We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needed a break”
Review of Mews Cafe

Mews Cafe
Ranked #6 of 920 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: MEWS CAFÉ serves Malay food prepared with fresh local ingredients. Diners can choose to dine in a cozy air-conditioned setting or alfresco. The cafe delectable spread is all prepared with homemade sauces and spices, without the usage of MSG.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Needed a break”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had read about this place but stumbled on it by accident during an exploratory visit to Georgetown. We were ready for a break from the heat and noise and the timing was just right for lunch. It is quite small inside, with a few tables outside in leafy shade. We both had a chicken schnitzel and really one to share would have been ample. Very generous portions. It is not the cheapest place by any means, but the food was good, freshly cooked, so you need to be a bit patient when busy. Service was friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mike_bielby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    298
    67
    27
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“it has improved ...”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

i first visited in april 2012 and when i went back in november 2012, their food has improved. on both occasions, i tried their nasi lemak and it has improved 10x, they must have hired a new chef. even their lunch menu has become better. it is a decent place where local food are presentable. the place is nice and cozy for intimate groups. it can be difficult if you have a vegetarian with you but they are willing to accommodate your request which was fantastic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Nice ambiance but too pricey.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Went there for dinner, the setting is very nice. Food was just average. Not as good as the local hawker and way overpriced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place for tea break”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

This little cafe is part of the Muntri Mews Hotel. We had our tea break there. Nice place, relaxed atmosphere and friendly staffs.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingsley1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Ambiance”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Really nice setting. I had breakfast there. good selection - western and asian. price, a bit on a high side. food quality above average, rate 1 to 10, I will give 7

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rahim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mews Cafe also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Mews Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing