We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Penaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Penaga
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at this boutique hotel with a fabulous interior design. Rooms were large and spacious with amazing bathrooms for quality in Malaysia. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngtraveller0792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy_Och, Executive at Hotel Penaga, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay here with us.
We are definitely looking forward to see you again
Best regards & have a good day ahead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    265
    63
    23
    11
See reviews for
144
310
42
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have to be honest here, whilst I found some good points about this hotel the fact that we had a blocked toilet three times has spoilt any possible nice review I could give.
After reporting the issue early in the evening, we came back to our room at midnight to have the same problem again, the staff were quick to respond this second time, apologising and saying if it did happen again they would move us, well it did, late the following evening but as we were checking our next morning we did not bother to create another drama. I just used the general hotel toilet. I do recall reading about this problem from others also and I suppose after mentioning it politely to them at check out (to help the poor customer who would be getting this room next) I would have expected an apologetic response, but no they just smiled and said OK. On a positive the breakfast was better than other TA ratings.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank yvie0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy_Och, Executive at Hotel Penaga, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking some time to write your feedback with us. The management have look into it and the problem has been solved.
Our apologizes for the experience you had throughout the stay with us.
Best regards & have a good day ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

The hotel lived up to my expectations of a nice boutique hotel steep in Peranakan history and culture in the design of the hotel. Every piece of furniture and decoration is authentic to its theme. It would better if the staff could be more helpful with my booking. I booked an extra bed but they gave me queen size foldable bed which is too big for my room. The staff could not offer a solution for us even when i have already paid for the booking. Got to share our bed with our son for the next 2 nights. Perhaps the hotel could get some single foldable beds. Also, there should be some kind of refund or some form of service recovery when they could not give me the extra bed. Will talk to the manager tomorrow morning.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank samtan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy_Och, Executive at Hotel Penaga, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. The management have look into the issues and we will reply to you from our end.
Best regards & have a great day ahead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We were attracted to book a room at the Penaga from the beautiful pictures we reviewed online. When we arrived, the reception, pool area and the restored heritage exterior was indeed impressive. However, we were less impressed with the rooms which although was large, seemed to have budget hotel type beds and some modern furniture which didn't fit into the overall vintage furnitures. The bathroom was huge with a jacuzzi and would impress most couples. The centralised aircon was extremely noisy at night. Location wise was convenient as it's within walking distance to Penang road and the surrounding attractions. For those who drive, there are reserved parking spaces in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy_Och, Executive at Hotel Penaga, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with and to share your feedback with us.
The actual photos which was in our website is the actual photos we display without editing.
Best regards & have a good day ahead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We found this hotel perfect for our stay. Close to a lot of good food places (roti canai on Jl Transfer for breakfast - great!) and close to free shuttle bus on Jl Penang. You can easily walk to the big shopping malls around Komtar as well. The room itself (Hutton 05) was beautiful and spacious with a huge bed, a sitting chair, lounge and desk chair. The bathroom facilities were fantastic as well. The room was kept very clean and they gave us spring water everyday and a complimentary newspaper.

The pool was small but nice and cool to escape the Penang humidity. The staff were very friendly on our arrival and continued to help us out with local knowledge throughout our (4 day) stay. We actually felt a little sorry for the restaurant staff as no one ever seemed to be eating there. For us it seemed expensive when there was such good street food all around Penang. Overall great stay and would throughly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spannng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy_Och, Executive at Hotel Penaga, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and staying with us.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards & have a good day ahead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Have been wanting to try a boutique hotel in the heritage area of Georgetown and was definitely a positive experience. Located right smack in the city, it was easy to find the hotel, although the city's roads can be pretty confusing.

The hotel is beautifully designed, incorporating all historical elements.. Absolutely love the switches, the windows, and many other details that had been included. The room is spacious and the jacuzzi in the bathroom is an added luxury.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel but the famous roti canai transfer road was just a short walk.

Overall, it was a nice experience to stay at the heritage part of Penang, especially with many local food around the are to try. The staffs are friendly and parking was not a problem. Recommended especially for adults as children have limited facilities for entertainment.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Haelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy_Och, Executive at Hotel Penaga, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to see you again.
Best regards & have a good day ahead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

After looking forward to our 5 night stay at the Penaga we were disappointed with the accommodation - we had to purchase our own soft drinks while waiting for our Clarke terrace room to be available! The furniture in the bedrooms was totally inadequate. The shower & toilet facilities were poor with the plumbing in need of some serious maintenance - toilet overflow ran constantly - drain in shower seemed to be blocked.
Male reception staff we found to be unhelpful and looked bored with their positions - the restaurant staff were attentive and tried to please - the chef at breakfast also seemed disinterested - when asked for sauce container to be refilled we were told there was none available.
Breakfast was poor and if more than 6 guests arrived together the food ran out immediately and took some time to replenish - when the juice dispensers were empty a guest requested some orange juice which was delivered in a small jug.
Unfortunately we cannot recommend this hotel and doubt we shall return.

Room Tip: Steep staircase in Clarke Terrace not suitable for older guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arthurh596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy_Och, Executive at Hotel Penaga, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback. The management will look into the issues mentioned from your end. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Cindy
E-Commerce Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penaga

Property: Hotel Penaga
Address: Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in George Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penaga 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia, this hotel is a hotel with its own heritage charm while providing finest modern hotel expectations, is converted from a cluster of 15 pre-war terraces and shop-houses which spans along Hutton Lane, Transfer Road & Clarke Street. Within walking distance, the hotel is just a few minutes’ walk away from amazing heritage temples, pre-war heritage houses, churches, museum and variety of antique shops, restaurants & bars and not forgetting local hawker foods stalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Penaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penaga Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing