We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the bigger shopping mall and hangouts in Kuwait.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the bigger shopping mall and hangouts in Kuwait.”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel situates among shop houses on Chulia Street with a nice drive-in road to its' main facade. Taxis which we took seem to be familiar with Chulia Heritage Hotel, an indication that it's been around. Color theme for our room seems to be white. Friendly reception staffs. Street eats, cafes, shops and museums just around every corner in that vicinity. 30 minutes taxi ride from airport, ferry terminal or Butterworth train station.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground level does not require you to leave your shoes at the shoe racks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    306
    155
    31
    21
See reviews for
116
260
60
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel is well located near attractions, local food ( morning market and night food street).
Conveniently accessed via public bus, walkable to the famous murals.

Neatly tucked behind other shop houses, you may miss it on your first walk as you may see other hotels along the road ( hence you may assume its facing the road) However on the plus side, you aer kept away from the noise, so had a rather peaceful sleep at night XD

Room size was acceptable however, our room was lined with ants... Across the room, from door to the ceiling before disappearing behind the cupboard. Due to shortage of manpower, we decided not to wait for the reception to come over till evening we are back. However, the army of ants disappear in the evening when we returned. As we only stayed for a night, we did not want to make a fuss afterall we are leaving the next morning.

But the reception tried their best to help us and were polite too :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ml08576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

after coming back from Laos, I want to give my husband a slice of my backpacking trip so I chose this place.

Ended up:FANTASTIC! its not even backpackers at all even though they r priced at this range.

PROS
High Ceiling;
good location ( 5 min walk to almost 24 hour market)
CLEAN!
newly renovated
friendly service

CONS
the rooms near the main stairs and receptions could be noisy, they upgraded us there but we changed to the quieter room in the annex.

I have 7 pictures in this blog entry, enjoy!
http://liciapolis.blogspot.fr/2012/08/travel-penang-george-town-chulia.html

Room Tip: the quieter rooms are at the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frauenfeld, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Chulia Heritage Hotel is located quite central. Only thing the hotel is very well hidden in a side street and we walked several times by until we found it. All the sightseeing is pretty close. For its price its absolutely worth to go. The house has a nice classical style, the rooms are ok as well and the staff was friendly as well. Only thing the poor receptionist had to do a lot of work himself so we had to wait a couple of times.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Me and my family stayed in a triple room (shared bathroom) for 2 nights. The staffs are friendly, room was big enough and they also provide free bicycle to rent. However, it was quite noisy at night because of the old wooden floor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed in 2012 at this heritage hotel and came back this year for a 2 night-1 day stay in Penang. Total value for money and add to it the experience of staying in a well-maintained heritage hotel. The room and bathroom may be a bit small, with less space to move around but all other things are just too good to consider these negatives :)
Being vegetarians, food is a bit of a problem for us while travelling but in Penang, staying in Georgetown in Chulia street very close to tasty Indian vegetarian food is a blessing!(especially when you have a toddler in tow!) We really love Penang and Georgetown. Thank you chulia heritage hotel, hope to come back soon!!!

Room Tip: For families, it is better to go for the ground floor rooms which have attached bath, for backpacker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

One of the best hotels during our trip. Pleasant and attentive staff. Loved the big bed with firm mattress. Room cleaned thoroughly daily. Hotel has a very clean atmosphere because everything is white. Not for everyone but for me it worked. Especially because Georgetown is not the cleanest town. Our room was pretty big, I actually suspect we got the deluxe room despite booking the standard room. Bathroom quite small, but it's modern, functional and clean.

Very conveniently situated in Chulia street. Hotel has no eat or drink facilities (except water boiler + coffee and tea, water bottles and a fridge in our room) but there are plenty of options just around, like The Mugshot Cafe.

It can be a little bit noisy but it wasn't bothersome for us. Except for our window, when people would walk upstairs the window was rattling. Kinda annoying, so I put some toilet paper between the window to prevent it from rattling.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 84 in George Town
814 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#33 of 84 in George Town
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#34 of 84 in George Town
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
#38 of 84 in George Town
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chulia Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chulia Heritage Hotel

Property: Chulia Heritage Hotel
Address: 380 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chulia Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chulia Heritage Hotel - the ideal hotel for traveller which offers high standard accommodation and personalized services in a stylish manner. Culture and history combined to create an atmosphere of luxurious living. Chulia Heritage Hotel is strategically located within the core zone of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Penang, where is no doubt the traveller favorite must-visit place while holidaying in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chulia Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing