We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute. Quaint. Convenient.”
Review of Muntri Mews

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muntri Mews
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cute. Quaint. Convenient.”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here over the new year's and this couldn't have been a better home base. The rooms themselves are very cute - we had a king suite and while the bathroom was a little sparse, the bed was nice and comfy and the room itself was quite large. Breakfast was tasty and more expensive than the place next door but their dessert menu was AWESOME and we ended up spending several nights just sitting out on their patio looking out onto the street and people watching while sipping on tea and savoring their desserts. Georgetown is super walkable but this place is right at the heart of it all without being on a street where everybody's in your face all the time. Next door is a backpacker hotel with good breakfast, next to that is a super cute bakery, and down the street on Love Lane is where we rented our motorbike for less than $10/day including gas. The restaurant is one of the few upscale places in the neighborhood and seems to be popular with the young local crowd.

They took care of pretty much everything we needed - laundry, ferry tickets, maps, directions, etc. We literally just dropped our laundry off one morning and it was beautifully folded when we returned. Excellent service! We'll return again some day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThereIsAWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    200
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
242
294
95
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Helpful personalised service suits the Boutique hotel..charming touches of local architecture and design. Location is great for experiencing the UNESCO character of Penang, In house meals are delicious too...try the local offerings.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms may be quieter from passing guests.....but tread lightly if you are upstairs..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Californian New Yorker
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

What makes Muntri Mews stand out is its staff and service. All the staff were extremely friendly and made my family and me feel welcome and comfortable. Some were quite amiable and started up interesting conversations with us; they always answered our questions about the area and Malaysia in general.

The rooms are quite nice. I was somehow expecting a bit more warmth or je ne sais quoi from the pictures, but I was comfortable there. It is charming that they have both kept the style and fixings of the old buildings as well as updated certain parts (like putting glass on the slatted bathroom windows to keep bugs out). My favorite part of the room was the bed. The downstairs suites (cheaper of the two styles) have huge double beds with tons of cushy pillows. The mosquito net/thin gauzy curtain makes the little area very intimate and den-like, not to mention keeps out the mozzies!

It was either rainy or wet most of the time we were there, but the little seating areas outside of each room are also very comfortable and lovely for reading a book or using wifi when you don't want to sit in the cafe.

Overall, our stay was great! Would recommend, would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jfrench77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Rooms are back from the street (as “Mews” suggests) so we didn't hear any street noise in this lively city. They're simple — filling my sink with hot water for shaving required using the hand-held shower attachment — but large and comfy.

Service was very accomodative and they make a KILLER Irish Coffee.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel itself is in a great location walking distance from all the good food, museums, street art etc, and the grounds are just lovely - an oasis of calm greenery and quiet in Georgetown. It's so unique in that all the rooms have windows letting in the sunlight, and there's enough privacy for all. Spotless accommodation and bathrooms, comfortable beds.

What sets it apart from the rest is the excellent staff. Sarah and the rest of the crew were just so welcoming, helpful and friendly. We were welcomed with iced tea, then shown to our rooms where they brought tea and biscuits on traditional Peranakan crockery. Gorgeous and such a nice touch! When we came back from our walkabouts on particularly hot days we would immediately get a knock on the door and be greeted with a smiling face and iced water. Maxime also gave us good advice on what to do while we were there. We happily spent hours reading on the benches outside our room or at the Mews Cafe, which also has delicious food (the rendang is amazing and the breakfasts were great too).

We won't be staying anywhere else on our future visits!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank justyien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

For four nights I have stayed in this little gem in the centre of Georgetown. Hospitality and service by the staff was similar to five star hotels. The food was very good and well prepared. Muntri Mews is located in the UNESCO World Heritage area and therefore in walking distance to all major sights. The rooms are a bit dark but very nicely decorated and quite spacious.

We have really enjoyed our stay at Muntri Mews. The only thing missing is a pool to cool down after long walks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AeE85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A great welcome, given a drink while you check in, room's prepared and luggage taken to your room for you. After a couple of minutes in the room, someone pops in to deliver green tea and snacks (crackers & biscuits). All very lovely & homely.

I stayed on the second level, the far right corner or as the staff put it, "the most secluded" of their rooms! I have to say that even with the PR twist, I did like the location and the view from the balcony (couch side) is right down the length of the property, to the road. And quite magical and lush at night with lights twinkling along the lower level.

The room itself was beautifully decked out - very much in keeping with the age of the grade 2 listed Muntri Mews. The room is a long one, with an almost romantically draped mosquito netted king size bed at one end, and a wet room styled ensure at the other - coloured with cool black and white checkered tiles that give the heritage approach a little modern styling. There was a long day bed type couch along the wall and flat screen TV opposite, along with small café table. The room may be narrow but with the way it's styled and the careful and strategic use of mirrors, the room feels much, much larger.

Since last Lonely Planet edition (if you've read the MM review), rooms now have a lockable wardrobe but still no safe. I felt pretty secure in leaving stuff locked up in my bag and locked in the cupboard. But it's a personal choice, so talk with the staff if you're concerned.
There is also Wi-Fi access in the room (not just the common areas as a couple of reviews have mentioned) but it's frustratingly patchy at times, seeming to depend on where you're sitting in the room.

Since Penang is all about food, the Mews Cafe is a good jumping off point into the local food scene. There's a small menu for dinner (although the breakfast and cocktail menus seem larger on variety) but I can heartily recommend visiting for any time of the day. I had breakfast included in my room rate - and it was delicious - so only had to pay for dinner or drinks, which were not so reasonably priced (would even go so far as saying they were comparable to what I'd pay back in Melbourne) but they were very, very tasty. The steep prices didn't seem to stop people coming in to eat or drink though. The cafe became packed over the hour or more while sitting there.

As you'd expect from staying in a place with only 9 rooms, the MM staff are all very friendly and willing to help. Ask them for tips & hints, anything you need. They've even designed their own map with a few different walking trails for you to take, pointing out the best sightseeing spots around old George Town and more importantly, the best food places to stop at along the way.

My final two key tips for your stay here would be: (1). bring earplugs or you'll be serenaded by motorbikes/cars/cats/dogs all night.
And (2). bring mozzie repellent. Even with the mosquito net around the bed, the bug zapper thingy in the room AND the turn down service staff carry out in the evening with an additional dose of bug spray...you will still need it because those little buggers get in. Trust me.

All in all, Muntri Mews was a very comfortable place to stay. Well designed and located and I'd definitely recommend it to travellers wanting something different than the usual hotel experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby_bat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.0 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.2 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
829 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 84 in George Town
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#7 of 84 in George Town
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
3,532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muntri Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muntri Mews

Property: Muntri Mews
Address: 77 Lebuh Muntri, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muntri Mews 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muntri Mews is affordable luxury accommodation for today flash packer located in the heart of Georgetown the UNESCO world heritage site.every room come with spacious lounge areas opening out to the Verandah upstairs or to the lush private tropical garden downstairs.Muntri street has one of the best preserved rows of townhouse residence in Malaysia. elegant expression of 19th century straits Chinese architecture, equivalent to Singapore Emerald Hill. these grand terraces invariably had mew- private stables for horse carriages, with staff quarters upstairs which then became garage for motor cars during the Edwardian Era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muntri Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muntri Mews Hotel Georgetown
Muntri Mews Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing