We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Georgetown”
Review of Muntri Mews

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muntri Mews
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

From the front it just looks like a small cafe and nothing special. But as you are taken through it is truly a oasis and the perfect place to come back to at the end of the day. Unique, quaint and peaceful, it is ideally located for exploring on foot. Get an upstairs room if you can. But what makes it stand out more than anything else is its staff and their high level of service. They truly make your stay even more special and memorable and just cannot do enough to help you. They have also designed their own map with places to visit, eat and drink within walking distance, but try Muntri Mews food also, it is as good, especially their local food and reasonable priced. This is one of the most friendliest, best run places I ever stayed. being greeted with a glass of ice cold water when we returned back at the hotel every day was a perfect refreshing touch when you had been walking around town in high humid temperatures. This is a place we will never forget and made our holiday special.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room, you have a better outside sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alison0970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (957)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 957 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed in Muntri Mews for 3 days, 2 nights - arrived at night, had a bit of difficulty in locating the place. Would suggest bigger signage to mark the place - only have signage of Cafe Mews, no Muntri Mews. Overall very satisfied with the place, would definitely return for repeat visit..Excellent service, great ambience & strategic location!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank megathh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

While the accommodation is unique - a beautifully restored stable in the centre of the George Town heritage area it was the friendly staff and the level of service that made our holiday so enjoyable. The Manager Sarah was particularly helpful, happily arranged ferry tickets, tours and early breakfasts when required. The in house meals were excellent but staff were happy to provide advice about other restaurants. The rooms were comfortable without being luxurious. The inclusion of a refrigerator would have been welcome. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room which incorporated a verandah, however because of the heat we rarely used it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here over the new year's and this couldn't have been a better home base. The rooms themselves are very cute - we had a king suite and while the bathroom was a little sparse, the bed was nice and comfy and the room itself was quite large. Breakfast was tasty and more expensive than the place next door but their dessert menu was AWESOME and we ended up spending several nights just sitting out on their patio looking out onto the street and people watching while sipping on tea and savoring their desserts. Georgetown is super walkable but this place is right at the heart of it all without being on a street where everybody's in your face all the time. Next door is a backpacker hotel with good breakfast, next to that is a super cute bakery, and down the street on Love Lane is where we rented our motorbike for less than $10/day including gas. The restaurant is one of the few upscale places in the neighborhood and seems to be popular with the young local crowd.

They took care of pretty much everything we needed - laundry, ferry tickets, maps, directions, etc. We literally just dropped our laundry off one morning and it was beautifully folded when we returned. Excellent service! We'll return again some day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThereIsAWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Helpful personalised service suits the Boutique hotel..charming touches of local architecture and design. Location is great for experiencing the UNESCO character of Penang, In house meals are delicious too...try the local offerings.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms may be quieter from passing guests.....but tread lightly if you are upstairs..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

What makes Muntri Mews stand out is its staff and service. All the staff were extremely friendly and made my family and me feel welcome and comfortable. Some were quite amiable and started up interesting conversations with us; they always answered our questions about the area and Malaysia in general.

The rooms are quite nice. I was somehow expecting a bit more warmth or je ne sais quoi from the pictures, but I was comfortable there. It is charming that they have both kept the style and fixings of the old buildings as well as updated certain parts (like putting glass on the slatted bathroom windows to keep bugs out). My favorite part of the room was the bed. The downstairs suites (cheaper of the two styles) have huge double beds with tons of cushy pillows. The mosquito net/thin gauzy curtain makes the little area very intimate and den-like, not to mention keeps out the mozzies!

It was either rainy or wet most of the time we were there, but the little seating areas outside of each room are also very comfortable and lovely for reading a book or using wifi when you don't want to sit in the cafe.

Overall, our stay was great! Would recommend, would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jfrench77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Rooms are back from the street (as “Mews” suggests) so we didn't hear any street noise in this lively city. They're simple — filling my sink with hot water for shaving required using the hand-held shower attachment — but large and comfy.

Service was very accomodative and they make a KILLER Irish Coffee.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 87 in George Town
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 87 in George Town
900 reviews
0 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#9 of 87 in George Town
3,810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 87 in George Town
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#14 of 87 in George Town
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muntri Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muntri Mews

Address: 77 Lebuh Muntri, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Price Range: $76 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muntri Mews 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muntri Mews is affordable luxury accommodation for today flash packer located in the heart of Georgetown the UNESCO world heritage site.every room come with spacious lounge areas opening out to the Verandah upstairs or to the lush private tropical garden downstairs.Muntri street has one of the best preserved rows of townhouse residence in Malaysia. elegant expression of 19th century straits Chinese architecture, equivalent to Singapore Emerald Hill. these grand terraces invariably had mew- private stables for horse carriages, with staff quarters upstairs which then became garage for motor cars during the Edwardian Era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muntri Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muntri Mews Hotel Georgetown
Muntri Mews Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing