We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful heritage hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Penaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Penaga
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful heritage hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband booked this hotel for us for 2 nights. I do wish we had stayed longer. Our stay was lovely. We had one of the loft style rooms and loved it. The room was beautiful and wonderfully clean. We had a balcony but it was too hot to use it. I did however get some nice sunrise pictures from it. The bathroom was very large and I enjoyed the jacuzzi tub one night. The hotel is also in an idea location. We were able to walk to many of the places we wanted to visit. I would stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebbosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer_Lli, Manager at Hotel Penaga, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Ebbosse,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback and we are happy to hear that you and your husband did enjoyed your stay here.
We are looking forward to see you again.
Best regards
Jennifer Lai
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    262
    61
    23
    11
See reviews for
144
305
41
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Penaga is located perfectly in Georgetown with many attractions nearby.

The room and facilities are well presented, clean and have an old-world charm to them the likes you wouldnt see in a more modern hotel. The shower and bath were excellent in the 'Hutton' rooms.

The breakfast has many choices and the waitstaff are attentive and friendly.

The concierge and receptionist are very helpful and aim to make your stay as pleasant as possible!

If you need a taxi, ask the hotel if you can get Richard as a driver, he has lots of great information about Penang and will give you good advice on which places to visit. He is also very accomodating of detours you may wish to take.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer_Lli, Manager at Hotel Penaga, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback and we are happy to hear that you and your husband did enjoyed your stay here.
We are looking forward to see you again.
Best regards
Jennifer Lai
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We are so glad we opted to stay at Hotel Penaga! We’d never been to Penang before and soon realised the hotel was in a great location for old town sight-seeing (in the heritage buffer zone) – it was in walking distance of China Town, Cheong Fat Tze Temple, Chulia St and both the Red Garden Cafe & New World Night (Hawker) Markets. It was also right on the bus route for both the free Georgetown shuttle and local buses, for exploration further out.

The hotel itself was beautiful. A restored heritage building, the detail and consideration put into the hotel was apparent. We loved our room; the size, the layout, the amazing furniture (great bed) and gorgeous bathroom. It also overlooked the pool which we made good use of in the sticky heat of the afternoons. Staff and service was also great.

Overall, Hotel Penaga offers great value and we would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philby79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer_Lli, Manager at Hotel Penaga, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Philby79,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback and we are happy to hear that you & your spouse did enjoyed your stay here.
We are looking forward to see you again.
Best regards
Jennifer Lai
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Hijjas and Angela have done a wonderful conversion into a very well appointed and extremely comfortable hotel. Had one of the Transfer suites at the top of the hotel which exceptionally comfortable and well thought out. Some great design touches, and one feels there has been a great effort put into the decor and furnishings. I would definitely recommend these rooms. The hotel’s public areas in general are wonderful and considerately though out. Staff are very friendly. Sadly this falls down on being poorly run. From the start, no response to my emails, when I called rooms were not available though I could then book them online, very poor bearing in mind during my stay the hotel was less than 30 % occupancy. Obscure. Food is pretty average, luckily this is Penang and there is a great choice of excellent eateries nearby. A great waste a stylish designed bar and restaurant area. Stayed for a number of days and it was telling that the restaurant was always empty. . Poor product knowledge and overall presentation; (a dry martini included the brine from the olives…yummy!!) In spite of this I would go back because the rooms are so faabulous.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnothernameScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The suite was nice and spacious and the hotel is located perfectly for exploring Georgetown on foot. Loads of great hawker food nearby, so do your research online before you go to make the most of it.

Room Tip: The Transfer suites don't have elevators and that was less than ideal for us with a 6.5 month ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgalhrcdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had a slightly schizophrenic experience at Hotel Penaga - on one hand staff were friendly and polite, especially in the restaurant for breakfast, but on the other hand, when things didn't go to plan the staff seemed to fall apart.

When we checked in we realised straight away that the air con unit in our room was broken. We reported it and a maintenance guy came out, fiddled about with it for a few minutes then insisted that it was fixed as standing on a ladder, directly in front of the unit, he could feel the cold air. We agreed to leave it for a while to see if it worked, but it didn't. We were told the hotel was full so they couldn't move rooms. The next day we went out for a bit and came back to be told it had been fixed but it clearly hadn't. Anyway, we had 4 visits from maintenance before the operations manager came down and agreed that it was broken. This was pretty rubbish as we'd spent way too long trying to get someone to admit that it wasn't working. Eventually we moved rooms.

Also, little things were annoyong like asking to borrow an ironing board and to be brought one that didn't stand up as it was broken, then no one collecting it from outside our room for a day despite maintenance and housekeeping coming and going on a number of occasions.

So it isn't anything major that I have gripes about, but the standard of service we got was disappointing. When we checked in we basically got given our card and pointed in the direction of the lifts - no one told us when breakfast was, where the amenities were etc etc.

Other than that, the breakfast is pretty good (banana bread was fantastic), and the spa was great too. The jacuzzi in our room was also good. The hotel decor is mostly really nice apart from some brightly coloured sofas and chairs that don't really go with anything. The pool is only a lap pool and is a bit like being in an aquarium as it is overlooked by the restaurant so open to gawkers.

I probably wouldn't stay here again but it's a perfectly decent hotel provided you don't have any problems when you are there!

Room Tip: Room 302 is quite noisy at weekends with lots of traffic noise from outside. 202 is much quieter eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

What a wonderful hotel, beautiful old building that has been renovated with such style. The rooms were fabulous and well thought out. Huge bathroom with a jacuzzi. A nice touch was the small lap pool, this was great for an afternoon cool down after a day of walking in the hot heat. Could not fault this hotel at all- Highly recommend. Good location. Good wifi.

Room Tip: We loved the room with a balcony looking over the street. it was the Hutton room -number 21 I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 101Arabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penaga

Property: Hotel Penaga
Address: Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in George Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penaga 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia, this hotel is a hotel with its own heritage charm while providing finest modern hotel expectations, is converted from a cluster of 15 pre-war terraces and shop-houses which spans along Hutton Lane, Transfer Road & Clarke Street. Within walking distance, the hotel is just a few minutes’ walk away from amazing heritage temples, pre-war heritage houses, churches, museum and variety of antique shops, restaurants & bars and not forgetting local hawker foods stalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Penaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penaga Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing