We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel!!!”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
houten
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Top hotel!!!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We only stayed one night, but we will definitely come back!
We had the Rose room, which was decorated in a lovely style, had a very comfortable bed and there was even a Nespresso Coffeemachine in the room, which we loved!
Everything in this hotel is breathing style and comfort. The friendlyness of the staff makes you feel at home, the food in their restaurant is delicious. You can feel that they all love their job to make you feel comfortable. The location is very convenient too. On walking distance from the 1st Avenue Shopping Mall, Little India and more interesting things.
You will absolutely love this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    69
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
94
508
62
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed in Campbell House for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. The House was spotless, the decor gorgeous, the bed super comfy (wanted to take the pillows home with me but resisted the temptation), the bathroom (and bath products) was pure bliss and most of all the staff were marvellous! They were friendly, informative and always ready for a chat if you felt like one.. The location was perfect. Right in the middle of everything you would want to explore in Georgetown and there are many, many things to see and do there! Should have stayed a few days longer..... Campbell House ticks all the right boxes for what a perfect boutique hotel should be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiejelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris20
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is the best memory of our trip to Malaysia. We stayed more than 10 days : first my husband alone, for business, then I joined him after a week. As I arrived, I thought he had surely feel alone, but not at all. He has been really cared as ever. We never had such an experience. We felt really like home, as Roberto, Nardya and their team make you feel like you are awaited and that they will try to do their best to make you feel good (even when you have belly aches, they gave you medicines, or when you want to find specific items such as crafts or food, they will do to their best to provide). When leaving, we felt very sad but also very thankful. The Campbell House is a real success in welcoming and warm luxury (with simplicity and unique sense of comfort). We had the Indochine then the Sonkget rooms ; they are both decorated with so much taste (exceptional). The breakfast is also complete and unique ; it was also the opportunity to discuss with all the team (all really kind people : Cassandra, Daniel, Tony :). Hope we will come back soon, and won't go anywhere else than at the Campbell House.

Room Tip: Indochine...for the name, the decoration, but Songket is also a gem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroleparis20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The owners Nardya and Roberto are great.We were impressed with their kind hospitality.
Their Team Members are helpful and friendly.All of them made us feel at 'home'.
We stayed at the Songket Room.The room was clean and tidy.The Housekeeping Staff really did a fantastic job!
The Campbell House's location is very good.
You must try to eat at their Italian Restaurant.The food is so amazing!The Chef will delight your tastebuds with wonderful dishes.We really enjoyed the food and drinks.
Also the Hearty Breakfast made us so full and satisfied!
The Staff are always smiling and ready to deliver service whenever you need.
We are eager to return to Campbell House...or rather 'Home' very soon!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JunKoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Georgetown, albeit too short. The hotel is all that previous trip advisor reviews have said. The decor is tasteful and the renovation nicely done. The rooms are a good size, very relaxing and the nespresso machine and chocolate cake a nice touch. Beds are super comfy and breakfast has a big choice and makes a great start to the day. All the staff and the owners make the stay fabulous. Nothing is too much trouble, their enthusiasm is infectious. A great place to stay - we felt totally spoilt. We will be back for a longer stay.

(Oh and the location is central - perfect to explore the town)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pragklbov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the Calligraphy room for 3 nights in October. The room is absolutely charming. It is unique and it has all the amenities to make your stay comfortable. The room is spacious. The bathroom is well equipped. The bed is very big and comfortable. We did not have any problem with the street noise at night. The iced tea in the fridge is a delight after a day in the hot weather.

The location of the hotel is excellent. You could walk to all the places of interest easily.

The hosts and the whole team of staff were amazing. Everyone greeted you with a smile whenever they saw you and they were always eager to help in order to make your stay unforgettable. They were geninuely interested in knowing your plan of the day and how your day went. Do not hesitate to ask the hosts for any advice or recommendation of places to see and to eat.

The breakfast served in the restaurant was delicious and the choice was adequate. We loved the yogurt and the egg florentine. However, it would be good if there is a choice of a room rate including or excluding breakfast as there are plenty of food you could try in Penang. The hotel is just 5-10 minutes away from the Chowrasta market where you could find lots of coffee shops and street stalls to sample the local dishes.

The Italian restaurant was temporarily closed for dinner during our stay but the hosts might be able to arrange a dinner for you if you inform them in advance. So make sure to check with the hosts if the restaurant is open for dinner if you intend to eat there.

Do not forget to ask the staff to help you with transporting your heavy luggages up and down the floors using the rope system. It's very practical and you do not have to carry them up the stairs by yourself.

You will not regret choosing the Campbell House for your stay in Penang. Every corner of the hotel is stylishly decorated and the staff cannot be more friendly. It would truly be a unique experience to highlight your trip.

Room Tip: We recommend any room on the second floor where you could see the timber roof structure that really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidcoVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2012

For my maiden Penang trip last week i stayed 4 nights over at Campbell House. The warm hospitality provided by Nardya & Roberto, Daniele, Daniel, Casandra and all other Campbell house team members is worth my recommendation here.

The stay at Campbell House has been wonderful - the ideal location, clean environment, and good coffees (very important for me!).
i smile each time i recall me cycling back to Campbell House to cool down or for a caffeine fix, after sight seeing Georgetown and vintage finds in the hot weather.

i will certainly come back to Penang and Campbell House again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterWong242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 84 in George Town
570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
3,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.2 mi away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#6 of 84 in George Town
866 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Property: Campbell House
Address: 106 Lebuh Campbell, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campbell House is a new class... a new breed of Heritage hotel in Georgetown. A stunning 3 story corner shop house lovingly restored by European owners Nardya & Roberto, located arms length from the madding crowd, with 10 individual suites offering today's modern traveller a luxurious home away from home. Campbell House has plenty of charm, and personal touches, modern amenities mixed with classic Colonial style at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing