We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Straits Quay Suites
Nearby Hotels
Seven Terraces(George Town)
$160
$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
$147
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
$121
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La(George Town)
$131
$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Heritage Hotel(George Town)(Great Value!)
$22
$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
$46
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveler rating
7
11
8
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
11
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsday bedcooking utensilsliving hallshopping complexwashing machinefantastic locationsea viewshuttleapartmenteateriesbedroomkeyprivacypenang
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 27 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Needed to go to Penangpac for a theatre production and booked a suite for the cast to stay as back up in case other accommodation didn't come through. It eventually did, but the Agoda company operating the apartments said they would not allow cancellation since it was a special offer rate and I would have to pay the entire three night booking. Hmm. Not customer friendly. Since the location suited us, we put up and shut up. But would not happily book through Agoda again. Next time we will find a place that takes direct bookings. Or at least one that has a better policy for cancelling. We saw a few on the main road offering at RM100 compared to the RM400+ for Agoda's special. The Tanjung Beach Resort should reopen soon after its renovation. Maybe it will offer a better deal. Or stay at the E&O hotel. They have free shuttles to Straits Quay.

The one bedroom suite will sleep five people, three in the bedroom and two on couches in the TV area. It was clean and quiet and well located. Though a bit hit and miss for checking in. You need to find the operator who walks up and down the Mall entrance hoping to be noticed by people looking to check in. Big fridge, cooker, free bottled water and wifi with coffee and tea and someone to come in and clean. Big TV with DVD player but no Cable TV. No microwave. Also no place in Straits Quay to buy food - need to go to the Tesco which is a hot and sweaty 15 minute walk away. A verandah overlooked by some building meant that drying clothes outside was impossible and a magnet for mosquitoes. Got a pool and fitness centre which we didn't visit.

Location wise, you're pretty stuck at the Straits Quay without a car. Taxis abound, but it is a good distance to Penang centre, and traffic can be slow given the road system. Fine for a family getaway, but not for people looking to experience Penang in its historical glory.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gwailoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I found this to be something different from the ordinary hotel. The suites is just right on top of the mall - straits quay. Hence, you won't be having any problem locating places to eat as there are a huge variety of restaurants there. A note of compliment to the hotel staff, he called and sms before our arrival to make sure that we know the way to the hotel and also to confirm our arrival time, and even offered to wait for us outside the mall to lead us to the hotel. When we reached, he is already there waiting for us. He then bring us to our room, explain the house rule and introduce to us the facilities available. And for those who drive there, parking rates is really cheap. It's only RM 1 for a day!
A little disappointed is the wifi signal is really weak, though it is free. It got disconnected a few times while I am working on something.

I will recommend this for those who wants to relax and enjoy quite moments.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Joanne94203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a great time and my parents too had a good time there. The swimming pool was excellent esepically for kids and there is something for everyone there. Plenty of good restaurants but most of them are not open for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgnesW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We wanted to try a new place in penang after multiple stays at the G Hotel. It was somewhat a hit and miss. Finding the entrance to the unit is akin to entering a maze. The security guards are somewhat clueless to "E&O" and "Residence". We had to call the concierge multiple times until we were guided to the appropriate carpark.

Be warned aforehand that this is not a hotel but more of rented individual apartment units. Each unit is individually furnished. Tasteful or not it depends on the individual. The rooms are spacious, well equipped with a dvd home theater, oven strangely(but no microwave) and 2 bathrooms per unit.

The biggest problem was the bed which was sort of a cheap unit equipped with an equally cheap mattress and rock hard memory pillows which are not a good sign. In the end, you might survive the one night stay but might end up having a stiff neck at the end of your vacation.

Location is a big plus with multiple eateries downstairs and the pool/gym facilities sufficient. I highly recommend the blue reef fish and chip shop downstairs. They serve some of the best seafood western style on the island.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a good mattress and pillows. Pick one closer to the lifts
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is The Straits Quay Suites and NOT the E&O Hotel. The hotel has the potential to be really great, but they're really really rough around the edges. For starters, the 'check-in' concierge had no idea what road they were on or where to park our car for closest access to the counter. Claimed wifi available, but was down for the 5 days that we stayed there. Keys were not properly filed meaning it could take you 2 seconds to open it or 5 minutes. Kitchenette is cool but no amenities or plates or cups. No major showstoppers, but all these shortcomings do add up. Thankfully we got this room on offer so it took a lot of the bite out of this review, if we paid full price, i'd be plenty pissed. The room was nice and spacious with decent furniture and we had a nice balcony attached to it. To be fair to the management, they were extremely apologetic about some of the shortfalls and tried to make amends on it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yosoyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews