We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel for one or two nights for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Penaga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Penaga to your Saves list
Hotel Penaga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   corner of Hutton Lane & Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird Specials
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice hotel for one or two nights for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a nicely renovated hotel in the centre of a busy part of Georgetown.

A smart conversion of heritage buildings with a strong retro feel and some interesting art and collectibles shown throughout.

It is a short walk from the best parts of the heritage areas and feels a little far from the main tourist action because of the busy streets and commercial area in which it sits.

Good service although a little on the wanting side as requests were misunderstood but the politeness and care shown made up for it.

The pool is beautiful to look at but very public.

We enjoyed our room with good bed and its interesting fit outt.

Good value for the short business trip we made to Penang and will stay again

Room Tip: choose a room away from the traffic and on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in the Clark Terraces which is a converted Terrace House with two bedrooms upstairs and a large living room and small kitchen downstairs. The hotel is beautiful, the staff are friendly and the service was excellent. The hotel is well located to explore George Town which is going through a major transition into a 'must see' city. The hotel serves an excellent buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were in love with this hotel from the moment we arrived....,great rooms, comfortable beds, awesome staff, good food (breakfast was awesome) great location, peaceful garden, nice pool. The energy efficiency features impressed us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MJ_OZ3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Aug 2013. Location, design & room size were good; this hotel had been converted from a Nonya baba house with tinted windows & ceiling fans which is a growing trend for Penang downtown hotels. Quite atmospheric with a retro feel.

It is a block from Penang Road & a short walk to Chinatown & the wet market(very interesting for food as well as for browsing). Many good hawker stalls & eateries(such as Cafe Joo Hooi where great assam laksa & ice chendol are available) are close by.

Staff are courteous but inexperienced. A restaurant reservation request made via email a day before check-in was neither acknowledged nor met. Upon our request for a pre-booked cab for our early morning departure to the airport, our room number 2 had been recorded & booked as "number II" with the cab company.

All in all, the hardware is good but software can be improved. Price v value ratio is good. A fair rating is a 3.5 out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VitusHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed two nights in this hotel. Room was large, very well decorated & with a great bathroom ( separate bath & shower). The pool as other reviewers have said is beside the back of the hotel which did not pose a problem for me as I swam early in the morning before guests went down for breakfast. The breakfast was of a great standard & the restaurant service excellent.

The only downside was that the central location does mean that the rooms facing the front of the hotel are quite noisy in the morning as the road is a busy one. However, other than that felt it was great value for money & would recommend it to others if they are looking for a quality hotel in the centre of Penang.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonPubLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this new hotel in Penang.

The highlights are the design and interior - beautiful, the set up and size size of the rooms (huge shower), the pool (quite funny alongside the building), free minibar (not that there is much inside), good wifi.

The low lights include the food (room service was terrible, please don't try, it was unacceptable) the noise (located on a busy street), the service (i am still waiting for the room safe to be fixed....after 2 days the guy came to fix it but couldn't and left his tools there). As we had a room with children we wanted two keys for their room but it was absolutely impossible...

The SPA was average according to my wife.

Room Tip: Try not to have one on the main street Hutton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Grand deluxe and enjoyed d corner room with a long corridor...and jacuzzi...
Overall the room is great...
Location is good - near to local eateries, especially the famous roti canai daging bfast stall...
Bfast is fine but can improve the variety of breakfast to match the price paid.
Now for swimming - the pool is nice, though small and located next to the dining area..... But use it after bfast and late afternoon when there is no patron at the restaurant.. then u'' enjoy it.
Food - we ordered beef salad and it was amazing..! did try the sandwich and it's a fair deal.
The hotel does have a rest area behind the reception and also a collection of books and magazines to read...next to the rest area.. which is great.
Did want to try the spa but was enjoying the room too much ..
Good service overall....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nannur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.5 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 72 in George Town
5.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#12 of 72 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 2,350 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#15 of 72 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#11 of 72 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang
Hotel Jen Penang
#24 of 72 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 72 in George Town
5.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penaga

Address: corner of Hutton Lane & Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in George Town
#7 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penaga 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia, this hotel is a hotel with its own heritage charm while providing finest modern hotel expectations, is converted from a cluster of 15 pre-war terraces and shop-houses which spans along Hutton Lane, Transfer Road & Clarke Street. Within walking distance, the hotel is just a few minutes’ walk away from amazing heritage temples, pre-war heritage houses, churches, museum and variety of antique shops, restaurants & bars and not forgetting local hawker foods stalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Penaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penaga Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing