We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European style with Asian panache ...”

55 Cafe and Restaurant
Ranked #157 of 929 Restaurants in George Town
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: 55 cafe & Restaurant offers a mediterranean inspired cuisine in an informal setting. The menu features a variety of light, tasty dishes like pastas, tapas and salads. To finish off your meal, have a cup of gourmet coffee and choose from a delectable selection of mouthwatering desserts. 55 Cafe & Restaurant is part of COFFEE ATELIER, a collection of five beautifully restored early 20th century "shophouses". Today this building houses a restaurant, a coffee museum, an art gallery and suites which are fully appointed with all modern amenities for short or long term stay.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“European style with Asian panache ...”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Visited this gem of a restaurant/cafe/coffee shop in March 2012 and was not disappointed. Stefan and Lorena really welcoming and their take on tapas style food with an asian accent was simply wonderful - best tapas I've tasted outside of Spain !!
Tucked away in a quieter street of Georgetown, the style is relaxed but expect the best tasting local produce. Lorena (originally from Hong Kong) and Stefan (Swiss) have worked really hard to make this restaurant an absolute pleasure to visit - we stayed in Georgetown eight days and went back three times !!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    34
    13
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Penang”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is by far the best restaurant in Georgetown. Cozy place, great Mediterranean food, best coffee and the nicest owners. Don t miss the desserts - you will find no better ones in Penang. Next to the restaurant is a great gallery where you find actually art from great artists and there is a wonderful hotel attached as well. Don t miss this great place. Susanne and Michael, Germany

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sumikast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good Coffee”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I went with my husband early in the morning when they just open in one during weekday. A bit disappointed when I found some of the table was not properly cleaned up (maybe left it from previous night). Opened the menu and found it is a bit pricy but still OK, was still hoping for high quality food. We ordered a cafe latte and cafe mocha. The coffee really light up my whole day, I personally like the Cafe Mocha alot. They used melted chocolate instead of chocolate powder, no sugar needed. For the breakfast, I order a scrambled egg added with mushroom and toast. The toast is just normal bread, the scrambled egg is a bit too salth but the mushroom is fine. With the price of RM16, I would think this is a bit over-priced.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeeNee_Cho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Changed hands but still great”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We went looking for Cafe Cine to find it had gone and 55 Cafe & Restaurant was in its place. Had the best coffee here from our holiday in Malaysia and Singapore (secret, according to the lovely Malaysian owner is her husband who is european and sourced the coffee and machine, as well as an excellent barista). Beautiful cakes and cold drinks and the lunch menu looked great as well. Owner was just lovely and so keen to make a go of it. Some people have apparently walked away once they discover it is not Cafe Cine. We say, give it a go. It's fabulous!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 55 Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to 55 Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing