We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 174 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We returned to Campbell House week, our last stay there was 10 months ago. What a warm welcome we got from Nardya & her team. This time we stayed in the Peacock Room, another delight! Dinner at Il Bacaro was excellent. Campbell House was pretty full but still consistently good. The staff are all good natured and helpful. The breakfasts are amazing , and we still got our little treats in the afternoons. It's definitely the hotel we shall return to on our next trip to Penang.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spark41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 894 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Should your journeys ever bring you to Penang and if you are a discerning traveler, mark it down: Campbell House Hotel in the heart of Georgetown. You won't find a better run, excellent and lovingly furnished and affordable hotel anywhere in town. Nadya and Roberto are the perfect hosts. Every nook and corner bespeaks of aesthetics; the service is as personal as it can only be in a hotel where you don't feel to be a guest, but a new friend lovingly cared for. The atmosphere of Campbell House Hotel is reason enough to return to the city.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk up two floors, ask for a room in the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilhelm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Hosts and staff extremely welcoming and helpful. Great croissants and cappucino.deluxe oasis right in middle of old town. Our room had stained glass windows and a mother of pearl inlaid four poster bed! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M-Polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at Campbell House during CNY. Although Penang was understandably quiet we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. From the friendly welcome to the wonderful room with furniture and fittings we would love in our Hong Kong apartment, to the generous and lazy breakfasts, the wealth of material in the reading room, the convenient location and the late night glass of wine. This is a boutique hotel where you really feel at home and appreciate the blend of cultures that Nardya, Roberto and team offer.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueveglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights with my parents. We must say we loved this place alot. We were greeted by the owner the minutes we arrived and were shown to the restaurant to have welcome drinks. Later, we were explained of what to do and see by the owner. We stayed at Indochine and Silver leaf room. Beautifully done, the lot. And not to mention "Nespresso". The restaurant there was also nice, made a very typical Italian food (Venice style). RECOMMEND TO ALL for your visit to PENANG

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sukan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I spent a total of three nights at the Campbell House over the December/January holidays. The place is truly worthy of a five star review. Though it's been said before in many of these reviews, I can't help but repeat that the hosts, Nardya and Roberto, are friendly people who absolutely understand what it takes to run a first rate inn. The building itself is charming and is perfectly located as a home base for exploring historic George town. The rooms are well-appointed, the linens were extremely clean and comfortable, and there was even the added treat of a nespresso machine and a delicious lemonade/iced tea drink in the room. I thought the room was very fairly priced, even a bargain, and that was before I had the delicious breakfast they serve downstairs in the restaurant. If we didn't live on the other side of the world, we'd be back - often!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denniss230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at Campbell House in December last year and were so glad that we chose to stay here out of the many other options available. The owners and staff were so accommodating and friendly, and I was pleasantly surprised that they managed to provide gluten free bread after I informed them that I was gluten-intolerant. The room we stayed in (Colonial) was lovely, with a huge four-poster bed. We particularly enjoyed the home-made lemon tea and dessert that were placed in the fridge every evening. The location of Campbell House is excellent as it is very near to various points of interest in Georgetown. We also had a meal at the restaurant and the food was delicious. If you are looking for a place that offers genuine warmth and hospitality, then this is it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinkozoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 87 in George Town
883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 87 in George Town
3,729 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 87 in George Town
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 87 in George Town
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#7 of 87 in George Town
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Address: 106 Lebuh Campbell, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: $94 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campbell House is a wonderful 12 bedroom boutique hotel with Italian restaurant located in the heart of heritage Georgetown. A stunning and unique 3 story corner shop house circa 1903 that has been extensively and lovingly restored offering today's modern traveler a luxurious home away from home. Campbell House has plenty of charm, and personal touches, modern amenities mixed with classic Colonial style at affordable prices. Perfectly located in the hustle of China Town, minutes from some of the best street food, and walking distance to historical museums, and fabulous street art. Campbell House offers an oasis of calm in this wonderful UNESCO world heritage city, come and explore Georgetown and Penang with us, we look forward to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing