We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

it's difficult to have a rest.
The building is beautifully renovated, the walls, the stairs, everything is snow white, shining and clean. But the walls are from paper, there is a gap between the door and the floor, the floor on the first floor's hallway is covered with wood but there's no sound insulation underneath. The result is that you can hardly have a rest. I had to sleep with earplugs and sleeping eye mask because the lights were on in the corridor and if somebody crossed the floor to the bathrooms it sounded like a herd of elephants running around.
I had a basic room with shared bathroom. The room small but clean and the equipment was really basic: a cupboard, two little side tables, bed and a television. Actually I would have preferred having a fridge than a tv, but anyway it was not that important for me.
The shared bathrooms were fine. They were clean and many enough. I never had to wait for a shower or for toilette.
The best thing in the hotel was it's location: very central and easy to get anywhere in the town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fehne09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    296
    153
    30
    19
See reviews for
110
255
57
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

The overall experience of my stay was very good. The hotel is located in a strategic heritage area of Georgetown. Everything is within walking distance. It only takes about 10 mins walk to Komtar and the central bus terminal where you could take buses to many different places in the island. There are also a lot of food choices in the central area especially along Macalister and Burma road all within walking distance from the hotel, around 10 - 15 minutes walking.

We were upgraded to deluxe room upon check in but the room was located on the ground floor near to the counter in the lobby. Hence, there was a bit of noise which was audible in the room itself but I guess it was unavoidable due to the design of old heritage houses and the renovation material used.

The room was nice and clean. The bed was very comfortable. En suite bathroom was clean and the size was just nice with an added touch of a rainforest shower.

Staffs were helpful and friendly. Hosekeeping did a good job providing fresh clean towel everyday. Overall, this is a good place to stay and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quieter room, probably the back row or the corner rooms may be a better choice. Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ong_YK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Location wise:

Chulia Heritage indeed has great advantage in terms of location! It's like in the middle of everything!

The famous Yeng Keng hotel is just a few shops beside. And yes, it's a bit difficult to find Chulia, as the signage at the main road leading to the pathway is just an unattractive board with name of hotel with cardboard cut outs. For travellers taking public transport to Chulia, ask the driver to stop at Air Asia office, and then you just walk aganist the traffic direction for less than 5 mins and will reach. Penang public transport is so good that you can take bus to anywhere you want, and with the location of Chulia, you can board almost most of the buses. It's walking distance to Komtar too :)

In terms of food around Chulia Heritage, one must go out for dinner/supper to the hawker stores just few shops away the hotel (ops Air Asia office). The curry mee and wanton mee BEST! For breakfast, very short walking distance (less than 10mins) will leads you to very nice dim sum store. Real good, so that's why we dont mind there's no breakfast at Chulia Heritage.

Room wise:

Though it's rather small in size, but everything is there. Bonus is the LCD TV right up mounted on wall with many international channels. Place is kept clean, thumbs up! It's bright and simple inside. Bed very comfortable! However, one downside is that maybe some furniture are bought from ikea?? The quality of the side tables is not good, it's almost fell apart. Maybe the management can look into it.

Overall, the stay was very pleasant!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Decided to take a leap of faith after some good reviews here. Booked thru airasiago, I arrived shortly after 10.30pm (after a 2.5hours flight delay on airasia) to a mansion that has undergone extensive renovation. The receptionist was very welcoming and friendly. However i was not told that my room was upgraded (not that i am complaining abt the room upgrade) and i was given a deluxe room (dont think its worth staying in a deluxe room for RM200). Located just behind the receptionist, the room is brand new and extremely spacious. Everything looks sleak (although there are signs of rushed renovation work). The interesting part was the window. it opens to a corridor of another wing. Natural light do come thru as the sun shines thru the corridor. the toilet is small with no separation between the shower and the toilet but the rain shower was so nice that i didnt care much of the wet bathroom floor. towels and basic amenities such as soap and shampoo are provided. The coffee/tea making facility and complimentary mineral bottles is on the dressing table which is not an issue since the table is big enough. the channels available on tv is extremely decent (though missing the fundamental msia terrestrial channel. hmmm) Bear in mind that for those who are choosing en-suite toilets, the rooms are located on the ground floor and there will be constant noises such as footsteps from the top floor (for the shared-bathroom rooms). Do note that the hotel does not have a cafe/room service but the location is great as it is near most of the best food stalls in penang. Make sure you ask your taxi/driver to slow down at chulia st as the hotel is located in a small junction at chulia st.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade. the std rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escapadesearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Great hotel, great value for money and a great location (in Chulia Street, tucked behind Stardust Cafe/Guesthouse). A nice, clean, modern room, with wifi, air-con and hot-water for tea/coffee. Yes, the rooms are small, but are not claustrophobic, as the rooms are very light.

Good facilities for 80RM a night for a double. We usually never have a shared bathroom but here at the Chulia there are about 8 shower/toilet/sink cubicles, so there was never a queue. They were always immaculately clean as there was a cleaner most of the time throughout the day.

We are cyclists and because the hotel was busy we couldn't have a room on the ground floor, but felt our bicycles were safe locked-up outside in the car park; the hotel is off the street, so the car park isn't on view from passers-by, and there is a 24hour Security man.


Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If there isn't an en-suite room available then definitely consider the shared bathroom as it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

great hotel. looks great really . and right in the heart of georgetown.
was fun to live here. the staff was nice.
but
the incense smell was annoying
the rooms were clean but. due to no pest control, the rooms were infested by pests. small flies. spiders, mosquitoes.

overall great and very cheap

Room Tip: ground floor corner rooms which are ensuite are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asifcool83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Very good location,just next to the famous Yeng Keng hotel,on chulia eatery street, right in the middle of Georgetown where the heritage walking trails are.
Newly refurbished, rooms are clean.
We stayed in a corner family room which was smaller than expected.
Main disappointment was the ensuite bathroom, where the shower head was in between the sink and toilet seat. It was wet wet wet!we thought it was a little overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wannaglobetrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spices Hotel
Spices Hotel
#21 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#34 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chulia Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chulia Heritage Hotel

Property: Chulia Heritage Hotel
Address: 380 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chulia Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chulia Heritage Hotel - the ideal hotel for traveller which offers high standard accommodation and personalized services in a stylish manner. Culture and history combined to create an atmosphere of luxurious living. Chulia Heritage Hotel is strategically located within the core zone of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Penang, where is no doubt the traveller favorite must-visit place while holidaying in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chulia Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing