldn't suggest asking directions to the lady owner!...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Spent 3 delightful days at Campbell House in the heart of Georgetown and couldn't have been happier. A charming old hotel lovingly restored by the owners with great attention to detail, each of 10 rooms uniquely furnished. Friendly, knowledgable, helpful staff; excellent breakfast; good location.
We travel often but never have been so moved by our experience to write a review here. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLG51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

we booked 3 rooms for a nite stay, checking in 25th Feb 2013. 6 of us are local Malaysian. Upon booking we told the staff (by phone) asking is their hotel let us do my friend's wedding photography shoot in their hotel common area, the staff said 'yes', if we are their guests. we need to make this very clear before we place the booking coz not all hotel allow to do photography shooting. When we were there on the date, the Owner told us that, their hotel policy do not let us do the shooting (in a very rude manner), it sounds like we are taking their advantage. The next morning, they prepared 5 sets of breakfast, but i told them we came in a group of 6. The boss said, should be 5, i said, i took up 3 rooms and i need 6 sets of breakfast.......when we check out the next day....they throw one of our bags from the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: for that price go to a better hotel in Penang
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank kokleongchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casanova995, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Campbell House Management would like to reinforce that we take our and the guests privacy very seriously.
We do not allow COMMERCIAL Photo Shoots on our premises and the use of images of Campbell House or its guests for COMMERCIAL purposes without written consent is strictly forbidden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 84 in George Town
570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
3,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.2 mi away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#6 of 84 in George Town
865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Property: Campbell House
Address: 106 Lebuh Campbell, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campbell House is a new class... a new breed of Heritage hotel in Georgetown. A stunning 3 story corner shop house lovingly restored by European owners Nardya & Roberto, located arms length from the madding crowd, with 10 individual suites offering today's modern traveller a luxurious home away from home. Campbell House has plenty of charm, and personal touches, modern amenities mixed with classic Colonial style at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing