We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely hotel,but very noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Penaga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Penaga
Ranked #12 of 77 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel,but very noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed 4nights here. Hotel very noisy as we were given rooms directly opposite motorcycle Repair shop. Was relieved that they did not work sunday but then they worked extra late monday revving engines past midnight!
Breakfast ok and often we were the only ones there. Preferred nasi kandar restaurant across road.
Restaurant looks directly onto pool area.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing motorcycle shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    239
    58
    22
    11
See reviews for
132
285
35
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lincs UK
Level Contributor
364 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I really liked this hotel - it had so much going for it - friendly helpful staff & beautiful furninshed room with good quality beds. Lift. Initially we stayed in a 1st floor room, which overlooked the road. Unfortunately although the room was double glazed it did not keep out the traffic noise - locals seemed to like to 'rev' up their motorbikes! We paid for an upgrade to the otherside of the hotel on the 3rd floor, where a room on two floors was available. Having the bedroom upstairs was no problem - we really liked it & enjoyed sitting on our balcony overlooking the garden/lap pool

Breakfast was fine - it is important to understand that this hotel is small but the range of food was good & the scambled aggs were made to order.

The hotel was in our opinion close to the action & many of the best/ interesting places were within easy walking distances. I admit there weren't too many pavements - just take care. We went to the night hawker markets - the local one - Red Garden Food - may not be the best - but it was close by - very good fish stall. Clearly food is everything here - enjoy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Well decorated and renovated boutique hotel. Great location within Georgetown. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Excellent service. Rooms quite big with high ceiling and furnished tastefully in Chinese style. Lot of art decoration around hotel. Rooms facing Jalan Hutton can be noisy from traffic. The breakfast was alright and included. They even have a small lap pool. Wireless internet worked well and is free. Penaga is a great hotel with very very friendly and helpful service and staff. It is a well converted row of old shop houses with spacious rooms individually furnished with comfortable large beds and very clean.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Jalan Hutton can get noisy from street traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgecliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at the Transfer Suite (without balcony) and absolutely loved it. It is not a far walk to Penang Road where the famous Assam Laksa and Cendol stall are at. The breakfast was alright, and the pool is rather small. The room we stayed in is huge. It comes with four post bed and Chinese styled bathroom. The room also have a iPhone/iPod dock where you can charge your Apple products and safety deposit box. It comes with a living room where you can watch TV. (you can't watch TV when you are in your bedroom) However, the couch that is used to furnished the living room is not very comfy and cozy. The shower is a bit small but the bathroom is big. We had problems with the water heater but it didn't bother us that much. The bathroom has a jacuzzi but we didn't manage to use it because it wasn't dispersing hot water. Just a note, they do have good wifi connection in the room BUT not Apple friendly. My guess is because they don't have an AirPort to support Apple products to get wifi connectivity. We wanted to have the in-room massage service, unfortunately during the time of our stay, they didn't have that service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AsianWalkAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a great hotel. The room was very nice, but a larger balcony would have been better. I'm not sure whether there is only one size balcony; it would be worth checking at booking whether this is the case.

The rain shower and spa bath are a welcome relief from the tropical heat.

Staff are friendly and service is good.

The included breakfast was of a high standard.

Loved the lap pool.

Charging RM5 for a 500ml bottle of water was ridiculous, and the staff member who told me the price agreed and was very embarrassed about it. I opted to get five litres from the 7Eleven nearby.

I will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is an old style shop house--several joined together. Had our own veranda. Carved wood and details in our room. Old style charm, wood paneling. Jacuzi in room. Lovely pool in garden for swimming laps. Nice meals, Good breakfast choices--western and asian.

Room Tip: Don't take the two story room, bathroom is downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

A very beautifully done up couple of heritage buildings with surprisingly large rooms. Service was patchy and at times chaotic, but the will to be helpful was there. Avoid any buffets or high teas as they were very inferior. In fact apart from breakfast, stick to a snacks only policy at the hotel. The lap pool was attractive, but very public and shockingly cool. The spa was not operating when we visited. In terms of location, quite a bit of walking was needed to connect you with the heart of Georgetown and it was difficult to get trishaws from outside the hotel

Room Tip: Ask for an interior deluxe room. Our room looked onto the street, but fortunately efficient double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 77 in George Town
5.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 77 in George Town
5.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 77 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#13 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 77 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
1.8 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#14 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penaga

Property: Hotel Penaga
Address: corner of Hutton Lane & Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in George Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penaga 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia, this hotel is a hotel with its own heritage charm while providing finest modern hotel expectations, is converted from a cluster of 15 pre-war terraces and shop-houses which spans along Hutton Lane, Transfer Road & Clarke Street. Within walking distance, the hotel is just a few minutes’ walk away from amazing heritage temples, pre-war heritage houses, churches, museum and variety of antique shops, restaurants & bars and not forgetting local hawker foods stalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Penaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penaga Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing