We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly, Clean & First-Class Service”
Review of Muntri Mews

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muntri Mews
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I (along with our 2 year old ShihTzu) moved to Penang for work and needed a pet friendly place to stay for at least 3 weeks while we house hunted. We had never been to Malaysia before and the Muntri Mews couldn't have been a better place for us to start out!

The staff are so sweet and were very attentive. They knew us by name when we arrived to check-in, carried our luggage, and were eager to help us with everything. Every time we got back to the hotel from exploring they would immediately bring ice water to our room. Each room has an outdoor patio table and there are a few outdoor cabbanas that are great for enjoying a drink, reading or chatting with other hotel guests. If we were sitting outside the staff would bring us water and a fan to keep cool. Our rooms were cleaned twice a day and according to OUR schedule which we really appreciated. The house keeping staff would wait until we were out to eat or exploring the town to come in and clean. If we decided to sleep in or not leave the room at all that was okay too! They never once bothered us or knocked on the door. It was quiet and private and I felt that myself and all of our belonging were safe and secure.

The restaurant and outdoor cafe were always very clean and have AMAZING coffee! The food was good too :) We ate breakfast at the outdoor cafe almost everyday (we preferred our breakfast outside so that our furry friend could join us on his leash!) and when we were too tired to adventure into town for dinner we would eat at the hotel restaurant or outdoor cafe. They have the same menu and both can be VERY romantic! The lighting and candles are beautiful and they always have some soft jazz playing in the background.

Also, the staff can send your laundry out for you in the mornings and it will be returned to you clean and nicely folded the following afternoon for RM10 (just over $3 US dollars). What a steal! We would send about a small laundry baskets worth every few days.

We took our dog on 2 or 3 small walks a day and you do have to walk about 1 block down before you will see a patch of grass for potty time. If your pet likes longer walks there is a good 10-12 minute loop around the block with sidewalks and grass. Take a right out of the hotel and take a left at each intersection until you are back on Muntri :)

The hotel provided brand-new toothbrushes, toothpaste, body wash, shampoo, towels, hair dryer, shower sandals, shower stool, clothes rack, small table and chairs, and 2 glasses with 2 large bottles of purified water that they replenished everyday. No wash cloths though. The bathroom and shower were modern and had great water pressure. They also provided us with a temporary cell phone since there are not landlines in the room. It was great to have a cell phone that could call and text until we picked a service provider here and our new cell phones arrived.

Helpful hints: They hotel is hard to spot if you are driving! You must drive VERY slow or be walking. From the street you will see a bunch of trees/bushes and the outdoor cafe but the sign is hard to spot because of the angle. You have to walk thru the hotel's outdoor cafe to get to the front desk/check-in. Also, you are literally in downtown so the streets are narrow and there is no hotel parking. You must park your car on the street. However, everything is in walking distance so you don't really need to drive! We left our car parked in the same place for days and just turned our parking slips into the hotel who pays them for you as part of your stay.

This hotel and the staff have a special place in our hearts! Now that we live here we plan to visit the outdoor cafe at Muntri Mews frequently and intend to bring along friends and family who are visiting from the U.S.

Room Tip: We have a small dog so we preferred a room on the ground floor. He isn't good with stairs and i...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PenangPuppyLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
There are newer reviews for Muntri Mews
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 904 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

The rooms are modern in style, white, clean and cool, with mirrors and lovely sketches of Georgetown on the walls. They make good use of space, with a couch the full length of one end of the room and the bed was big and comfortable enough for us and our nearly three year old (and you could probably fit another child as well). A room safe and a small fridge would have been nice. The location is just about perfect - close to food, shopping, and sights, along a fairly quiet street packed full of old shophouses. They will greet you with a glass of iced water when you get back from a day's sightseeing, and will most likely have cooled your room with the air-con as well. Outside our room was a raised platform with chairs and a table in a small garden setting, perfect place for a cool drink. They paid special attention to our daughter and generally made you feel very welcome. On 1 of the 5 nights we were there there was a group who were a bit noisy, but ther were done by about 10 at night. I would highly recommend Muntri Mews to anyone, and their coffee wasn't too bad either.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHJCCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had heard much about Georgetown and wanted to stay somewhere that has the same atmosphere - old, cosy and with lots of character. My wife picked Muntri Mews based on information she had gathered on the internet and I was happy to go along with her choice. I was not disappointed. Muntri Mews is conveniently located close to the core zone of the Georgetown World Heritage Site along one of the quieter streets, well within walking distance. Despite being built mostly of wood, sound insulation is pretty good. Did not hear the neighbours at all. Having said that, it was still a good idea to get a room towards the back to minimize any street noise. The rooms were immaculate - clean, well-furnished and everything worked. The bed was comfortable on the firm side which suited me fine. A room safe, shower screen and a fridge (to store the duty-free wine) would have completed the the room nicely though. Muntri Mews reminded me of the wooden houses I lived in in my childhood - only tidier! The staff also helped to make it feel like home - they were friendly and helpful and provided the sort of unobstrusive service and attention that is a welcome change from the OTT attention that you get at many hotels. We visited a sister property Noordin Mews to use the pool - unfortunately Noordin Mews has apparently been sold and the pool will no longer be available for use starting Dec 2012. We only had coffee in the cafe - after all one of our main reasons for visiting Penang is to eat the awesome street food - so I can't comment on the food. We ended up spending more time than we normally would in a hotel room, mainly because it was really very nice to just relax and read in the room. It was a very pleasant and peaceful stay, exactly what we were looking for on this holiday.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are good to avoid noise from heavy-footed neighbours upstairs
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Penang is homecoming/pilgrimage of sorts for me, being a Penangite who's been away for >20years. This time round, instead of the usual stay at the beach, we decided to check out Georgetown having heard from my Penang friends that it has spruced up since. We took up a friend's recommendation on Muntri Mews and....are we glad; we couldn't be happier!

I have to say we are pleasantly surprised at the understated elegance of the whole place, and staff are always friendly and smiley. Our room is tastefully designed, spacious light and airy, evokes a sense of nostalgia, and completes with all the modern comforts we have grown accustomed to. It is a small hotel with probably less than 10 rooms, which makes it comfortable and charming. A plus point is this place is complete with a great cafe, surprisingly the local food there is great, i especially love the Laksa. I normally go hunting the street for my usual local street food, and would not even think of having them at hotel cafe, but with my friend's recommendation, i ventured, and boy, this Laksa is delish and authentic, like what my grandma would have made. The location is great, close to interesting shops/ coffee shops where we can easily explore on foot, and close to lots of good food. This time round, we are very glad to see this other side of Penang, in town and highly recommend anyone thinking of exploring the town to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

A very old friend with whom I travelled through Indo in the seventies decided that we should do a quick trip together and it was left to me to book it. I decided on Penang as I have long harboured a desire to visit this island - after hours looking at accommodation possibilities I came back to one that I had seen mentioned a few times - Muntri Mews. I could not have made a better choice and we enjoyed every minute of our seven day stay there from the first gracious welcome by Sarah and the other staff with welcoming smiles and cool drinks. The quiet, cozy intimacy of this private nine room hostelry is utterly relaxing and in a strange way reminded me of Balinese losmens in the seventies. I cannot fault Muntri Mews as everything about it suited us down to the ground; the rooms, beds decor, food, drinks were all perfect and all this topped off by the wonderful staff. The prompt and smiling service by Jenny, Sarah, Zul and others were the icing on the cake - they would only have to see a gesture and ice cold Tigers would appear as if by magic. All this is a credit to owner Chris Ong who quietly floats around, he has hit on a highly successful formula and it will be interesting to see his new forthcoming creation just up the road "Seven Terraces" - I intend to return and find out first hand ! You had a better book now as I think Muntri Mews with its growing reputation is going to be difficult to get into.

Room Tip: Upstairs may be quieter but down stairs have marble floors (cooler) and more outside sitting space...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were so pleased with our decision to stay here. Wonderful location, excellent food, attentive and friendly service- we had to push ourselves to step outside of this lovely oasis. We particularly enjoyed sitting at the cafe tables watching Georgetown life go by.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This place made the entire weekend in Penang, fantastic! From our late arrival where they greeted us and helped us in with no worries of formalities until the next day. We awoke and they suggested that they could put our duty free in the fridge until later (6 girls on a weekend away). Long, leisurely tasty breakfasts, we loved it so much we came back for lunch both days - where they brought our duty free to us and asked if we wished to have it over lunch. Every time we returned to the hotel they came to our rooms and gave us iced water - all the little touches plus the beautiful simplicity of the rooms - made this a definite. I will go back just for this accomodation - let alone the history of Penang itself.

Room Tip: Downstairs you hear all the elephants above you. Upstairs would be better if possible (be the elepha...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jem2000_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 85 in George Town
855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 85 in George Town
321 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 85 in George Town
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 85 in George Town
3,625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 85 in George Town
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muntri Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muntri Mews

Address: 77 Lebuh Muntri, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Price Range: $73 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muntri Mews 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muntri Mews is affordable luxury accommodation for today flash packer located in the heart of Georgetown the UNESCO world heritage site.every room come with spacious lounge areas opening out to the Verandah upstairs or to the lush private tropical garden downstairs.Muntri street has one of the best preserved rows of townhouse residence in Malaysia. elegant expression of 19th century straits Chinese architecture, equivalent to Singapore Emerald Hill. these grand terraces invariably had mew- private stables for horse carriages, with staff quarters upstairs which then became garage for motor cars during the Edwardian Era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muntri Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muntri Mews Hotel Georgetown
Muntri Mews Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing