We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Architectural marvel !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Penaga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Penaga
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Architectural marvel !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great architectural makeoveR! service was great though, friendly staff and very helpful. However, food doesn't justify the aforesaid marvel :) Recommended for those who need to disappear from the busty city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anggun3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    246
    59
    22
    11
See reviews for
136
289
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grootschermer, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great spacious suite and the friendliest staff who arranged a really nice bicycle tour for us.
There is a nice garden with small lap pool for chilling out. Georgetown is worth visiting for a day or two and the Penaga hotel is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doriienkoolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix en Provence, France
Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great location for visiting Penang. Located in Georgetown. Has a super spa located in the hotel. Must do, so relaxing and calm environment. Staff know the meaning of the word service. The charm of this place is wonderful, a must place to stay in Penang.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandyfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom terrace house with our teenage daughters; a wonderful place to stretch out and get a feeling for life in old Georgetown. Great artworks and furniture, beautiful bathrooms, very friendly and informative staff (definitely ask for restaurant recommendations).

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ggcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Penaga in Sept 2012. It met all expectations and more. Probably the highlight of our trip to Penang & KL. It brought Georgetown to life for us. Great beds, bathrooms, outside tub. Good, practical pool for city sight seeing. We loved the character, old tiles, stained glass. Staff delightful. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 br with an outdoor tub and table. Clarke Terrace perhaps?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacinta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I loved the decor of this hotel-- Chinese antique furniture mixed with all the modern comforts. Beds were very comfortable, although the AC did not get as cold as I would have preferred. Breakfast was more than adequate, with made to order eggs, all the continental breakfast items, and Malaysian Nasi Lemak. I do think it is a little pricey for Penang, but staying in a heritage house was well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MauiTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. It's a small, bright place with a local vibe -- from the furniture to the artwork to the way it fits into the neighborhood. The staff bent over backwards for us (fixing the wireless with an almost comical urgency, packing us a to-go breakfast when we had to depart at an early hour).

As with most small hotels, don't expect endless amenities, a vast breakfast spread, or an Olympic-size pool. And I felt our room (hutton deluxe with jacuzzi and balcony) was a bit overpriced. But if you're looking for a friendly, well-located boutique option in Georgetown, this hotel definitely deserves a look.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 77 in George Town
5.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 77 in George Town
5.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#14 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 77 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 2,875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#7 of 77 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
1.8 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penaga

Property: Hotel Penaga
Address: Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in George Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penaga 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia, this hotel is a hotel with its own heritage charm while providing finest modern hotel expectations, is converted from a cluster of 15 pre-war terraces and shop-houses which spans along Hutton Lane, Transfer Road & Clarke Street. Within walking distance, the hotel is just a few minutes’ walk away from amazing heritage temples, pre-war heritage houses, churches, museum and variety of antique shops, restaurants & bars and not forgetting local hawker foods stalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Penaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penaga Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing