We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute place to stay in, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Ranked #37 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed November 4, 2012

i stayed in the Basic Family 2 Queens bedded room with sharing common bath room.
the building itself has a unique interior design, quite a nice place for photo shooting.
there are 7 common bathrooms, and they are clean!
it's so worth it. comfy, nice, strategic location, good services

Room Tip: the room's a bit hot in the noon, if you are staying on the 1st floor, you have to walk quietly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpchiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 656 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Everything other reviewers have said is true... quieter corner rooms, squeaky floorboards/ceilings, overpowering incense, internet issues etc. One small niggle is that the beds are hard. That said chulia heritage is a solid value in Penang. Regular rooms are cozy despite lofty ceilings. Go deluxe for refrigerators and more space in the room and bathrooms. Note that only some rooms have views to the outside. Chulia street is convenient to everything including public transportation and night markets.

Room Tip: try to get a room with natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boojie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just loved this Hotel!.

The only problem is, I think you can only book on line.....
The location is perfect, just a short level walk from the ferry terminal and to Pinang Road for a famous Penang Laksa.
It's also down a driveway so protected from street noise.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and beautifully presented - lovely decor and with everything you'd want including tea making facilities.

There is no bar or provision for breakfast but plenty of opportunities in the street outside.

Very nice and efficient staff.
We booked a 4 hour island tour with a driver through the Hotel and both he and the tour were very good.
He also arranged our ferry tickets for Alor Setar as well and delivered us to the jetty.


Would definately stay again!.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here many times already when we went to Penang for holidays and for Indian Visa run.

We did tried some other hotels and guest houses in this area, but at the end we find this hotel is the best. And so, we kept coming back for this hotel.

It is well situated in George Town. It is on the same street as the Indian Visa Centre and it's less than 10 minutes walk from the hotel to the Indian Visa Centre. It is easy straightforward 10-15 minutes walking distance to Komtar via Cintra Street. Along the way, you find many decent good Chinese Dim Sum restaurants and food court. 10-15 minutes walk to Little India where you find many good Indian restaurants especially Woodland vegetarian restaurant.

Most of the time, we stayed in the standard room with attached bathroom (130 rm per night walk in price), very good shower, very clean room/bathroom/toilet/beddings, very comfortable bed and pillows and cotton sheets, very good air-conditioning, very good connection of WIFI Internet in the room, tea making facilities, clean towels, soap & shower gel, hair-dryer, bottled drinking water, TV with 11 Astro channels, very comfortable arm-chair, bed side table, wardrobe, nice lighting with soft bright light, and room cleaning available everyday.

We stayed in the basic room with shared bathroom before for once, it was good enough, but we prefer to pay a little more for the standard rooms on the ground floor, as they are more comfortable with the attached bathroom and more quiet than the basic rooms upstairs.

The staff are really nice and friendly and efficient.

Parking places available with a security guard.

The entrance of the hotel from the Lebuh Chulia main road as well as the carpark area in front of the hotel is lovely view with some well maintained green plants.

The entire hotel is very well-maintained.

Highly recommended for a few nights stay or even for a longer stay as they provide room cleaning everyday if you need to. We stayed here for 5 nights the last time. There was not a single problem... Everything that I requested was being attended immediately. I gave a small tips to the cleaning ladies for doing a great job for cleaning the room for me.

Hope you will have a nice stay here. I did.

Thank you for everyone who works in Chulia Heritage Hotel for making our stay in Penang so comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wintermelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a nice hotel to come back after exploring Georgetown and its surroundings! Away from the main street (Chulia) this place is a little haven of serenity with its almost all white exterior/interior! The place is super clean, it shines!! We stayed 2 nights in a room with shared bathroom and 4 in a room with its own bathroom...Both room were very spacious, immaculate, the shared bathrooms were also kept clean. The staff is very nice and accomodating...we also liked the price we paid for this great stay...a very good address! Chulia street has many bars, restos and the hotel is not far from Komtar where you take local bus to go to Batu Ferringhi, Penang Hill....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SRacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

This lovely hotel is a quiet, calm, cool refuge just steps away from restaurants, temples and sites along Chulia street.

Rooms are nicely sized, many with shared bathrooms. The aircon and TVs in the room are a treat at a budget hotel of this price.

Best of all is the cleanliness!!!! The hotel has a bright, white washed feel - and all facilities were exceptionally clean and cared for during my three day stay.

It's an excellent option for those on a budget, delivering a better quality experience than other places in the same area for a similar price.

Ps. Go next door to Yeng Keng's if you're missing a western-style breakfast or coffee!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flower1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Terrible staff with rude attitude. I would strongly suggest that most of them need to attend some kind of training to push their service levels to another level.

Beware if you try to book this hotel online as the transactions are not smooth and its an overall unpleasant experience for me. Avoid at all cost!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theng820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#12 of 87 in George Town
867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 87 in George Town
369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 87 in George Town
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#19 of 87 in George Town
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#33 of 87 in George Town
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
#39 of 87 in George Town
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chulia Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chulia Heritage Hotel

Address: Chulia Street | No. 380, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $17 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chulia Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chulia Heritage Hotel - the ideal hotel for traveller which offers high standard accommodation and personalized services in a stylish manner. Culture and history combined to create an atmosphere of luxurious living. Chulia Heritage Hotel is strategically located within the core zone of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Penang, where is no doubt the traveller favorite must-visit place while holidaying in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Chulia Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing