We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location and decor....what could go wrong?”
Review of Hotel Penaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Penaga
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This boutique property seems to have everything going for it. Its a semi restoration project with a green ethos that has produced a visually beautiful hotel. The rooms with balconies are spacious and exquisitely furnished as indeed are all the public areas. Unfortunately, the TLC that has so clearly been lavished is let down by woeful service and lacklustre standards. From an abject check-in process to faulty doors that are not fixed to a failure to say "sorry" to an unclean pool, the lack of guest service utterly lets down the perfection of the scenery around you. However, the fact that I would stay here again clearly demonstrates quite how well constructed and located the property is.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zane_MNohr, Director of Sales at Hotel Penaga, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Our sincere apology for the unsatisfactory service provided by our staff during your stay here at Hotel Penaga. We truly appreciate your feedback and constructive comments in order to further improved our service.

I will personally look on the matters and will bring it to the table during our daily briefing.

We wish to thank you again for the feedback and also for staying with us here, at Hotel Penaga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 691 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

We enjoyed 2 nights here in a Hutton Delux room (without balcony). Staff were friendly and the room we had was beautiful. Our room had a spa bath and it was fantastic to relax in after a busy day. The bed was very hard, though we are finding that seems to be the norm in SE Asia. We had a room at the front of the hotel so street noise was definitely an issue. We had laundry done and the price for this is very excessive. Easily 4-5 times the cost of any other hotel we've stayed at since. Given the high price we were quite upset to see the colours had bled on our daughters swimming costume. After a 40 minute discussion we were finally given compensation we were satisfied with. We had an early flight the day we checked out so we were given a bag of breakfast to take with us as we were leaving which was a nice touch. We'd certainly go back if we visit Penang again, though we wouldn't get laundry done there and we'd request a room at the back of the hotel.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Cpt_Schnookums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here at half price from the 4th of May 2013 to the 6th of May 2013 at the corner suite. Overall, having stayed before in several boutique hotels of similar features in Malaysia, I personally feel that this hotel reflects a rustic and charming atmosphere with green building features in mind.

Pros:
1. Building and interior design - The building was wonderfully restored while the interior concept was tasteful; with a fusion of modern furnitures and a touch of old Penang antiques. The bathroom has all the necessary toiletries and comes with a Jacuzzi and hot shower.
2. Staffs - Very helpful, welcoming and friendly.
3. Location - Stated in the heart of Georgetown allowing one to explore the heritage sites just via walking. Food joints such as Line Clear Nasi Kandar and various other stalls are also within walking distance. This is extremely convenient in the scarcely available parking Penang.

Cons:
1. Pool - Pool was small and unwelcoming. Located next to the dining area, it somewhat creates an awkward atmosphere as swimmers will be watched by diners.
2. Noise - As pointed by other travellers, noise can be a problem since the hotel is located in central Georgetown.
3. Food - Breakfast spread is average and needs improvement in terms of variety and taste.

I will return to stay here again soon since I sincerely love the building design and location.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors and rooms that are not facing the main road for quieter ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norli85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here as part of our honeymoon tour of Malaysia. Was a beautiful hotel and decorated well. The room was spacious and the staff excellent. Be warned however that it is in the middle of a busy street and the windows are all single glazed. We didn't sleep at all on the first night and checked into another hotel on the second for some peace and quite. Would love to recommend but just can't. Get some double glazing Hotel Panaga!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ijmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zane_MNohr, Director of Sales at Hotel Penaga, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Ijmun,

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noisy traffic during your honeymoon. The plan to double glazed our windows is in fact an on going project, as we already did with most of the rooms at this point of time. Perhaps, you can email us your contact details so we can give you and update once the project is completed.

And we thank you for the high ratings given for our rooms, cleanliness and service. Please note that we do take our guests' comments seriously for us to continue rendering our utmost service to all guests at Hotel Penaga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel march 2012. It's a really beautiful hotel and the decoration is fab
The room was clean and breakfast was good we had a meal in the hotel one evening which was really nice. I loved all the stained glass in the bedrooms very colonial. The pool is a disappointment it's only small situated outside the breakfast room. Staff were extremely helpful and very knowledgable
If ever I went back to Georgetown I would stay here :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shandylincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful windows, loved the art around the hotel and the room was nice, however the buffet was extremely average, drinks and food way over-priced and generally I thought the hotel was poor value and lacking soul. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speistam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zane_MNohr, Director of Sales at Hotel Penaga, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Our sincere apology on your unsatisfactory breakfast experience at Hotel Penaga. Kindly note that we take our guests' comments seriously to further improve our quality of service.

As for the overpriced issue is concerned, I believe that our price range is on par with any other hotels in Georgetown area (probably cheaper to compare with some).

Last but not least, thank you for your constructive review on Hotel Penaga. We certainly value your feedback and will strive to serve you better if you decided to stay with us again, here at Hotel Penaga!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

A charming boutique hotel with beautiful art decor and lovely Chinese antique furniture in the room. While we appreciated the antique furniture, we found the room rather small, the sofa was too small and uncomfortable and lack of space for our luggage and clothing. And the shower was also very small. Breakfast was included but nothing outstanding. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location wise not too bad as you can walk to Penang Road, Campbell Street and Chulia Street easily.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YeohJiaYi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zane_MNohr, Director of Sales at Hotel Penaga, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Ms. Yeoh,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for staying with us at Hotel Penaga. Here in Hotel Penaga, we are constantly strive to give our guests the best personalized service that we could offer.

We sincerely apologize if you find the room which you have stayed during your holiday is rather small.We do however, have another 3 different categories of room which I am sure would suit your needs. May I suggest our Clarke Residence category the next time you book with us? It is our best category yet, converted from double storey pre-war shophouse to a beautiful 2 bedded room suite.

Thank you again for the review. It really does help us to improve, to make us serve you better in the future,

Regards,

Zane Nohr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 88 in George Town
3,697 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.1 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#10 of 88 in George Town
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 88 in George Town
872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 88 in George Town
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penaga

Address: Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in George Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $73 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penaga 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia, this hotel is a hotel with its own heritage charm while providing finest modern hotel expectations, is converted from a cluster of 15 pre-war terraces and shop-houses which spans along Hutton Lane, Transfer Road & Clarke Street. Within walking distance, the hotel is just a few minutes’ walk away from amazing heritage temples, pre-war heritage houses, churches, museum and variety of antique shops, restaurants & bars and not forgetting local hawker foods stalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Penaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penaga Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing