We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but unbearably noisy from the traffic”
Review of Hotel Penaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Penaga
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here as part of our honeymoon tour of Malaysia. Was a beautiful hotel and decorated well. The room was spacious and the staff excellent. Be warned however that it is in the middle of a busy street and the windows are all single glazed. We didn't sleep at all on the first night and checked into another hotel on the second for some peace and quite. Would love to recommend but just can't. Get some double glazing Hotel Panaga!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ijmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zane_MNohr, Director of Sales at Hotel Penaga, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Ijmun,

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noisy traffic during your honeymoon. The plan to double glazed our windows is in fact an on going project, as we already did with most of the rooms at this point of time. Perhaps, you can email us your contact details so we can give you and update once the project is completed.

And we thank you for the high ratings given for our rooms, cleanliness and service. Please note that we do take our guests' comments seriously for us to continue rendering our utmost service to all guests at Hotel Penaga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 689 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel march 2012. It's a really beautiful hotel and the decoration is fab
The room was clean and breakfast was good we had a meal in the hotel one evening which was really nice. I loved all the stained glass in the bedrooms very colonial. The pool is a disappointment it's only small situated outside the breakfast room. Staff were extremely helpful and very knowledgable
If ever I went back to Georgetown I would stay here :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shandylincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful windows, loved the art around the hotel and the room was nice, however the buffet was extremely average, drinks and food way over-priced and generally I thought the hotel was poor value and lacking soul. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speistam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zane_MNohr, Director of Sales at Hotel Penaga, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Our sincere apology on your unsatisfactory breakfast experience at Hotel Penaga. Kindly note that we take our guests' comments seriously to further improve our quality of service.

As for the overpriced issue is concerned, I believe that our price range is on par with any other hotels in Georgetown area (probably cheaper to compare with some).

Last but not least, thank you for your constructive review on Hotel Penaga. We certainly value your feedback and will strive to serve you better if you decided to stay with us again, here at Hotel Penaga!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

A charming boutique hotel with beautiful art decor and lovely Chinese antique furniture in the room. While we appreciated the antique furniture, we found the room rather small, the sofa was too small and uncomfortable and lack of space for our luggage and clothing. And the shower was also very small. Breakfast was included but nothing outstanding. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location wise not too bad as you can walk to Penang Road, Campbell Street and Chulia Street easily.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YeohJiaYi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zane_MNohr, Director of Sales at Hotel Penaga, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Ms. Yeoh,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for staying with us at Hotel Penaga. Here in Hotel Penaga, we are constantly strive to give our guests the best personalized service that we could offer.

We sincerely apologize if you find the room which you have stayed during your holiday is rather small.We do however, have another 3 different categories of room which I am sure would suit your needs. May I suggest our Clarke Residence category the next time you book with us? It is our best category yet, converted from double storey pre-war shophouse to a beautiful 2 bedded room suite.

Thank you again for the review. It really does help us to improve, to make us serve you better in the future,

Regards,

Zane Nohr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We loved our stay here - the staff were really friendly and warm. When we left they told us to phone them anytime if we needed information or were in trouble - what great service.
Our room was on the first floor and was huge. We didn’t hear any sounds at night. I loved the big bathroom with a fabulous shower and a spa bath.
The food was okay - not dreadful but also not outstanding - we did room service a few times and breakfast every day.
We used the pool a lot - at first it was a bit disconcerting to swim been watched by all the visitors in the dining room - so after that we swam outside of lunch and dinner times. A great pool for swimming lengths and cooling down.
I’d love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms overooking the garden looked nice and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TouchLightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed 4nights here. Hotel very noisy as we were given rooms directly opposite motorcycle Repair shop. Was relieved that they did not work sunday but then they worked extra late monday revving engines past midnight!
Breakfast ok and often we were the only ones there. Preferred nasi kandar restaurant across road.
Restaurant looks directly onto pool area.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing motorcycle shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I really liked this hotel - it had so much going for it - friendly helpful staff & beautiful furninshed room with good quality beds. Lift. Initially we stayed in a 1st floor room, which overlooked the road. Unfortunately although the room was double glazed it did not keep out the traffic noise - locals seemed to like to 'rev' up their motorbikes! We paid for an upgrade to the otherside of the hotel on the 3rd floor, where a room on two floors was available. Having the bedroom upstairs was no problem - we really liked it & enjoyed sitting on our balcony overlooking the garden/lap pool

Breakfast was fine - it is important to understand that this hotel is small but the range of food was good & the scambled aggs were made to order.

The hotel was in our opinion close to the action & many of the best/ interesting places were within easy walking distances. I admit there weren't too many pavements - just take care. We went to the night hawker markets - the local one - Red Garden Food - may not be the best - but it was close by - very good fish stall. Clearly food is everything here - enjoy

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,661 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.1 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 87 in George Town
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 87 in George Town
864 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 87 in George Town
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penaga

Address: Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in George Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $74 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penaga 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia, this hotel is a hotel with its own heritage charm while providing finest modern hotel expectations, is converted from a cluster of 15 pre-war terraces and shop-houses which spans along Hutton Lane, Transfer Road & Clarke Street. Within walking distance, the hotel is just a few minutes’ walk away from amazing heritage temples, pre-war heritage houses, churches, museum and variety of antique shops, restaurants & bars and not forgetting local hawker foods stalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Penaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penaga Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing