We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, affordable accommodation option!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Friendly staff, affordable accommodation option!

The staff was extremely flexible with our stay and requests. We requested for a quiet room and we got it. We were also allowed to check in early.

They had free bicycle rental for 3 hours, we asked to extend our rental period because there were too much to cover. We returned the bicycles 8 hours later and they were ok with it. All is all, a great stay :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reco86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 652 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We loved the room itself, as well as the appearance of the hotel and the staff. The biggest issue was the shared bathroom space, and the thinness of the walls, and the loud door slamming at all hours of the night. WHERE IS THE TOILET PAPER?!? There were so many staff members in and out of the bathroom, cleaning efficiently and being really kind, but nobody put toilet paper in the bathrooms. Kind of important people. The hotel itself is great and I'd recommend it to anyone, but I hope they enforce the 'no shoe' policy to help control the loudness and also sort out the lack of TP. It's the little things like that that can drive you crazy.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

When searching hotels for a 2 day stop in Penang I stumbled upon very positive feedback & also quite negative about this hotel. I understand style & needs are very different requirements but this hotel has created a wonderful welcome experience with pure white themes, big fluffy cushions, crisp white linen, hairdryers,access to boiling water for that wake up culpa & an iron for communal use all on offer for a budget price.The bathrooms are a genius design of smooth wipe clean surfaces compact yet plenty available for shared use. Having stayed Previously in one of the single front guesthouses on Chulia street I was concerned about narrow steep stairs to carry or bags up but not a problem here as the stairs are very wide leading off a very generous foyer. Calm pleasant & content well trained staff ax well. Ticked all boxes for us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stacey689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Being swayed by the rave reviews on TripAdvisor, my wife and I chose to opt for a change from the usual modern and upmarket hotels. Sad to say, it was a decision to regret.

Other than location, a clean room and friendly staff, the hotel was very basic in every aspect. We were first given a small room with no windows (a first in all my hotel stays). With a bit of persuasion, managed to get another room with a window, but just as small making movements extremely restricted, especially if you are staying more than one. Luggage had to left on the floor as rack was not provided. With no writing table facility, writing had to done on the bed. In-room safe was non-existent and the en suite bathroom was small with very basic toiletries (no facial tissues provided). The wardrobe had three miserable clothes hanger that was probably handed down as heritage and no full length mirror in sight. There was only one light above your bed with no side lamps, so can you imagine having to get to the switch next to the door in the middle of your sleep, if you need to check on something. And no telephone......in case of emergencies!

For money's worth, I would suggest checking into a modern hotel with better facilities and larger rooms with locations just as good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TkLim07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel has very basic amenities, it's a heritage hotel as i understand where rooms are available either on the ground or 2nd floor.

this hotel however has a serious noise problem. at night you can hear people's footstep from the lobby, room door slamming, car parking outside, footsteps from people at the 2nd floor. aircon make a hell lot of noise, it was a difficult 2 nights sleep throughout.

be prepared to bring your own soup, shampoo, toothbrush etc. the hotel doesnt provide these.

hotel is near a food centre - red garden, thats where you go for a nice supper.

good range of tv channels, i have no problem with their wifi too. people staying here for the 1st time might want to note to stay in rooms that comes with attached bathroom.

overall, the hotel really has to do something about the noise issue.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosvki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have been to Penang Island regular as a holiday destinations. This trip however, was very different as I choose to Stay in town and book 1 night at Chula Heritage.

The hotel makes my trip so much more wonderful and pleasant. Walking distance to 'Line Clear' Nasi Kandar, Penang Street Arts and Wall Paintings by Ernest Zacharevic.

Travel around by foot in the cool evening and plenty of bicycle for hire.

The staff at the hotel were very helpful and polite. FREE wifi, big open spaces, parking and most importantly, very safe.

Thank you Chulia Heritage.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ss173b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

First off this is more of a "hostel" and a "hotel" - At least in the rooms we stayed in. There were also fully serviced rooms with en suites but we didn't stay in them.

The best thing about the hotel is the location and the service - It is located within walking distance to all Georgetown central attractions, and road which it is on is serviced by metropolitian buses.

Hotel staff were courteous and friendly. Everyday we would ask the front-desk for recommendations for places to eat, visit, etc., and their advice were always on the money.

Free wifi is a bonus, as is the free bike rentals. The decor is pretty cool and the shared bathrooms were well maintained.

We stayed for 3 nights for around $140 SGD - Great value for money.

TIP #1: It is worth getting a taxi from the airport as there is no street-front signage. Should cost around 40 Ringgits

TIP #2: Get the free bike rental and cycle around Georgetown. Ask for the street-art map and check out the cool ones - All of them are less than 10 minutes bike

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam2043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 87 in George Town
845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 87 in George Town
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 87 in George Town
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#19 of 87 in George Town
614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
#39 of 87 in George Town
1,336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#35 of 87 in George Town
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chulia Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chulia Heritage Hotel

Address: Chulia Street | No. 380, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $17 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chulia Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chulia Heritage Hotel - the ideal hotel for traveller which offers high standard accommodation and personalized services in a stylish manner. Culture and history combined to create an atmosphere of luxurious living. Chulia Heritage Hotel is strategically located within the core zone of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Penang, where is no doubt the traveller favorite must-visit place while holidaying in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chulia Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing