We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Art Deco Rooms”
Review of Hotel Penaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Penaga
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Art Deco Rooms”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The rooms are breath taking considering the price, I couldnt fault anything in this hotel other than the bicycle rickshaw tour included in the package, but this had nothing to do with the hotel itself as it was a 3rd party hired in to do the tour. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and I will come back I am 100% sure of it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edinburghperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    268
    63
    23
    11
See reviews for
146
312
44
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A super little boutique hotel in a perfect location for exploring Georgetown by foot.
The rooms were full of antique furniture & wall art- each room comes with an explanation of the art work which was a nice touch.
The room has been nicely updated with many of the original features retained such as the brass light switches & the wooden floor. The bathroom had a super shower with massage features & a jacuzzi bath.
Our little balcony although quaint was above the pool so there never seemed to be a quiet time. The bar was very pretty but soulless & needed some comfy seating area instead of formal wooden dining chairs & tables set for dining.
The check in/ out staff were a mixed bunch & not greatly efficient- I left without a receipt as I couldn't get them to understand what I was asking for. However they were excellent at finding us a parking spot right outside the hotel- to note there are only 5 spots available on a first come first served basis.
Breakfast had lots of choices & was really pleasant.
I would recommend Hotel Penaga for a city break but not if you are looking for tranquility.

Room Tip: We stayed in Hutton Suite 9- good size room with a 4 poster bed, nice bathroom but a balcony above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights with my husband and his parents. We all 4 really enjoyed the stay. The rooms are really nice and confortable and the room's accommodation is beautiful. The bed is really confortable, the bathroom is clean and can be appreciated by all with shower AND big bath tub. Only small problem could be the noise but we are usualy not annoyed by this (it was a little bit more annoying for my parents in law who are usualy not sleeping well if there is noise). Regarding the hotel facilities: it is quite well located, easy to find, the food is ok, the staff is really nice and welcoming (even if you arrive in the middle of the night), and the swimming pool is really appreciated after a long day of tourism in the city. Another tiny problem: we have never been able to understand how work the shower next to the swimming pool and I'm sure we are not the only one, which means people cannot shower before to go in swimming pool even if they have sweat a lot during a very hot day of tourism!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Plus point
- the hotel room is large come with bath-tub.

Not so good
- breakfast slection is limited and the same type of food served for the 4 days during my stay.
- TV channel limited and reception is not so good
- hotel seemed to be at lower land area, in one of the day wilth heavy rain, the hotel surrounding was flooded, almost can't get out from the hotel.

Overall, will consider the hotel room been over priced

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STS_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This boutique property seems to have everything going for it. Its a semi restoration project with a green ethos that has produced a visually beautiful hotel. The rooms with balconies are spacious and exquisitely furnished as indeed are all the public areas. Unfortunately, the TLC that has so clearly been lavished is let down by woeful service and lacklustre standards. From an abject check-in process to faulty doors that are not fixed to a failure to say "sorry" to an unclean pool, the lack of guest service utterly lets down the perfection of the scenery around you. However, the fact that I would stay here again clearly demonstrates quite how well constructed and located the property is.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zane_MNohr, Director of Sales at Hotel Penaga, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our sincere apology for the unsatisfactory service provided by our staff during your stay here at Hotel Penaga. We truly appreciate your feedback and constructive comments in order to further improved our service.

I will personally look on the matters and will bring it to the table during our daily briefing.

We wish to thank you again for the feedback and also for staying with us here, at Hotel Penaga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed 2 nights here in a Hutton Delux room (without balcony). Staff were friendly and the room we had was beautiful. Our room had a spa bath and it was fantastic to relax in after a busy day. The bed was very hard, though we are finding that seems to be the norm in SE Asia. We had a room at the front of the hotel so street noise was definitely an issue. We had laundry done and the price for this is very excessive. Easily 4-5 times the cost of any other hotel we've stayed at since. Given the high price we were quite upset to see the colours had bled on our daughters swimming costume. After a 40 minute discussion we were finally given compensation we were satisfied with. We had an early flight the day we checked out so we were given a bag of breakfast to take with us as we were leaving which was a nice touch. We'd certainly go back if we visit Penang again, though we wouldn't get laundry done there and we'd request a room at the back of the hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Cpt_Schnookums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here at half price from the 4th of May 2013 to the 6th of May 2013 at the corner suite. Overall, having stayed before in several boutique hotels of similar features in Malaysia, I personally feel that this hotel reflects a rustic and charming atmosphere with green building features in mind.

Pros:
1. Building and interior design - The building was wonderfully restored while the interior concept was tasteful; with a fusion of modern furnitures and a touch of old Penang antiques. The bathroom has all the necessary toiletries and comes with a Jacuzzi and hot shower.
2. Staffs - Very helpful, welcoming and friendly.
3. Location - Stated in the heart of Georgetown allowing one to explore the heritage sites just via walking. Food joints such as Line Clear Nasi Kandar and various other stalls are also within walking distance. This is extremely convenient in the scarcely available parking Penang.

Cons:
1. Pool - Pool was small and unwelcoming. Located next to the dining area, it somewhat creates an awkward atmosphere as swimmers will be watched by diners.
2. Noise - As pointed by other travellers, noise can be a problem since the hotel is located in central Georgetown.
3. Food - Breakfast spread is average and needs improvement in terms of variety and taste.

I will return to stay here again soon since I sincerely love the building design and location.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors and rooms that are not facing the main road for quieter ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norli85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
3,532 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.1 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
829 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 84 in George Town
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penaga

Property: Hotel Penaga
Address: Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in George Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penaga 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia, this hotel is a hotel with its own heritage charm while providing finest modern hotel expectations, is converted from a cluster of 15 pre-war terraces and shop-houses which spans along Hutton Lane, Transfer Road & Clarke Street. Within walking distance, the hotel is just a few minutes’ walk away from amazing heritage temples, pre-war heritage houses, churches, museum and variety of antique shops, restaurants & bars and not forgetting local hawker foods stalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Penaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penaga Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing