We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, warm hosts”
Review of SO Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SO Hotel
Ranked #38 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, warm hosts”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The counter staff were great, courteous and all smiley. We stayed one night and were very happy to know that the staff here were so enthusiastic to share recommendations with us on where to eat. The char kway teow just located opposite the hotel was fantastic! I had a double room and it was spacious enough for the 2 person to move around. The room was clean enough at that price. The surrounding is not touristic and it looks like a residential area with small offices. Walking back to the hotel at night felt a little scary as it was quite dark and quiet but it was still ok for us. In the morning, we had our breakfast at a local market, about 5 mins away. It was nice exploring the area because there were lesser cars on the road. We had no transport so it was quite tiring to explore more on foot only. There were public buses moving around this area but I didn't see obvious bus stops. Overall a nice little hotel with our choice of pillows and water dispensers of alternate floors.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AstASiszz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    41
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
28
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dili, East Timor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend a wedding nearby and loved it! It is simple, modern and incredibly clean. I was also really impressed with the service shown by the staff whom were very accommodating and helpful. The rooms are no doubt a little small but i didn't mind it at all as we had a room with a large window and that created an illusion of space.It is definitely a place I would return to again and recommend to my family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Navina88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in total for a short local family trip, and we were very glad with our choice. We paid RM95 per room per night, and it met our expectations and more. The location is pretty central, and as we had our own vehicle, getting around was no problem at all. Parking at the hotel is also provided for, but lots are a little limited. We never had problems with parking though.

We booked two double rooms, one was slightly larger than the other. Both rooms, and the adjoining bathrooms, were very clean. I absolutely loved the shower. Water pressure was fantastic, and it's nice to have the luxury of a good bath after a full day of being out and about. And oh, you get to choose your pillows too.

But it is in its service that this little hotel truly shines. Their service is par excellence. Even before arriving, the hotel accommodated our every request. Based on previous reviews, we had requested to not be put in room 105. We had also requested for a room with windows. Both requests were met. We were put in rooms 305 and 306. However, be warned. Room 305 has massive windows (with blackout curtains), but no grills and there is a balcony outside accessible by a door on the same floor (perhaps the hotel should look into this). If you're particularly worried about security, this might be something to consider. Also, all the air-cond compressors are located just above the windows outside our room, and it can get a little noisy at night. If you're a light sleeper, best not to ask for room 305.

Back to the service, the staff, especially Mr Leow, was extremely accommodating and even went out of his way to assist us in everything. He told us where the best food joints were (where locals would go), and even told us that in the event we were ever lost, to just ring him and he would go meet us there. I had fallen ill during the trip, and he even told us which was a good clinic to go to, and pointed out the directions on a map. He even did a follow-up call later in the day to find out if I was feeling better! Amazing service.

If you're in Penang and want a budget stay within the town area, I would highly recommend So Hotel. Budget hotel, with 5-star service. Well done.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiSyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Hotel staff are very friendly, very informative, rooms decent, and you get to choose which type of pillow you want !! Location may not be convenience, away from crowded places, public transport is good. We stayed top floor and had good view of sunset over the mountains. Nearby Char kueh tiaw stand a must try.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MewKeeWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The staff at SO Hotel deserve a 10+....They're very welcoming and friendly. They also use a bit of humor which we liked.The rooms are small but convienient. Nice beds and pillows. Georgetown itself is a bit boring. But SO Hotel is a perfect place to stay for a small budget.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a window!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwouters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The hotel "SO" is located out of busy touristic area of the center of Georgetown, but it's also not very close to it: you need about 20-25 min on foot to get to the historic center (eventually it's possible to take the bus on the main road ca 5 min from hotel). The hotel is new, modern and clean. The staff were really friendly and they try to help in every things we need it. Our room was clean but rather very small with attached bathroom. There was free WiFi in the room (but works bad and slow); the guest can use also the two main computers near the reception desk on 1st floor. There is no breakfast in the hotel, but you can find some goos options in the nearby. Generally mayby not the perfect place to stay in Georgetown, but good choice for budget travellers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CracowDanang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Small room but adequate size with attached shower/toilet. Not a prob that room is without window. Everything was good n new as hotel is less than 4 months old but big exception when other rooms were closing the doors, it was really loud and it wakes us up in the early morning even if u r not a light sleeper like me. Very limited parking space if u r driving but there are public parkings on the street right outside the hotel.
Reception (Mr Ng & Mr Leong, correct me if i'm wrong) was really good n frenly. Check-in/out was brief n fast. During checkout, I had mentioned abt the slamming doors when I was asked for feedback on the room. . They explained that the doors are light and also received same feedback from other guests, n they are looking into changing to better doors.
Very good value if u r budget conscious n just need a place to sleep. I hope they would improve on the doors. Would definately return to this hotel for my next trip to Penang.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnAjOe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#52 of 84 in George Town
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
118 Hotel
118 Hotel
#36 of 170 in George Town
34 reviews
1.2 mi away
B Street Hotel
B Street Hotel
#13 of 170 in George Town
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rangoon Residence
Rangoon Residence
#11 of 170 in George Town
88 reviews
0.9 mi away
INN Residence 18
INN Residence 18
#45 of 170 in George Town
38 reviews
1.2 mi away
Armenian Suite
Armenian Suite
#40 of 170 in George Town
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SO Hotel

Property: SO Hotel
Address: No. 90, Siam Road, George Town, Penang Island 10140, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — SO Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your SO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SO Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing