We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality with strong character”
Review of Muntri Mews

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muntri Mews
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights. Nice welcome greeting and good hospitality of the management team each day until the day we left. Room is clean, nice design with attentive to detail. Every time we come back to the hotel after the walk around the staff is ready to welcome us with their own recipe of refreshment. It helps a lot during the hot day. The cafe in the front area is nice to hang around and their coffee is good. Seems like they have taken into consideration any little aspect to serve us. You can feel the personal touch on it.

Room Tip: Room at the back end is quiter
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zhou-Pang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
There are newer reviews for Muntri Mews
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 904 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

Three nights in February 2013, Muntri Mews blended perfectly with the surroundings. A location that can't be beat - easy to walk, cycle or hop on pedicab. It's more than a hotel, subtle comforts filled with simple elegance. Service par excellence, without unnecessary intrusions maintaining one's privacy. On our hit list for many returns!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulD813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have the (mis)fortune of travelling an awful lot for business, and stay in a range of hotels all over the world including boutique hotels, and without a doubt this was the best boutique hotel I have ever stayed in, and almost certainly the best level of service and personal attention I have ever experienced in any hotel.

Whenever we arrived back at the hotel and went up to our room, within seconds there was a knock at the door and we were presented with glasses of very welcome iced water. I never knew how they knew we were back, but they did, everytime without fail. Sarah and her team were excellent, friendly, always smiling, and always keen to ensure we were comfortable and well attended to. They were always incredibly busy, and yet, we never felt we were left waiting for anything; and neither did anyone else look like they were left waiting for anything either.

We only had one meal in the hotel, but we did try their banana fritters one evening, and could not resist having them again the next evening, as they were fantastic, and highly recommended.

I agree with comments made by many other reviews that a shower curtain would be good, but otherwise we thought the room was great - nicely decorated, and in keeping with the overall spirit of the place.

My only negative was that I found the pillows far too hard, and recommend that less solid pillows be available for those who prefer something with a little give. To add balance though - my partner thought the pillows were fine.

Otherwise, I think this is an excellent hotel, for great value, in an ideal location for those wanting to explore Georgetown, a fabulous small cafe, with great food, and a team that could rival the best hotels in the world on service level.

Stop searching and just book - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJS37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

What a perfectly charming, chilled little hotel right in the heart of Georgetown. Rooms & bathrooms were clean and comfy and the staff were just amazing (especially special thanks to Sarah). The rooms could do with a safe, and shower curtain otherwise you can't find fault with this place. After a day of wandering around in the intense heat of Penang, nothing beats it when the staff greets you with a nice glass of cold water with lemon the moment you step into the premises. As I was traveling solo, they offered to fetch me takeaway from the nearby food stalls so that I can dine in the comfort of my room at night. Love the place will definitely be back next time I visit Penang. Great place also for wandering around the sights of Georgetown. Everywhere is almost walkable from here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The staff were truly excellent, paying attention to small details, and being ever so helpful. The development has been charmingly restored, and the rooms simple but spacious, as the ambience was more like a home away from home, and of old school charm. Will definitely be back again when in Penang. A shower curtain would be helpful to prevent the floor getting wet, and also a small fridge in the room, though the staff were always replenishing us with cold water. All in all, a great place for a few days. Sara, the manager, was truly friendly but efficient.

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid the room closest to the reception area on a Sat night; Sun was fine and quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripper1Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Thank you Sarah , Zul ... Great location, very clean rooms and bathroom , good food at the cafe ... And it is wonderful to experience how the staff are fully attentive to the guests . Sure if you cannot expect a business hotel like the Conrad or Ritz Carlton eg room safe , mini bar, wardrobe, fluffy slippers but I realize the charm of the location and staff makes up for all these frills. There is no problem too big for the staff ... Simply ask . Wifi is not perfect but it works well in the cafe and outside the rooms where you can work in the midst of a lovely garden.special thanks to the operational staff, and Hendricks in particular. Their attention to detail and guests needs can put many 5 star city hotels to shame. . Well done team !

Room Tip: I love room f
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina_Yap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Unique decor, comfy, spacious rooms and top-rate service for a great price. Really enjoyed my three-night stay at Muntri Mews and I would definitely go back again when I'm next in Penang.

Nothing quite beats getting a nice cold glass of water when you step into your room minutes after an afternoon spent in the scorching Penang heat. Also loved the cozy feel of this little boutique place. Have stayed in a number of small establishments in South-east Asia and this is the best to date.

Would love to keep this little gem to myself but they deserve a shout out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 85 in George Town
855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 85 in George Town
321 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 85 in George Town
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 85 in George Town
3,625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 85 in George Town
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muntri Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muntri Mews

Address: 77 Lebuh Muntri, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Price Range: $73 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muntri Mews 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muntri Mews is affordable luxury accommodation for today flash packer located in the heart of Georgetown the UNESCO world heritage site.every room come with spacious lounge areas opening out to the Verandah upstairs or to the lush private tropical garden downstairs.Muntri street has one of the best preserved rows of townhouse residence in Malaysia. elegant expression of 19th century straits Chinese architecture, equivalent to Singapore Emerald Hill. these grand terraces invariably had mew- private stables for horse carriages, with staff quarters upstairs which then became garage for motor cars during the Edwardian Era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muntri Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muntri Mews Hotel Georgetown
Muntri Mews Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing