We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Penaga
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hutton Lodge(George Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Museum Hotel(George Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mingood(George Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oriental Hotel(George Town)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Cititel Penang(George Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Areca Hotel Penang(George Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Reviews (708)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveler rating
322
279
72
23
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
279
72
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshutton roomjacuzzi bathstained glassfour poster bedbeautiful hotelchinese furniturestreet noiselovely boutiqueheritage hotelcolonial stylesmall poolwalking distancerotispacious roomstreet artcendolmenara
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
502 - 507 of 709 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This wonderful boutique hotel is convienently located near the Heritage district of Georgetown: Walking distance to the Old Town, and also to some of the major malls (plazas). The complex consists of several buildings in a more or less quite side street. It is a wonderful and carefully renovated building from the 1920s (I guess), the rooms very tasefully decorated with Chinese and Malay antiques. The restaurant provided some of the best meals I had during the last year. I would recommend the hotel without hesitation, although there are some minor flaws:
The pool is very small (very narrow), and more or less publicly visible, even accessible from the street! The breakfast buffet was not very exhaustive. The service was flawless except that the front desk staff was not able to handle properly some changes I wanted to make. They always pointed out that the agent (venere.com) might charge some fees, although on my print-out from venere it was clearly stated that venere will not charge anything, but that the hotel might charge changing fees.So what? The case is not settled yet, and I might make an amendment later, depending on the outcome.
The Spa was closed for renovation, so I cannot comment on that.
Ask for a room facing the courtyard unless you are used to some traffic in the morning and afternoon hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard unless you are used to some traffic in the morning and afternoon hours.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This renovated heritage hotel was wonderful. It is a beautiful hotel, wonderful rooms and excellent pool and ambience. Close enough to walk around or to the bus stop for further afield adventures. Breakfast was also excellent.

Unfortunately I had to do some work while on holidays and their business centre is open 24 hours which was beneficial to me.

Highly recommend, and have already passed on details to other friends for future travels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FerrisMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My first time in Penang, and it was during ied holiday. The city was very quiet since most businesses were closed, but the hotel was wonderful. It was small enough with a touch of history in it. We chose the duplex or two level units facing the main street. So we could come out from the room and immediately got in the car, just like staying in your own house...the unit was 2 levels with 2 masterbedrooms upstairs and a pantry, living room, garden with bathtub with its own backdoor to access the orchard bybthe restaurant. Great place, enhoyed every second of it, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

the design of this heritage hotel is excellent. we loved every singled details. Our room was on the top floor with balcony facing to the garden, it was very quiet and relaxing stay at the balcony. We loved the jacuzzi which was clean and comfortable. The sanitary was all good. The couch and sofa in the room were comfy too. The introduction folder on the desk was very informative, gave us more understanding about Hotel Penaga. Good to have socket right next to the bed, but no socket near the sofa, not convenience to use laptop on the sofa. Also, the reception of the in-room wifi was too weak.

one thing which has DISAPPOINTED us MOST was that they gave us twin beds instead of double bed. our room was at the top floor with balcony. we called reception about the bed issue, she asked whether we request to have double bed during reservation. if no, then she couldnt change the room for us. at that moment, she was quite unhelpful. during reservation, no indication to ask us to request for double bed and we have booked four different hotels for our Malaysia trip, and none of the hotel gave us twin beds. we like the hotel design a lot, but this issue really disappointed us a lot. it would be better to have the selection of bed type during reservation. i am sure not many couples like staying in two different beds during their trip vacation.

overall, Hotel Penaga is worth to stay!

Room Tip: good to have a room facing garden and with balcony and request for double bed for couples during reservation. or else u would have twin beds instead.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksy_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Beautiful hotel, recentement open in a renovated historic house close to everything. Chic decor, with beautiful prints on the walls, selection of design and antiques furniture including Baba Nyonya, impeccable bathroom and terrace. Small pool with glass walls (only for children) and excellent breakfast. Problem wtih airco in our room (under roof) unless you're looking for a direct flow of cold air to your bed (we don't know if it's a specific problem of the under roof room, or not). Little accident: we asked to have a picnic breakfast at the reception (plane early in the morning) and our request was forgotten. Thanks to the restaurant manager, a very kind lady, the error was promptly repaired. Anyway, a good experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enea_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews