We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Simple hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chulia Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Ranked #30 of 77 Hotels in George Town
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simple hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is nicely situated away from the actual main road as it has a small lane leading up to the main building, hence it does not face directly onto the main street where it could get noisy and dusty in the middle of the day. It has a really nice facade, with great heritage looks and even more so at night with illuminating lights onto the building.

The rooms are decent sized (although for some it could be considered small). I stay in a double room with 2 queen sized beds, and there was just enough room to walk around. It has a complete white interior and wooden floor, which I found to be quite homely. Aircon is very strong which is good considering the scorching Penang afternoons where I would return back for a nice snooze post-lunch :)

Hotel staff is friendly and ready for info and tips on where the best foods are. The lobby is non-aircon which doesn't make a difference to me but does to some (maybe because the WiFi is strongest there and people have to sit in the lobby to use it).

P.S. The charsiew (caramel roasted pork) at Sky Hotel just a few blocks away was one of the best I have ever eaten, and should not be missed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deshawn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    276
    140
    26
    18
See reviews for
104
240
53
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel has a great position, off the main street so it's quiet at night!
The staff were very helpful, showing us where to rent scooters (which were great), lending us adapters and always greeting you nicely when you came in.

The rooms were basic but then for what you pay you don't expect more than basic. they are cleaned well every day and have free wi fi. The tv also has a few good channels for films in the evening.
The major issue with this hotel is the bathroom, whilst it is lovely and modern and kept very clean, there unfortunately is a very foul smell. The cleaner sprays fresher in it every day but after an hour or so the smell is back, bad drainage I think, but keep your bathroom door shut whilst in bed and there's no problem really.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRIPMCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed there a couple of weeks ago while visiting Penang. It was a great base to explore Penang. It's very close to the centre of the city (walkable distance), and buses run right in front of the hotel as well. The room had a very clean feel to it and was quite modern. They had free wifi, though it was quite slow and can have poor reception. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleNinjaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The rooms are small but spotless- make sure you book an en- suite. No view but if you only need a place to sleep in its perfect. Clean and white. Bathroom very small - shower over toilet. Doesn't offer breakfast but you never far away from food in Penang. Aircon not the most effective but adequate. I dont think i have come across better value for money in Penang. Its all about what you expect. Spotless room at a very good price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Defined as a "luxury" room it is far from it. TV wires hanging loose, poky, next to a rubbish heap (I dare you to open the smoked glass windows) and with some long black hairs on the floor (I haven't had those since the 70's) prompted me to ask for a change of room. I have to say I was accommodated as soon as another room was available (108) which was twice the size (a grand suite maybe?). I cannot find fault with the staff all of whom were very pleasant, polite and helpful. But looking behind the glitzy entrance I found it fairly average and at about 50 euros a night not the best value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pandos200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The white decor really works in conveying a clean, hygienic vibe. Really central and great value for money. The building is a really cool renovated heritage house. An RM45 taxi ride in from the airport but also served by the far cheaper buses.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Decided to check into this hotel for a bit of luxury, after staying in a terrible hostel further down the road, and luxury it was! The staff were really attentive and helpful, they held our bags for us as we arrived too early for check in and had to travel to the Thai consulate. When we came back they upgraded us to a queen size bedroom for no extra cost as the cheaper double bedroom we had opted for wasn't ready. The room was spotless and came equipped with little extras like a kettle and hairdryer. The bed was one of the comfiest I have slept in and a sound nights sleep was had! Perhaps the only criticism was that the shower was only warm and not piping hot but after a month of cold water showers, this was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperT89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#21 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#32 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#25 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#7 of 77 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
#34 of 77 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#36 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chulia Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chulia Heritage Hotel

Property: Chulia Heritage Hotel
Address: 380 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chulia Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chulia Heritage Hotel - the ideal hotel for traveller which offers high standard accommodation and personalized services in a stylish manner. Culture and history combined to create an atmosphere of luxurious living. Chulia Heritage Hotel is strategically located within the core zone of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Penang, where is no doubt the traveller favorite must-visit place while holidaying in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Chulia Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing