We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hardware & location, service can be improved”
Review of Hotel Penaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Penaga
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Aug 2013. Location, design & room size were good; this hotel had been converted from a Nonya baba house with tinted windows & ceiling fans which is a growing trend for Penang downtown hotels. Quite atmospheric with a retro feel.

It is a block from Penang Road & a short walk to Chinatown & the wet market(very interesting for food as well as for browsing). Many good hawker stalls & eateries(such as Cafe Joo Hooi where great assam laksa & ice chendol are available) are close by.

Staff are courteous but inexperienced. A restaurant reservation request made via email a day before check-in was neither acknowledged nor met. Upon our request for a pre-booked cab for our early morning departure to the airport, our room number 2 had been recorded & booked as "number II" with the cab company.

All in all, the hardware is good but software can be improved. Price v value ratio is good. A fair rating is a 3.5 out of 5.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitus Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 691 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed two nights in this hotel. Room was large, very well decorated & with a great bathroom ( separate bath & shower). The pool as other reviewers have said is beside the back of the hotel which did not pose a problem for me as I swam early in the morning before guests went down for breakfast. The breakfast was of a great standard & the restaurant service excellent.

The only downside was that the central location does mean that the rooms facing the front of the hotel are quite noisy in the morning as the road is a busy one. However, other than that felt it was great value for money & would recommend it to others if they are looking for a quality hotel in the centre of Penang.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonPubLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this new hotel in Penang.

The highlights are the design and interior - beautiful, the set up and size size of the rooms (huge shower), the pool (quite funny alongside the building), free minibar (not that there is much inside), good wifi.

The low lights include the food (room service was terrible, please don't try, it was unacceptable) the noise (located on a busy street), the service (i am still waiting for the room safe to be fixed....after 2 days the guy came to fix it but couldn't and left his tools there). As we had a room with children we wanted two keys for their room but it was absolutely impossible...

The SPA was average according to my wife.

Room Tip: Try not to have one on the main street Hutton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernieBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Grand deluxe and enjoyed d corner room with a long corridor...and jacuzzi...
Overall the room is great...
Location is good - near to local eateries, especially the famous roti canai daging bfast stall...
Bfast is fine but can improve the variety of breakfast to match the price paid.
Now for swimming - the pool is nice, though small and located next to the dining area..... But use it after bfast and late afternoon when there is no patron at the restaurant.. then u'' enjoy it.
Food - we ordered beef salad and it was amazing..! did try the sandwich and it's a fair deal.
The hotel does have a rest area behind the reception and also a collection of books and magazines to read...next to the rest area.. which is great.
Did want to try the spa but was enjoying the room too much ..
Good service overall....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nannur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

A beautifully decorated heritage hotel, in perfect position to explore the UNESCO World Heritage sites and to explore the rest of the island from. We initially planed to stay for 3 nights, but loved staying at the Penaga Hotel so much, that we decided to stay for 7 nights and use it as a base to explore the island. A big plus is that it is one of the few heritage hotel in the centre of town with a pool!!!

Each room is individually decorated with immaculate taste. Breakfast is delicious with a wide choice and dinner is of equal quality. The hotel has a well stocked library (for rainy days), a lovely bar and a peaceful shady garden.

The staff is just amazing, can not do enough to help, are very attentive without being intrusive. The receptionists are an excellent source of information and guidance. Special thanks to Annie for looking after us with so much care.

I highly recommend the Penaga Hotel and would happily return to it on my next trip to this part of the world.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinnamomum V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We got a very good deal pf "Taste of Penaga" that includes great offers. The staff were very friendly and helpful. only small hassel when check-in as the reception system didn't show that we had booked the specific package, we had to show our printed email to confirm with them (good tip for everyone's trip!)

The hotel ambiance was just like we expected, very lovely and comfy room with jacuzzi!!
The food was great, hotel's garden is nice.
The hotel has a spa that looks good but we didn't try.
Overall, we think it's worth every ringitt!!

Room Tip: We stayed in H29 which faces the street so it could be a bit noisy in the daytime but this was compe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beebisbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We are budget travelers on a 12 month trip that decided after a lot of cold showers we would treat ourselves to this stay - and what a treat it was! One that we will never forget! The staff from the second we arrived to the minute we left were top class, they went out of their way to make up comfortable and even upgraded us to the penthouse without charge for our one night of luxury! The art work was out of this world and the restaurant food not far behind it! We would go out of our way to recommend this place to anyone, we left feeling wonderful! Many thanks to Annie and the staff! From Hayley and Dan - England

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley504150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 88 in George Town
3,698 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.1 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#10 of 88 in George Town
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 88 in George Town
873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 88 in George Town
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penaga

Address: Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in George Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $74 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penaga 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia, this hotel is a hotel with its own heritage charm while providing finest modern hotel expectations, is converted from a cluster of 15 pre-war terraces and shop-houses which spans along Hutton Lane, Transfer Road & Clarke Street. Within walking distance, the hotel is just a few minutes’ walk away from amazing heritage temples, pre-war heritage houses, churches, museum and variety of antique shops, restaurants & bars and not forgetting local hawker foods stalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Penaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penaga Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing