We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Georgetown!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in George Town
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Georgetown!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and could not fault this hotel.
Great location - close to all of the main sights.
Great staff - very helpful and friendly.
Great room - very clean and modern with one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in.

Red Garden Night Market, 5 mins walk from hotel had good selection of food, very reasonably priced and nicer than the more famous Gurney Drive.

Stardust opposite the hotel had a good breakfast menu.

Would recommend and return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Benpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    306
    155
    31
    21
See reviews for
116
260
60
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel after reading good reviews about this hotel. The exterior of the hotel was white & was generally clean. We travelled as a family of 7 including a toddler & I was near 7 months pregnant. We booked 2 rooms at ground floor right in front of the lobby. I was told there was a free upgrade done for me, in which i realised it wasnt (which doesnt matter, anyway). When i reached the hotel at 6pm, i was told that the previous guests had late check out & we had to wait 20 minutes for the cleaning to be done which we were completely fine with the wait.

On my last day, we requested for a late check out at 2pm, but the hotel staff could not accomodate our request as the bookings are full. Hence, it was compromised at 1pm. At 1pm, my parents' room electricity was cut off. My dad thought there was a short circuit in the room. Later to find out that that was deliberately cut off to ensure we checked out on time.

My husband checked out my parent's room at around 1 pm & told the staff that we need another 30 mins to check out the other room so that they can clean up the room that my parents stayed. At exactly 130pm, my room's electricity supply was switched off. I had a 2 year old cranky toddler who is hungry for milk & the water flask was still in the process of heating up. We had no choice but to check out the room.

Their overall service was great during my stay until this incident happened on the last day which left me (a heavily pregnant with a young toddler) disgusted with how uncompassionate they can be. We did not even kick a fuss when we reached at 6pm & had to wait another 20 mins for the room. Why cant they even accomodate our 30-45 mins extension? While waiting for the taxi to arrive at 2pm, i noticed that there was noone cleaning both rooms during this time, which means they are not in urgent need for us to check out the room.

I would appreciate if the staff (there are 3 staff on duty that day!) have the basic courtesy to just inform us to vacate the room rather than to resorting to such tactics?? A little compassion & a little patience is greatly appreciated!!

Room Tip: try not to request for rooms at ground floor & near lobby as the noise from guest upstairs &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Maine2010915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jokjakarta, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Renovated from an old white coloured building
The rooms on 1st floor is made of wood and that time I still can smell the strong annoying odor of the paint of the rooms
They changed room for us but still have the same problem
At the end, we need to upgrade to another room (considered new wing) but paying ourselves
You get only 1 keycard for each room only and it is not convenient for us
So, the services considered not flexible

The location is middle of the Chulia street.
It is near to the Chulia hawker point but at night it turned to red light district
walking distance to most of the interesting places

The fasilities in the room are so so, considered basic
The shower room design is disaster, the shower head is fixed and located right in front of toilet bowl and water tap, YES, it is super small space and your item will get wet even u just move a little bit

Room Tip: Near lovelane there are more better options
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wen Hao B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed one night at the Chulia Heritage Hotel (CHH) and it was very pleasant. We booked a delux double room. You get a wifi, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, large plasma tv, great shower, air-con and a huge comfy bed. The room is minimalist in design and very well lit. The staff are also very attentive and helpful. Location wise you are about fifteen minutes from the ferry terminal, and right in the centre of multi-cultural George Town. Just walking around the nearby streets was a treat for the senses. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Chulia steet is typical chinese, lots of confusion and traffic. But the hotel is in a side alley (difficult to find the first time) with its own parking place. Location is great, close to all the main attractions to visit. The hotel has been recently renovated and is very nice. Air conditioning and bathroom are good, staff is very friendly.
Definetly a good trade off value cost.
Recommended!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paolo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed for 1 night and it was fabulous. The room was very clean, everything was in white and looked spacious. Our room was at the ground floor and it was very quiet at night, we slept very well on the comfortable bed. Good location in the heritage zone, just a short 5 mins walk to the nearest bus stop near 7-Eleven. Bus frequencies are high. The night street hawker just opposite the bus stop came alive in the evening and the food was good. Fried yam dumplings (wu kok 芋角) and fried sesame balls with peanut fillings (jian dui 煎堆) is a MUST TRY! Just opposite the hotel there is a coffeeshop that sells delicious fish soup bee hoon. Definitely a good resting site for any traveller who wants to move around the area on foot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstASiszz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel which is strategically located in Georgetown, Penang Island. Plenty of good hawker good and sightseeing locations within 10 mins walking distance from the hotel. Rooms are clean, and tastefully decorated.

Downside - rooms are very small.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 84 in George Town
815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#33 of 84 in George Town
360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#34 of 84 in George Town
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
#38 of 84 in George Town
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chulia Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chulia Heritage Hotel

Property: Chulia Heritage Hotel
Address: 380 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chulia Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chulia Heritage Hotel - the ideal hotel for traveller which offers high standard accommodation and personalized services in a stylish manner. Culture and history combined to create an atmosphere of luxurious living. Chulia Heritage Hotel is strategically located within the core zone of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Penang, where is no doubt the traveller favorite must-visit place while holidaying in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chulia Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing