We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice friendly staff, food is pretty alright” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sire Museum Restaurant - CLOSED

The Sire Museum Restaurant
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Sire Museum Restaurant is situated within the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Georgetown. We serve contemporary western cuisine and a few local favorites. The museum at the back portion of the building features the story of a philanthropist, Yeap Chor Ee.More info/photos available on Facebook
singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“nice friendly staff, food is pretty alright”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Tried dinner, food quality considered good, nothing too fancy, nice experience, museum was closed by the time we reached. Recommended if you have got bored of the local food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pettypoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprise at the bottom of ice cream!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had a visit around 2.30 PM before their last order for lunch time, only two of us are dining in while most tables are reserved for dinner. Good environment for anniversary celebration. The smoked salmon salad is very tasty, order together with the pizza, chicken nuggets (for kids) and two desserts include creme brulee and crepe suzette. The chicken nuggets are more like maryland chicken but in nuggets style. The chicken pizza is not too dry, but a very small part is overbaked but I think is good overall. If you think you are small eater, do not order the crepe suzette cause I have to take away the chicken nuggets after finished the pizza. The creme brulee texture is quite thick compare to the one in Via Pre but both are good for me. Both creme brulee and crepe suzette are served with a scope of ice cream. You will find the surprise at the bottom of the ice cream which they will put little chen pi slice (if not mistaken). Spend another hour visiting the back of the restaurant which is a museum.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our family had dinner here during our stay in Penang, and we were gladly surprised by the levels of service and the quality of some of the dishes we ordered. The seafood linguine, the teriyaki salmon and the desserts were really good.

The staff were attentive and helpful and they even entertained our 5-month old baby, so we could enjoy dinner. This was a lovely gesture, and much appreciated.

We had guests from Europe and they were not used to some of the local spices and flavours in the Nyonya dishes. But in my opinion the food was very good, but on the expensive side.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos-Mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food and museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a restaurant come museum. The museum collection is from one Pg family and very interesting to see how the wealthly lived.
Food, lunch and dinnner served. Better to reserve especially evening.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 636foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Interesting Restsurant to dine and visit. The museum upstairs is historical and beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

With intention of visiting the museum only, didn't expect the food is equally good as well. The steak is cook the way you want it. The iced blended cappuccino glacier is one of the best that I ever try!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennychong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sire Museum Restaurant also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing