We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, Good food!”

La France Cafe and Restaurant
Ranked #537 of 928 Restaurants in George Town
Price range: $3 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Authentic French food in Penang, Café, Bakery & Restaurant la France Penang - french cafe Georgetown Malaysia
Enfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place, Good food!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Food is simple but tasty. The place is clean and really nice! The owners are not the ultra friendly type, but hey... No service charge!

A soup with garlic bread, a plate of pasta. I ended up ordering their cafe au lait with crepe suzette... Just nice!

Overall, a great value for your money. Not the fancy tourist spot, they don't allow cameras, good! I have been to other places where it was impossible to enjoy a meal without being disturbed by flashes, camera's noises and people running everywhere...

A little bit of France in Penang!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    3
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not the usual taste or service you expect to get.”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Was there with a friend, it was our first encounter of French food in Penang, Malaysia and I would say it wasn't a very pleasant one.
French restaurant I've been to in Paris were much friendlier as compared to this restaurant, plus they served delicious food.
To cut short this review, I agreed with one of the review that says their low priced food equals to their service as well as their food quality.

Do not enter unless you are up for a challenge with sour face owners.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank nana_loves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at La France Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 3, 2017
"Do not enter unless you are up for a challenge with sour face owners."

Well, my customers come for the food, not to be entertained by a sweet face repeating ready made over-commercialized flatteries and other superficial and ridiculous attitude.

Paris? Or France? Tourists are influenced by a lot of clichés that do not represent French people or even authentic French culinary Culture. Paris is one of the capital of mass tourism, everybody is trained to smile to tourists and their dollars...

In fact, Paris has lost it soul. There is more third-world's foreigners in Paris then any other area of the country. In the name of ultra-liberalism, Paris has become a shopping-mall, and lost its true cultural characteristics...

I easily recognize those who truly stayed and appreciate French life style, from tourists who finally have no culture (deep knowledge) at all.

If you think that Paris means "France", you simply know nothing about French Culture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Once and only”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Thought it would be nice having something french, but we had a most unpleasant dining atmosphere over there. The "guy" shouldn't be there at the front counter, he spoilt everything without a smile but appeared to be ignorant and unfriendly. The low price is equivalent to its service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank ddt657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at La France Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 2, 2017
The "guy" shouldn't be there at the front counter, he spoilt everything without a smile but appeared to be ignorant and unfriendly...

Appeared to be...

All phenomena are literally 'appearances'


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what I would term a restaurant”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

It's new clean and cheap. As a cafe with low prices it okay.

As a French restaurant well I suppose the French guy running it ignoring the only 5 people in the place might be considered French. They don't serve wine(a French restaurant) so we all had a beer. When we ordered another round they had run out of small bottles?
It made for a funny night on Bastille day because we felt like we were in a Peter Sellers movie

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Yamttr250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at La France Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 2, 2017
They don't serve wine(a French restaurant)

Sign-board at entrance :

BYO (Bring Your Own wine). Clear?

Clear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Simple down to earth, words not typical to describe Paris!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Was there for lunch and the set menu is pretty basic but nevertheless we had the crepe and scramble egg crossaint (pardon my French!) set. The latter sounds simple but was rather tasty and refreshing. Yes, that's how I would describe it. The wife didn't really fancy the desert as she commented was too sweet but to be fair, she's never one for the sweet tooth.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kIaihC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La France Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to La France Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing