We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in George Town
dubai
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great but...”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

great hotel. looks great really . and right in the heart of georgetown.
was fun to live here. the staff was nice.
but
the incense smell was annoying
the rooms were clean but. due to no pest control, the rooms were infested by pests. small flies. spiders, mosquitoes.

overall great and very cheap

Room Tip: ground floor corner rooms which are ensuite are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asifcool83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    304
    153
    30
    21
See reviews for
113
259
59
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Very good location,just next to the famous Yeng Keng hotel,on chulia eatery street, right in the middle of Georgetown where the heritage walking trails are.
Newly refurbished, rooms are clean.
We stayed in a corner family room which was smaller than expected.
Main disappointment was the ensuite bathroom, where the shower head was in between the sink and toilet seat. It was wet wet wet!we thought it was a little overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wannaglobetrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed here during a 3 day trip to Penang. It is a very unique building and set back from the main road which thus avoids a lot of the noise. Staff were friendly and helpful in suggesting things to do in Penang. Rooms were very clean and in good repair. We opted for the shared bathrooms and they were always kept very clean as well. Fixtures and furnishings were modern. Wifi did not work in our room but they have 5 wifi hubs so its just a matter of being in the right spot.

Location is great, near everything all within walking distance.

Overall would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting on a budget but wanting the privacy of a hotel room.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room and locate the wifi routers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VinodV7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Located in Chulia St. a very good location for tourist visits, but in an independent alley which makes this hotel an oasis of calm in the middle of the caos of Chulia. Even though it's a beautiful heritage building, don't expect an antique atmosphere. The rooms are minimalist and modern. You will get a very good relation quality-price. I would defenitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalValencia_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The room was very small and we could not move in the room. The bathroom was very simple (shower over the toilette). It is in the end of the Chulia Street, not quite in the city center but you can reach many interesting spots in some walking distance.The stuff was very helpfull and nice. The room was furnished with IKEA. Given the fact that the room was very small and the breakfast was not included, I did not find that it was a good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy_Ba77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

we really liked our two nights here. quiet and very clean. all white and not a spot anywhere. i am not a fan of shared bathrooms but these had awesome rain head showers. great value and location- near quiet streets to walk on, mall and great food. i would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliceinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JB
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We arrived early in the morning around 1am from the airport. The check in was smooth. Being tired and crappy, the first impression when we entered the room was dissapointment. The room was bare...only beds, 2 bedside table and a small closet. But then we only took the tripple basic as this is the only room available during my booking. The rooms below is small but it looked much comfortable.

Negative input - Hopefully to be improve :
If only the hotel put some more effort to make the room cozy although it is so call a basic room.

1) At least a dressing mirror would be great although there are no attach bathroom. It is very inconvenience to always have to go to the common bathroom to use the mirror and a mirror does not cost a bomb to be placed in the room....
2) The flat tv was place high at a corner of the room. It just strain your neck to watch but I guess it is to prevent the guest from messing up with the TV. Anyway...this is just a very minor issue.
3) Water heater...there is only 1 water heater for the entire floor upstairs. It would be great to have at least another one at the opposite corner so guest does not have to move so far to get some hot water. Best is to place a hot and cold water dispenser. That would be best as the guest does not have to refill the water heater once it is empty and we have a source for cold water at hand anytime of day
4) Room service. I would say that that the room service was ok. We had our room clean and towels replaced daily but we were not given any mineral water on the first day and second day. They only provided these on the last day we were there. For the first day I had to request for some and they only gave us one at first and when we requested again the next day we were given 2 small bottles. That was it until the last day when they place another 3 small bottle.
5) Incense smell - The hotel have 1 small altar outside and 1 VERY big altar just beside the main staircase inside the hotel. I trully felt that we were staying in a temple with the incense smell quite intense especially late at night...from our room at least. Complained about the smell as it was quite intense especially when you are trying to get a good night sleep and they tried to change our room for the first 2 nights but they do not have any other rooms on the 3rd night since most of the rooms was fully booked, we decided just to bare with the smell and stay in our room.
6) Since this is an old bungalow, the second floor flooring was made of wood which creak with every steps you made. I felt sorry for those who stayed below because it can be very annoying hearing those creaking noises every time people walked on the second floor. We tried to tip toe in our room especially at night just to minimize the noise but since we have kids with us, they seems to be amused with the sound and actually love running around just for the sound.
7) The common bathroom- The bath and toilet are placed in the same room. I would have preffered if they have used a handheld shower head instead so we can avoid getting the toilet and sink wet every time we had a bath. The location of the soap dispenser in some of the rooms is weird...it is place near to the toilet instead of the sink where people normally will find it for easy hand wash and bath. This gave us an impression that when they build and design this hotel, all these small things were not really considered.

Positive Point - Keep it up
1) The reception was friendly, they tried to accomodate and help as much as they can. Thumbs up for the staff
2) The hotel is new and clean. Hopefully they keep the clean look
3) The location is good. Within walking distance to most eatery and easy for transportation.

Our verdict:
1) Not children friendly
2) The basic room is just too bare. Although the rooms does not have any attached bathroom, please put some effort to make the room as cozy and convenient as possible. Some splash of colour would be great just to add some depth to the room deco and comfort...
3) The best point for this hotel is, it is new and the location is great. But there are many hotel around this area with similar pricing and actually have bathroom attached. When this hotel has aged, and the rooms does not have the fresh smell anymore and molds start coming into the rooms and bath, it will loose its charm if nothing is being done to make it more comfortable and lively.
4) If you are uncomfortable with big altar and incense smells this would not be a good hotel for you since they have a huge one inside the hotel itself. I wished they had mentioned this in their web as I can't stand the incense smell.

Room Tip: Request for room with attached bathroom if budget permits. If not, request for rooms that is as far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 84 in George Town
804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#32 of 84 in George Town
356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#33 of 84 in George Town
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chulia Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chulia Heritage Hotel

Property: Chulia Heritage Hotel
Address: 380 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chulia Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chulia Heritage Hotel - the ideal hotel for traveller which offers high standard accommodation and personalized services in a stylish manner. Culture and history combined to create an atmosphere of luxurious living. Chulia Heritage Hotel is strategically located within the core zone of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Penang, where is no doubt the traveller favorite must-visit place while holidaying in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chulia Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing