We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beds”
Review of Red Inn Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Inn Heritage
Ranked #80 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Tanah Rata, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great beds”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

A comfortable bed with NO noisey AirCon, Good breakfast, nice people.
couches are comfy to sit around and chat or watch TV with no good Cables Channels for SPORT.
Computers are very slow, but they are free.
Night noise management could be improved.
But for comfort it was pretty good.
A clothes line is provided for your washing.

Room Tip: The further out back you are the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    85
    54
    24
    22
See reviews for
8
62
68
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We booked this guesthouse a bit apprehensively due to some of the reviews here, but it turned out to be really nice. Our room was big and although it had no outside window it did have a window out onto the corridor that let in light but was very high up so we still had privacy. The bathrooms were kept very clean and some of the showers had a room of their own with no toilet, which made a nice change from most of Asia! The common area was nice to relax in and they had filter coffee not instant which I liked! The staff were helpful if you had an questions but otherwise left you to yourself. The breakfast was really just toast for Westerners and if you were up early enough maybe some fruit. Because of the mixed reviews we had booked the Guest Inn Muntri for our last two nights, but this place was a bit nicer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or upstairs away from the common area if noise bothers you at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AOByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Please think twice if you wish to book room with attached bathroom. We stayed at room 105 with attached bathroom located at down stair. The room is small, it has no window, whole room is damp, low ceiling, and the room has only thin wall. Also when someone using the bathroom next door, the water pressure in our bathroom getting low till none. Imagine it happens when you are half way taking shower. The hostel stated they provide towels, but we didn't see any towels in our room. It's ok because we bring our own towel. At the common area, I found it funny that they put pool table which is next to the breakfast table instead of dining table. At 8.30am, when I'm about to grab my breakfast like other guests do, there's a few Japanese guests going to have breakfast too. A staff asked me to wait first, he gave priority to the Japanese guests to take breakfast first. First I thought they are VIP, staff or something? After that I talked to other staff at the reception, they say they are normal guests only, not VIP. I'm really pissed. We are all guests and we paid to stay here, I think the staff is really unfair to us. Service is really bad at this hostel and I had the most unpleasant experience of hostel staying ever. Definitely not coming back again. Only one thing is good which is the location where it's close to many heritage sites.

Room Tip: Room downstair with attached bathroom (Room 105) is small, low ceiling, no window and low water pres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sywong331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Sarawak
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

A very big guesthouse in good location, free breakfast with noodles, toasts, cakes and fruits. Staffs quite helpful and polite, altho not too fluent in english.
Our room was downstairs, reasonable size with air-con and tables. On entering the room, there's a smell of dampness and some magazines left over from previous guests. The bed sheet wasn't changed, same as the pillow cases. There's hair and stains so I requested those be changed. They attended to my complains quickly. Next the toilets and bathrooms, "hostel clean" standard. Maybe due to the fact many people sharing and using them, there's always rubbish and hair on floor. There's many bathrooms available, some are cleaner that the others, so check it out before going in. Also, instead of flushing it away, we are told to place the used toilet paper into a basket provided. Sleeping can be difficult if you are a light sleeper. You can hear people clearly as if they are in your room, and upstairs people, whenever someone walks pass, it sounded like an elephant has just stomped through.
Big sitting lounge where you can enjoy your coffee/books and a big flat screen TV high resolution playing blockbuster movies. There's also internet and free wifi. Overall, it's a nice guesthouse, just have to ask/request if you are not happy about certain things, they will pay attention to it.

Room Tip: maybe select a room upstairs, quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackWhiteSarawak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Red Inn Heritage Hotel, has very comfortable Rooms which suits your purse.
The staff are exceptionally friendly and have time to talk to you should you need their assistance in visiting heritage sites or shopping. The hotel provides only Breakfast which is complimentary and not limited to to 2 slices of bread and butter but to a selection of fruits, Malaysian seet meats and also roti and curry. What more do you want for B'fast. There is also Sri Lanka Tea and coffee.

Room Tip: Ask the reception and they will help. Ask for Room on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilakfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in a king room on the ground floor. Unlike at least one other reviewer we had no issue with "sheet creep"; the fitted sheets stayed put. The bed was very comfortable, with excellent pillows. The room was good-sized and well-maintained. There was a large,comfy couch. The bathroom was small, but more than usable. Breakfast (included) was pretty good -- toast, fruit, roti canai with curry, mee goreng, mee hoon goreng. Coffee and tea available for free all day. The lobby sitting area is pleasant. WiFi is fast and there are two computers in the lobby for those w/o their own. Unlike the other Red Inn this one is not right by a bar, so no noise isses. We were on the ground floor, so didn't experience any creaky floors, although we could clearly hear the folks in the next room; but, then, they were talking unreasonably loudly for 7:30 in the morning. Staff were uniformly pleasant and helpful.

All in all a good place and, at the $25 we paid (booked on Agoda) good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in a king room. Whilst the hostel is quite big and has great facilities, I would not recommend the king room as the bed is so big there is hardly any room to move around. Also the bed is only equipped with queen sheets so you spend most of the night sleeping on a bare matress!

Other than that the hostel is in a good location, close to the end of Love Lane. It's easy walking distance to surrounding restaurants and attractions. The common area is really spacious and also has a pool table. The biggest selling point of this place is the breakfast - noodles, toast, fresh fruit and Indian bread - easily the best breaky I've seen in any hostel!

The bathrooms are the standard combined toilet and shower and are kept relatively clean. Towels are also provided which is a nice bonus!

This hostel is good in terms of value but the staff really need to improve their attitude/customer service skills. On arrival we were told that our booking didn't exist even though we had the booking form from Agoda! This didn't get us off to a great start and I guess first impressions are important.

I would probably consider staying here again but would definitely go for a queen/double room.

Also there are two Red Inn Heritage's on Love Lane. To clarify this is the older, but cheaper one.

Room Tip: Avoid the King rooms - not worth the extra dollars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sezbo_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Inn Penang Guesthouse
Red Inn Penang Guesthouse
#49 of 170 in George Town
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
#22 of 170 in George Town
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guest Inn Muntri
Guest Inn Muntri
#122 of 170 in George Town
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Inn Court
Red Inn Court
#17 of 113 in George Town
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#46 of 170 in George Town
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Just Inn
Just Inn
#14 of 170 in George Town
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Inn Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Inn Heritage

Property: Red Inn Heritage
Address: 15 Lorong Love, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Inn Heritage 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Inn Heritage, its 2-story heritage building with modern and comfortable interior design style. The Guesthouse features 31 rooms with 2 chill out areas. Here there is choice varieties of private room types. Red Inn Heritage is warm and friendly and welcomes travelers from all over the world. We have a wealth of experience in the industry and know what travelers value and need during their stay. Guest can relax in our chill out area, complete with 50" Plasma TV and movie library, or catch up with friends and family over the internet. Wi-Fi access is also available throughout the property (FREE OF CHARGE). Trips and tours can also be booked at our reception, so don't be afraid to ask. The Inn also features a small reception/lobby as well as an umbrella shaded breakfast terrace. Red Inn Heritage's various private room types are: single, double, twin and triple, with shared or attached bathrooms that can accommodate a total of 62 people. Bed sheets and linen are provided and there is a choice of low and high budget for rooms. Air-Conditioned rooms are available for your choosing. Bathrooms come with 24 hr hot showers. Red Inn Heritage is located in the heart of Penang Island. We are 8 minutes walk from Penang Port Pengkalan Weld George Town. Bus stops at Lebuh Chulia that need 3 minutes walk to our Red Inn Heritage. If you like shopping then you can go along Jalan Penang or even Lebuh Chulia, were you can find and also taste a lot of different foods (Chinese, Indian, Malay and Peranakan) and merchandise. Georgetown also has a brilliant nightlife and there are a whole host of clubs and late night bars where you can go out and party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Inn Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Inn Heritage Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing