We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service, fantastic location what more can you ask for?”
Review of Muntri Mews

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muntri Mews
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous service, fantastic location what more can you ask for?”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

What a perfectly charming, chilled little hotel right in the heart of Georgetown. Rooms & bathrooms were clean and comfy and the staff were just amazing (especially special thanks to Sarah). The rooms could do with a safe, and shower curtain otherwise you can't find fault with this place. After a day of wandering around in the intense heat of Penang, nothing beats it when the staff greets you with a nice glass of cold water with lemon the moment you step into the premises. As I was traveling solo, they offered to fetch me takeaway from the nearby food stalls so that I can dine in the comfort of my room at night. Love the place will definitely be back next time I visit Penang. Great place also for wandering around the sights of Georgetown. Everywhere is almost walkable from here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    204
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
247
302
98
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The staff were truly excellent, paying attention to small details, and being ever so helpful. The development has been charmingly restored, and the rooms simple but spacious, as the ambience was more like a home away from home, and of old school charm. Will definitely be back again when in Penang. A shower curtain would be helpful to prevent the floor getting wet, and also a small fridge in the room, though the staff were always replenishing us with cold water. All in all, a great place for a few days. Sara, the manager, was truly friendly but efficient.

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid the room closest to the reception area on a Sat night; Sun was fine and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper1Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Thank you Sarah , Zul ... Great location, very clean rooms and bathroom , good food at the cafe ... And it is wonderful to experience how the staff are fully attentive to the guests . Sure if you cannot expect a business hotel like the Conrad or Ritz Carlton eg room safe , mini bar, wardrobe, fluffy slippers but I realize the charm of the location and staff makes up for all these frills. There is no problem too big for the staff ... Simply ask . Wifi is not perfect but it works well in the cafe and outside the rooms where you can work in the midst of a lovely garden.special thanks to the operational staff, and Hendricks in particular. Their attention to detail and guests needs can put many 5 star city hotels to shame. . Well done team !

Room Tip: I love room f
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina_Yap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Unique decor, comfy, spacious rooms and top-rate service for a great price. Really enjoyed my three-night stay at Muntri Mews and I would definitely go back again when I'm next in Penang.

Nothing quite beats getting a nice cold glass of water when you step into your room minutes after an afternoon spent in the scorching Penang heat. Also loved the cozy feel of this little boutique place. Have stayed in a number of small establishments in South-east Asia and this is the best to date.

Would love to keep this little gem to myself but they deserve a shout out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The development is cosy and comfortable. Booked a twin suite, but was lucky enough to be upgraded to a king suite upstairs. Room is lovely and spacious, although it could have been brighter. Minor improvements which would make the room perfect - a bar fridge, room safe and shower curtain. Service was impeccable - a big shout out to Zul and Hendrik in particular.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonieBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Loved the interior decor and our room (Room K) was very spacious. Bed & pillows were very comfy with mosquito netting provided. Air conditioning worked well (very important in the hot & humid climate). Gorgeous bathroom w modern fittings although shower curtain might come in handy. Free wifi accessible from room's sofa area but not from the bed. Take note - Stairs are indeed very steep. Sound from the local band below was loud but it stopped at midnight. There is no mini fridge & no coffee/tea making facilities provided. If you are driving, please note you have to park on the street. A true "flashpacker" in every sense.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucygoosey168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The staff in Muntri Mews was amazing in all ways. In this hotel the staff are friendly, nice, but most of all, they pay a lot of attention to their guests. For example every time you come back to the hotel they meet you within a couple of seconds with a cold glass of water and when we sat outside, they put a fan in front of us... We had a 9 month old baby with us and our friends had a 2 years old girl. The staff where very very friendly and playful with them (and without neglecting the other guests!), while we had dinner they would help us out and entertain the kids!
The location of Muntri Mews, very good, walkable to the shopping street, nice mansions and so on. And still the room was totally quiet at night!
The design of Muntri Mews was very simple, minimalistic, smart with a touch of colonialism. And most of all, everything was working 100% and it was clean.
Last but not least, the restaurant of Muntri Mews, the food was very good!!

This is a hotel that I would recommend to everyone who values quality and is going to Georgetown!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.0 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.2 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
842 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 84 in George Town
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 84 in George Town
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 84 in George Town
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muntri Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muntri Mews

Property: Muntri Mews
Address: 77 Lebuh Muntri, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muntri Mews 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muntri Mews is affordable luxury accommodation for today flash packer located in the heart of Georgetown the UNESCO world heritage site.every room come with spacious lounge areas opening out to the Verandah upstairs or to the lush private tropical garden downstairs.Muntri street has one of the best preserved rows of townhouse residence in Malaysia. elegant expression of 19th century straits Chinese architecture, equivalent to Singapore Emerald Hill. these grand terraces invariably had mew- private stables for horse carriages, with staff quarters upstairs which then became garage for motor cars during the Edwardian Era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muntri Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muntri Mews Hotel Georgetown
Muntri Mews Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing