We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fair price and very nice rooms”
Review of Red Inn Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Inn Heritage
Ranked #84 of 172 George Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The rooms were very nice, the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was not much, but tea and coffee 24h. The reception was very helpful but you need to ask for things.
Very noisy children around, I think they belong to the hostel but I am not 100% sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKirchschlager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 225 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days during a trip around Malaysia. The hotel is conveniently located on love lane amongst a number of other boutique hotels. We stayed in a double with private bathroom. The room was small but perfectly adequate for our stay as we used it just for sleeping. The bathroom was fine and the room had air conditioning. The lobby was well maintained and there was a large tv showing western movies. Breakfast was Malaysian style and free for guests.

Reception were able to arrange a shared mini bus to the perhentian islands which set off at 7am. The hotel also had free wifi which we were able to use in the lobby and there were also several computers for use.

No major issues and we enjoyed our stay. The only main gripe was the lazy bum staff member. Some guy with dreads who worked there. He just slept on the sofa for 3 days and got in the way. At first I thought he had malaria or was ill but reception said he works there. The place could do with some minor repairs to the banister rail and a few other bits of pieces but it was no big deal.

Other than that, would happily stay there again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bigbrudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

there are two red inn hotels on love lane and a third one in town. this was the furthest one at the end of love lane. key deposit was 30Rm. It looks small from the outside but stretches an entire block inside. I had a private room with shared bathroom. room was nice with a/c. there are lots of bathrooms and showers its almost like having your own ensuite. water pressure was good. free breakfast included toast, noodles, fried rice, cake, and sliced fruit. they have free internet and help with tourist info. the intersection with lebuah chulia is where you can get buses but they might already be full. airport bus was 2.70Rm. I stayed for two nights and did a day in Penang town and Kek Lok Si temple in the countryside then moved onto butterworth for alor setar/langkawi. two convenience stores are also at the end of the street. I needed a bike rental and forgot to ask them about it. overall good comfortable stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Free drinking water, towels, very clean rooms although small. Good beds, braight room, no mosquitos. Doublerooms for 75 ringit, bankbed 25myr. The rooms facing the love lane are very noisy, others are good. Superclean bathrooms with good hot showers. very cosy living room with big screen and lofs of great dvds! Free wifi everywhere and to computers free for use. We would definitively recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lada1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Second night in Georgetown I moved to Red Inn Heritage. Standard double with shower and airconditioning. Good hot shower. Don't be fooled by the promise of jacuzzi equipment but the large rain shower head works well. The aircon is a little noisy and struggles a bit but does the job. If you are a light sleeper the heavy footsteps on the wooden floor above may not suit. Simple make your own toast and jam. Slices if sweet orange are also provided along with all day coffee, tea and most importantly cold and hot filtered water. The downstairs common area is fan cooled with large comfy couches. The staff are friendly and responded to a request to spray for mosquitoes promptly and with a smile. I stayed a second night and they stored my bags for late pickup. I was able to rest before heading off. Good wifi if a little slow sometimes. A good base for a stay in Penang.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed in a double standard room (they have plenty of categories for rooms: with/without window, with/without AC, with/without private bathroom and all the combinations of the previous) which was a room with Queen/King sized mattress + AC and no window.
Initially my girl wanted a room with a window but quickly realized that those windows actually point to the hall of the old house (there's nothing to see) and you really don't want the Malaysian semi polluted air going through your window.

Rooms aren't fancy but comfortable enough to get a nice night of sleep, it shows these people wants to improve the hostel with probably a limited budget. In my opinion they are doing a great job but it need a little bit more to be excellent. The staff is super friendly and they are willing to give you hints of different places where to go, grab a bite or where to spend your money wisely.

They offer free WIFI for your room but sadly isn't available in the entire building (the WAN is subdivided into two or more passcode protected areas which doesn't allow you to roam through the building with your tablet while reading the newspaper or something). It wasn't a big deal for me although our room was at the fringe of those areas so no stable internet connection there.

Another plus to this hostel is the free 'buffet' breakfast included for every room. It basically consist on: bread (could be toasted), orange marmalade, Malay noodles, some kind of Asian sauce, blocks of watermelon or bananas and tea or coffee. You could get as much as you want (great for a terrific start).

The downside, the neighborhood isn't precisely on its top condition so there are plenty of rats running on the streets so you could hear a squeak close to places with sewers. I saw the staff doing their best to keep the place clean to avoid hosting this pest.

Room Tip: In Malaysia having the aircon is a must. Is extremely hot and humid... and in my opinion, rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodrigoelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Pleasant staff, good mattress, free wifi, breakfast, tea and coffee included in the price for 28 MYR per night for the dormitory. Only 4 beds per dormitory.

No shoes worn upstairs to keep the noise down.

Bathrooms were clean and plenty of hot water.

Breakfast starts at 8.30 and you need to get there reasonably early otherwise all the food goes.

Walls are plasterboard so you will hear noise from the next room.

Centrally located and only a 10 minute walk to the jetty. The free bus passes the top of the road but only on the Komtar - Jetty journey.

There are cheaper options but I believe that this was value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10_Downing_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Cocoa Mews
Cocoa Mews
#31 of 172 in George Town
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
#26 of 172 in George Town
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muntri House
Muntri House
#22 of 172 in George Town
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Armenian Suite
Armenian Suite
#37 of 172 in George Town
82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#50 of 172 in George Town
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Just Duvet Guesthouse
Just Duvet Guesthouse
#125 of 172 in George Town
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Inn Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Inn Heritage

Address: 15 Lorong Love, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: $12 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Inn Heritage 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Inn Heritage, its 2-story heritage building with modern and comfortable interior design style. The Guesthouse features 31 rooms with 2 chill out areas. Here there is choice varieties of private room types. Red Inn Heritage is warm and friendly and welcomes travelers from all over the world. We have a wealth of experience in the industry and know what travelers value and need during their stay. Guest can relax in our chill out area, complete with 50" Plasma TV and movie library, or catch up with friends and family over the internet. Wi-Fi access is also available throughout the property (FREE OF CHARGE). Trips and tours can also be booked at our reception, so don't be afraid to ask. The Inn also features a small reception/lobby as well as an umbrella shaded breakfast terrace. Red Inn Heritage's various private room types are: single, double, twin and triple, with shared or attached bathrooms that can accommodate a total of 62 people. Bed sheets and linen are provided and there is a choice of low and high budget for rooms. Air-Conditioned rooms are available for your choosing. Bathrooms come with 24 hr hot showers. Red Inn Heritage is located in the heart of Penang Island. We are 8 minutes walk from Penang Port Pengkalan Weld George Town. Bus stops at Lebuh Chulia that need 3 minutes walk to our Red Inn Heritage. If you like shopping then you can go along Jalan Penang or even Lebuh Chulia, were you can find and also taste a lot of different foods (Chinese, Indian, Malay and Peranakan) and merchandise. Georgetown also has a brilliant nightlife and there are a whole host of clubs and late night bars where you can go out and party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Red Inn Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Inn Heritage Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing