We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Ranked #37 of 88 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days and could not fault it. We stayed in a ground floor room with private bath and although it was outside the reception area, the rooms were pretty sound proof and it did not bother us too much. We were amazed it was rated only 2.5 star and I guess that would be because it does not do breakfast and does not have a bar. Both can be found within short walking distance. We checked out the room of a 5 star hotel just a couple of blocks down and we found Chulia Heritage much fresher. The staff are very pleasant and eager to help. We left a jacket behind and it was posted to us with no fuss. It is within easy walking distance to the shopping malls, many restaurants, little India and bars.
We were pleasant surprised at what this hotel offered given its low star rating. We would recommend this hotel to everyone - we definitely made the right choice staying here!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ardentaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 651 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

1. perfect location. near most of attractions, bus terminal and famous bazzar.
2. nice atmosphere especially at night.
3. The price is good for medium buget. We are lucky enough to be free upgraded from basic room to stanard one.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Hong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

A nice and quiet hotel with an excellent location. The hotel is a bit secluded from the main street (Chulia Stree) so there is absolutely no noise from the traffic. Its also close to some mini market if you need to stock up on snack and drinks.

We were located on first floor, to the left of the entrance. The room itself was clean and good, with aircon and enough hot water for two people. The TV set was basic, but who needs watch tv while you are in Penang?

The staff was helpful, although we did not really test them to the fullest.

The main attractions are a short walk away, and if you havent been to penang, its a very good starting point to see the old town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank axehigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The hotel was excellently located in the center of the tourist area. It was close to the attractions, the bus terminal, and some streets with great restaurants outside the tourist area.
It was very clean. I stayed in a room with shared bathrooms. The bathrooms were much cleaner than the other budget hotels I have stayed in.
They didn’t offer free breakfast, which was good, so you could really go out and try the delicious Penang food outside.
The staff were reasonably helpful. But don’t expect them to give any good suggestions about where to go. It seemed to me that they didn’t know the places that well. In my first evening there, I asked the receptionist for some food place. He suggested somewhere very far but in the end I found there was a food court 200 meters away…
Overall this place was quite ok.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freddyfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

If you are tired of the usual high level concrete hotel, and want to experience how locals live, this is the hoyel for you; With its promotion price, its a big consideration in between Tunes and Traders. At its 7th month of opening, one can notice a bit of wear and tear of its srructure, but they always keep the hotels condition by repainting the chipped off floors & walls. During the day the 2 nd level is too hot, seems like heat is trapped on its high ceilings. Would suggest to put ceiling insulations to reduce the heat. or Provide exaust fans for heat to escape? or better yet make the whole hotel air conditoned!

Prepare a 50MYR per room deposit, refundable upon checkout.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olegna81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

My husband and i stay here for two nights on April. We living on Gound floor which is the staff upgrade us to deluxe room. The location is good and we can easily to find dinning places. We can found some mobile food counters close to hotel at night time(after 21:00pm). From hotel to little India just need five mins walking.
The disadvantage of this hotel is the shower facility, the water flow is very weak and it take long time to bath! This is the point that we want the hotel to improve.
Remarks: that room is no mini bar so that we cannot store cold drink!!!!!!!haha~~

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muromee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed at standard double with attached bathroom. The room is really small, including the bathroom. But it was clean and looked new. Would be depressing if you spend a long time at the room tough. The lobby doesn't have an aircon, which is also not a convenience place to hang either. But the location is good, near to Tek Sen [nice chinese restaurant], 711, walking distance to KOMTAR [the big bus terminal in Georgetown]

Room Tip: don't choose the room near the toilet at the lobby. We didn't get any wifi signal there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Centravanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#14 of 88 in George Town
844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#19 of 88 in George Town
610 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#30 of 88 in George Town
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#33 of 88 in George Town
367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
#40 of 88 in George Town
1,326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#32 of 88 in George Town
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chulia Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chulia Heritage Hotel

Address: Chulia Street | No. 380, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $19 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chulia Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chulia Heritage Hotel - the ideal hotel for traveller which offers high standard accommodation and personalized services in a stylish manner. Culture and history combined to create an atmosphere of luxurious living. Chulia Heritage Hotel is strategically located within the core zone of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Penang, where is no doubt the traveller favorite must-visit place while holidaying in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chulia Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing