We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A gem in Georgetown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Penaga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Penaga
Ranked #13 of 79 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
crazylass
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A gem in Georgetown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed 3 nights here over a public holiday in Malaysia and we were very impressed with this hotel. The check in was friendly and efficient which can be hard to find in Malaysia and our room could not have been better. We were on the first floor with a view over the pool, a four poster bed and a lovely big bathroom with shower and jacuzzi bath. The bed was extremely comfortable and both of us slept well for our entire stay. The breakfast was freshly cooked and hot- unlike most buffet breakfasts and they even offered eggs cooked to order. A nice selection of Asian dishes and western breakfast items, along with pastries and cereals. The pool is fantastic after a very hot day of sightseeing in Georgetown. The location is perfect for exploring by foot and we found some great stalls and restaurants nearby. The bar in the hotel is also surprisingly impressive- old-fashioned colonial type cocktail bar serving classic cocktails and great 'tiger' beer on tap. On top of all this, the hotel is eco-friendly, clean and well maintained- a real find. We will most definitely be back with friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    254
    60
    22
    11
See reviews for
140
299
38
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

It made a wonderful impression when we first arrived. The building and area was very clean and well maintained. We were greeted by their very friendly staff who checked us in early with no fuss whatsoever.

The room was beautifully decorated and spacious with a four poster bed. I loved the bathroom as well - they have a rainshower AND a jacuzzi! Just one note of advice - don't have a shower while the bathtub is draining otherwise you might find yourself in a bit of a flood.

Our pillows smelt a little mildewy, and really we should have just asked for replacements! Otherwise we slept extremely well. The bed is super comfortable.

Its location is ideal, a lot of places were within walking distance - even Cheong Fatt Tze's mansion. But in the heat, maybe renting a car with the aid of GPS might be a better idea!

Breakfast was good and of high quality, and there was a good selection. It can't compare to big hotel chains which cater to business travelers but it held its own by serving yummy food and a good variety.

All in all, this place is a gem. The price is more than reasonable and I would definitely recommend it to couples and families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

It was a very good decision to stay in this renovated boutique hotel in the heart of Georgetown. The location was walkable to the rest of Georgetown area, 15min walk to the rows of shopping malls with Parkson Department Store inside it. The many details of sofas, paintings, old photos, Chinese curios, Chinese wooden boxes made the hotel even more charming.
We stayed in one of the suites. So, we had the very spacious room with four-poster bed, completed with fluffy pillows and duvet.
The shower with rainfall shower head and perfect hot water was definitely a highlight. The hotel amenities include high quality and thick black slippers in the room. It was just a great weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Since the room has wooden floor, choose the highest floor if you can. The room with balcony is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loneshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

location, location, location.

Hotel Penaga has one of he best locations from which to visit the world heritage area of Georgetown and gorge yourself with all the local delicacies nearby. A few minutes walk to Penang road, Jalan Muntri and Kapitan Klang is all it takes. Easy parking and comfortable rooms, the hotel is very boutique and pleasant, good for business and leisure.
I was there for both and found it very convenient. Staff very pleasant and efficient made my day on several occasions. Yes, breakfast is very good in the hotel, but if you are on leisure, the mamak shop across the street is also very appealing and much more fun!!

Loved the gardens of the hotel that give the place a private dimension very unique in the middle of the city. Hotel has almost finished fitting double glazing in all street facing rooms, so rooms facing the street will be just as quiet as those facing the back.
Bed are comfy and bathroom has all the modern conveniences, including separate shower and a whirlpool bath (kind of unexpected in that class of hotel). So yes, good value for money !
My only "negative" comment would be that the hotel is bit somber due to dark timber floors, dark furniture and moderate lighting.

Art pieces abound in the hotel and I was told those are part of the owners' collection. Some really nice pieces to browse through.

Spa was closed during stay, but should open soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are best for me, but if you want direct access, Clarke Terraces are perfect a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank topkapitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This wonderful boutique hotel is convienently located near the Heritage district of Georgetown: Walking distance to the Old Town, and also to some of the major malls (plazas). The complex consists of several buildings in a more or less quite side street. It is a wonderful and carefully renovated building from the 1920s (I guess), the rooms very tasefully decorated with Chinese and Malay antiques. The restaurant provided some of the best meals I had during the last year. I would recommend the hotel without hesitation, although there are some minor flaws:
The pool is very small (very narrow), and more or less publicly visible, even accessible from the street! The breakfast buffet was not very exhaustive. The service was flawless except that the front desk staff was not able to handle properly some changes I wanted to make. They always pointed out that the agent (venere.com) might charge some fees, although on my print-out from venere it was clearly stated that venere will not charge anything, but that the hotel might charge changing fees.So what? The case is not settled yet, and I might make an amendment later, depending on the outcome.
The Spa was closed for renovation, so I cannot comment on that.
Ask for a room facing the courtyard unless you are used to some traffic in the morning and afternoon hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard unless you are used to some traffic in the morning and afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This renovated heritage hotel was wonderful. It is a beautiful hotel, wonderful rooms and excellent pool and ambience. Close enough to walk around or to the bus stop for further afield adventures. Breakfast was also excellent.

Unfortunately I had to do some work while on holidays and their business centre is open 24 hours which was beneficial to me.

Highly recommend, and have already passed on details to other friends for future travels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FerrisMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My first time in Penang, and it was during ied holiday. The city was very quiet since most businesses were closed, but the hotel was wonderful. It was small enough with a touch of history in it. We chose the duplex or two level units facing the main street. So we could come out from the room and immediately got in the car, just like staying in your own house...the unit was 2 levels with 2 masterbedrooms upstairs and a pantry, living room, garden with bathtub with its own backdoor to access the orchard bybthe restaurant. Great place, enhoyed every second of it, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 79 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 79 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 79 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#15 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 79 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#4 of 79 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penaga

Property: Hotel Penaga
Address: Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in George Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penaga 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia, this hotel is a hotel with its own heritage charm while providing finest modern hotel expectations, is converted from a cluster of 15 pre-war terraces and shop-houses which spans along Hutton Lane, Transfer Road & Clarke Street. Within walking distance, the hotel is just a few minutes’ walk away from amazing heritage temples, pre-war heritage houses, churches, museum and variety of antique shops, restaurants & bars and not forgetting local hawker foods stalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Penaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penaga Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing