We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“one of best” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Penaga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Penaga
Ranked #13 of 79 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one of best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

we stayed for two night .feel so welcome when we enter.The check in went fast , we got a room without blocony so bit noice from scoter shop ..but the room s good. we went to bar the staff are very friendly and help us about penang.The service is good they know what we want.Bfast food its ok for small hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank step3aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    254
    60
    22
    11
See reviews for
140
299
38
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is one of the new wave of “heritage hotels” being built all around Penang old town. Depending on the season, prices can vary from ok deal to extortionate, but is generally more expensive than comparable hotels closer to the center of town.

Location: North of town and less convenient than similar heritage hotels in this category.

Staff: Rather incompetent reception staff. We were given the wrong type of room and this simple error took far more time and energy to resolve than was necessary.

Staff at breakfast were so overly eager to be “of service” that their actions often made them in the way. It was a buffet and they could have better directed their energies to making sure the buffet didn’t run out of food an hour before breakfast was to end.

Rooms: Once we got our room issue resolved we found it to be spacious and comfortable. There was good light in the mornings through their attractive coloured glass windows. Our room faced the street and we found this more pleasant than the courtyard facing room we were first given. Amenities were as expected and cleaning staff were pleasant and professional.

Would stay again if other hotels in town were booked up, but would look elsewhere first if given a choice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveller008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed for business but will definitely try and return for a holiday. I was in a lovely room complete with 2 balconies . The bed was comfy and the room was quiet and beautifully decorated . Staff were friendly and efficient . Location was great and close to everything . Would recommend for all types of travelers

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Love the hotel's decor and fittings; captions add to one's appreciation of the carefully-chosen art pieces. Our room, which faced the street, was a little noisy but by Day 2, we had gotten used to it. One way to look at it is that one gets a real feel of being in the thick of bustling Georgetown.

Penaga's central location in the heritage buffer zone certainly translates to easy walking access to the wonderful neighbourhoods and the heritage area.

The hotel garden is also gorgeous and the dining room pleasant. Breakfast could have varied more from day to day but the food was decent.

Service was terrific, including thought put into preparing us for checkout as well as a follow-up email asking for feedback.

And while the environment-friendly thrust of this property was not obvious, it was something we were pleased to support and it was a key reason for choosing this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pemakan_Angin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great rooms with traditional deco and ambience however with modern amenities such as flat screen LED tv and electronic safe box.
Close to Unesco sites, hawker food and city center.
Staffs Service attentive and ready Ronnie assist.

Room Tip: Room facing inwards towards the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellywk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Pros: The staff are personable and eager to help. Our room is very tastefully done up and we could find various art pieces and cultural artifacts in our room. Our room was tidied up at least 3 times every day! We also got to learn more about the architect cum owner of this hotel, the hotel building and the restoration efforts as well as our room from reading the booklet found in the room.

Cons: The strength of the WIFI network is weak and the signal is intermittent. Lighting in the corridors is too dark. Very limited TV channels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waka88waka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

wonderful location to visit UNESCO heritage streets for smell and sounds of wonderful streets which are walking distance from hotel. hotel has everything to make one a bum in the bed. staff were wonderful with advice. highly recommended to anyone.

Room Tip: hutton 30 room was nice but needs sound proofing.. not for light sleepers. bikes will wake you up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ss69pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 79 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 79 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 79 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#15 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 79 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#5 of 79 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penaga

Property: Hotel Penaga
Address: Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in George Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penaga 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia, this hotel is a hotel with its own heritage charm while providing finest modern hotel expectations, is converted from a cluster of 15 pre-war terraces and shop-houses which spans along Hutton Lane, Transfer Road & Clarke Street. Within walking distance, the hotel is just a few minutes’ walk away from amazing heritage temples, pre-war heritage houses, churches, museum and variety of antique shops, restaurants & bars and not forgetting local hawker foods stalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Penaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penaga Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing