We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impossible to criticise”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 172 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have stayed in a lot of hotels - and never really given a bad review yet. However, you always knock a mark off for comfort, service or more likely value for money.... Not at Campbell House. Ok you may stay in more luxurious places, but the rooms are so tasteful and comfortable, the beds so huge and the service is so personal from Nadya and Roberto (who can tell you and organise just about anything for you) that you cannot criticise a thing. Breakfast is excellent, Oh yes it's as central as is possible to be in Georgetown, without being noisy and you kind of leave feeling you have ripped them off when you pay the very modest bill compared to other places in SE Asia. We loved this place - and are so thankful to all the staff for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: Colonial Room was pretty damn perfect with the four poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndonG1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 881 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

A last minute trip to Penang, decided to look for a boutique hotel in Georgetown. The amount of details both in the decor, hospitality and service in this small hotel is amazing.

The staff are helpful and rich in local knowledge. They're probably much better than the advice I searched for on the internet.

I love photography and couldn't get enough snapping away each corner of this place. It's literally beautiful.

One thing to note though, breakfast is late. 8.30AM. If you're hungry, you could go to the coffee shop next door. Note that this is a small hotel. Not all toiletries will be provided (though the ones provided are organically lovely). Bring your own toothpaste and plastic bags. No big buffet, but breakfast is personalized.

If you're in for hiding and being discreet, 'disappearing' from the world. This isn't the place for you. If you want to interact and experience Georgetown and its warmth, this place is just perfect.
I would definitely stay here again if I'm back in Penang.

Room Tip: Not sure about the other rooms, but ours, Indochine is a beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeenieBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The Campbell house staff is very freindly and efficient. The fornt desk staff is a source of knowledge, everyday, they suggested and establish sight seeing etinerary that made our short stay very pleasant, instructive and productive.Every restaurant they suggested were great and affordable.They made our stay the most pleasant experience. Roberto and Nardya are perfect hosts, their breakfast is great and the rooms are fantastic, the decoration is very ecclectic, a blend of antique and modern, the beds super comfortable, the room is well equipped the mini fridge included cold water, ice tea and goodies for us to enjoy at nigth.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsoklis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous room and building which is charmingly decorated and surprisingly quiet given the bustling location. The hosts were really welcoming and shared a wealth of local knowledge.

We loved ducking "home" for reprieve from the heat of the middle of the day in December, before heading out for more afternoon snacking at all the delicious little restaurants nearby. Great breakfast and coffee too.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Csabbott_on_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our stay in Georgetown could not have been nicer! Roberto and Nardya are perfect hosts, and their B&B is gracious and beautiful. We enjoyed the Calligraphy room, where we stayed. (It's great to have the opportunity to scope out the photos of the rooms before choosing one.) It's worth noting that some -- like the Calligraphy -- are two flights up, and there is no lift. (But a clever pulley system is used to haul luggage up to the rooms and down again on check-out.) Breakfast in the attached restaurant, Il Bacaro, is wonderful. The location is also perfect for those who are concentrating on the old town and not the beaches. The Campbell House is a gem.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marconelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My parents, husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this quaint little place with beautiful rooms with much character befitting its name and of course the heartwarming service from Nardya, Roberto and Daniel! The personal service from everyone teamed with their genuine smiles and warm conversations made the stay much like a homecoming everyday with my parents always referring to the hotel as a home throughout the whole trip. Really appreciate everyone at Campbell House as it was always lovely returning to "home" where you are greeted with warm smiles.

The rooms were exquisitely decorated according to the theme of the name and it was equipped with important details which major chain hotels may neglect such as refreshing lemon tea, fresh milk to go along with your freshly-brewed Nespresso coffee (with constant refills of the capsules) and lovely little touches such as sweet treats left in the mini-fridge when we return to the room. Breakfast which is included in the rate is a sumptuous and healthy spread which is a must-eat despite being surrounded by great local food. The library is also a great place to chill and enjoy a good read.

Staying at Campbell House is highly recommended and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gniyil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I absolutely loved everything about Campbell House... from the gorgeous building and room (Calligraphy) to the lovely staff, beautiful breakfast, and perfect mojitos. Campbell House would be extraordinary in any city because everything is so well considered and thoughtful.

I especially liked how they were very encouraging of eating at local spots (including the amazing laksa at the bottom of Penang Hill and the dim sum at Tai Tong) rather than places more accommodating to tourists. These recommendations made our trip that much richer, authentic, and special.

As far as I'm concerned, when in Penang, there is no other choice than Campbell House.

Room Tip: We asked for rooms on the top floor in case of noise from the street... with multiple layers of wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trixiechanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 88 in George Town
871 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 88 in George Town
3,697 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 88 in George Town
660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 88 in George Town
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#7 of 88 in George Town
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Address: 106 Lebuh Campbell, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: $89 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campbell House is a wonderful 12 bedroom boutique hotel with Italian restaurant located in the heart of heritage Georgetown. A stunning and unique 3 story corner shop house circa 1903 that has been extensively and lovingly restored offering today's modern traveler a luxurious home away from home. Campbell House has plenty of charm, and personal touches, modern amenities mixed with classic Colonial style at affordable prices. Perfectly located in the hustle of China Town, minutes from some of the best street food, and walking distance to historical museums, and fabulous street art. Campbell House offers an oasis of calm in this wonderful UNESCO world heritage city, come and explore Georgetown and Penang with us, we look forward to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing