We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 169 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

At the very beginning of our honeymoon, we had a two night stay at this beautiful guest house. Incredibly romantic bedroom with a four-poster bed, complete with a heart made from rose petals on our arrival, a lovely touch. We felt so well cared for during our stay. Nardya and the team are wonderful, helpful but not intrusive. The guesthouse is full of character, absolutely first class and deserves all the excellent reviews that it has received. Location very central for exploring the really interesting surrounds of Georgetown. Also, do not leave without sampling Nardya's mojito's - fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    65
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
88
492
59
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights at the Campbell House in Georgetown as part of a round trip through south east Asia, and we had a great experience:

Location:
The hotel is located on Lebuh Campbell, which is quite centrally located (e.g. 10 minute walks to Upper Penang road [for pubs & bars], KOMTAR [tallest building and transport hub], little India, and, a bit further, the Clan Jetties and the main square of historical Georgetown.

In the direct vicinity of the hotel, there are lots of places to eat (at any rate Penang, and Georgetown in particular, is a foodie's walhalla) and it is a nice neighboorhood to stroll through. Can certainly recommend the Chinese dim sum place a bit down the road (accros the intersection).

Also, near the corner of Leb. Campbell and Jalan Penang there is a bus station from where you can easily go to a.o. Penang National Park (definitely recommend the trek to Monkey Beach), Batu Feringghi, Penang Hill, and the Kek Lok Si Temple.

Rooms:
The rooms in campbell house are really nicely furnished and decorated in colonial style (see photos; we stayed in the 'Indochine' room). This made the room very pleasant to stay in. It also featured a huge bed, which slept very well. On top of that it was equipped with both aircon and a ceiling fan (preferred to use the latter), a small fridge, and a Nespresso machine. The bathroom was equally good.

Breakfast:
Although not Asian, this was easily the best breakfast we had on our trip. The Campbell house is run by an Italian couple, which results amongst other things in them serving proper (and delicious) coffee (which in our experience is pretty exceptional in Asia). I won't spoil to much of the surprise on the details of the breakfast, but think along the lines of freshly pressed juice, tropical fruit and a variety of dishes made to order.

Service:
The one thing that can make a hotel stand out above others most is its attention for its guests, and also in this department, campbell house is outstanding. All staff we encountered were attentive and helpful in suggesting things to do or places to eat. it was no problem checking out a bit later than normal, and, as we arrived quite early by nighttrain and ferry, they even made the effort to get the our room ready quite a bit earlier than planned.

Summing up, we had a great experience staying here and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0epMeloen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have stayed in a lot of hotels - and never really given a bad review yet. However, you always knock a mark off for comfort, service or more likely value for money.... Not at Campbell House. Ok you may stay in more luxurious places, but the rooms are so tasteful and comfortable, the beds so huge and the service is so personal from Nadya and Roberto (who can tell you and organise just about anything for you) that you cannot criticise a thing. Breakfast is excellent, Oh yes it's as central as is possible to be in Georgetown, without being noisy and you kind of leave feeling you have ripped them off when you pay the very modest bill compared to other places in SE Asia. We loved this place - and are so thankful to all the staff for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: Colonial Room was pretty damn perfect with the four poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndonG1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

A last minute trip to Penang, decided to look for a boutique hotel in Georgetown. The amount of details both in the decor, hospitality and service in this small hotel is amazing.

The staff are helpful and rich in local knowledge. They're probably much better than the advice I searched for on the internet.

I love photography and couldn't get enough snapping away each corner of this place. It's literally beautiful.

One thing to note though, breakfast is late. 8.30AM. If you're hungry, you could go to the coffee shop next door. Note that this is a small hotel. Not all toiletries will be provided (though the ones provided are organically lovely). Bring your own toothpaste and plastic bags. No big buffet, but breakfast is personalized.

If you're in for hiding and being discreet, 'disappearing' from the world. This isn't the place for you. If you want to interact and experience Georgetown and its warmth, this place is just perfect.
I would definitely stay here again if I'm back in Penang.

Room Tip: Not sure about the other rooms, but ours, Indochine is a beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeenieBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

The Campbell house staff is very freindly and efficient. The fornt desk staff is a source of knowledge, everyday, they suggested and establish sight seeing etinerary that made our short stay very pleasant, instructive and productive.Every restaurant they suggested were great and affordable.They made our stay the most pleasant experience. Roberto and Nardya are perfect hosts, their breakfast is great and the rooms are fantastic, the decoration is very ecclectic, a blend of antique and modern, the beds super comfortable, the room is well equipped the mini fridge included cold water, ice tea and goodies for us to enjoy at nigth.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsoklis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous room and building which is charmingly decorated and surprisingly quiet given the bustling location. The hosts were really welcoming and shared a wealth of local knowledge.

We loved ducking "home" for reprieve from the heat of the middle of the day in December, before heading out for more afternoon snacking at all the delicious little restaurants nearby. Great breakfast and coffee too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Csabbott_on_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our stay in Georgetown could not have been nicer! Roberto and Nardya are perfect hosts, and their B&B is gracious and beautiful. We enjoyed the Calligraphy room, where we stayed. (It's great to have the opportunity to scope out the photos of the rooms before choosing one.) It's worth noting that some -- like the Calligraphy -- are two flights up, and there is no lift. (But a clever pulley system is used to haul luggage up to the rooms and down again on check-out.) Breakfast in the attached restaurant, Il Bacaro, is wonderful. The location is also perfect for those who are concentrating on the old town and not the beaches. The Campbell House is a gem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marconelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#5 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Property: Campbell House
Address: 106 Lebuh Campbell, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campbell House is a new class... a new breed of Heritage hotel in Georgetown. A stunning 3 story corner shop house lovingly restored by European owners Nardya & Roberto, located arms length from the madding crowd, with 10 individual suites offering today's modern traveller a luxurious home away from home. Campbell House has plenty of charm, and personal touches, modern amenities mixed with classic Colonial style at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing