We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful 5-Star Hotel at boutique price”
Review of Hotel Penaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Penaga
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Beautiful 5-Star Hotel at boutique price”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. It was designed and is owned by a well known Malay architect. The rooms are exquisite with unique artwork and designer furniture. I agree with most of the review by Shick1, so I won't repeat all the details. I don't agree with luke warm ratings given to this hotel by two of the reviewers, as this is truly an outstanding hotel. I live by a 5 star hotel in Colorado and I have traveled widely. If you travel to Penang, you are making a mistake if you don't stay at this hotel for it's quality and location. We stayed later at a so-called boutique hotel in Kuala Lumpur and it didn't compare to this truly lovely inn. In addition, the staff was friendly and helpful in every way. I even had my hair cut in the Salon/Spa by a Vidal Sassoon-trained hairdresser, for half of the amount I pay in the US. The owners have built a green environmental hotel and are contributing to the art scene of the city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    268
    63
    23
    11
See reviews for
146
312
44
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

My husband and I stay for 3 nights in November we quite like this hotel. Staff are good and helpful, breakfast was ok, walking distance to some heritage sites. Pool was nice where we spent most of our time. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cutelebgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

...the renovation is pretty nice...but that's pretty much about it.

Breakfast -- In my view, food and service at breakfast was poor....at I was told food in Penang is supposed to be fantastic -- a big let-down -- with some sad sausages, eggs, and porridge that was not really good or hot.

Service -- it's not bad but may be it's a lack of personalization that you would expect from a small boutique hotel.

As for the renovated shop-house itself -- the decoration was quite nice -- modern (but not too futuristic) and comfortable. However, it's always a bit dark....and because the floor is wooden, it always creeks....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinkageLink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Penaga, on a promotion in which the room price was lower than the published rack rate by quite a bit at RM 600 for two nights, including a cycle rickshaw ride, RM 40 credit in the restaurant, 2 breakfasts and free wifi. At this price, it was a good value. The rooms are large and furnished with a combination of Chinese antique reproductions sourced in China (says the info in the room) and some kind of zany modern pieces. The hotel opened in Feb. 2011 following the loving renovation of a number of adjacent buildings. Great attention was paid to details, and the architectural detailing is superb, if you are into noticing that kind of thing. This hotel is the antithesis of the mass market hotels so common in Penang, and we enjoyed every minute there. The staff was friendly and helpful - and did have our reservation at hand. Restuarant service was attentive, front desk staffed by a series of helpful and caring people, and the room was clean. The bathrooms are roomy and classy - white tiles and white fixtures, including a spa bathtub and a shower with various nozzles. The hotel is very eco friendly, with solar water heaters and additional photovoltaic cells on the roof contributing to the electricity so that the hotel stays off the grid, I gathered. I loved the detail and care that went into creating this place. I wasn't particularly taken with all of the art work, particularly the large whimsical painting of a firing squad in the dining room (imaginative, but a grisly subject for a dining area...). A few items on the breakfast menu weren't available either of the two days, but the food was otherwise well prepared and tasty. Enjoyed talking with the staff. I agree with Magloulou that this should be in the hotel section, as it's sadly hidden in specialty accommodation. It is a hotel with additional more costly apartment- or suite-style rooms, I'd say. Location isn't in the true old city, but also isn't that far away - a ten minute walk will get you well into the UNESCO old city area. Definitely worth a stay - I'd go back if the rooms were again available at the promotion price.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms in the Hutton section may be quieter. Non-balcony front onto the street, so you hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I just had a very bad experience with this hotel recently, the receptionist was rude and not very helpful at all when my reservation was not received by them (even though I have a valid booking and paid for the hotel already). Really upset, and won't be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Plenty of other better hotels around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Not sure why trip advisor have this hotel listed as special accomodation would have thought its much better off in the boutique section. We stayed 3 nights in October and praise this hotel enough. We had a Hutton Deluxe twin room and it was fantastic. It was like a little loft appartment with the living room, spacious bathroom and balcony overlooking the garden on the lower floor. The beds were located upstairs which gave a nice sense of space as I was travelling with a friend. Artwork through out the hotel is lovely and the rooms are decorated with a real eye for detail.

The hotel is well located on the edge of the listed area, the free bus shuttle to the jetty is just around the corner and the restaurant opposite is open 24hrs a day and the food is wonderful, especially the roti chanai at breakfast. The Spa is very reasonably priced and I enjoyed an excellent facial during my stay.

The staff are very helpful and if I return to Penang would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We wanted to stay downtown Georgetown and found this gem of a place that recently opened in January. The hotel is spectacular - they have thought of everything. The rooms are decorated stylishly retaining the old world charm with all modern conveniences. We had a Hutton room and it was massive with a four poster bed, large sitting area and spa like bathroom. Little touches like complimentary drinks and snacks in the mini bar, a wonderful array of toiletries provided, newspaper each morning were much appreciated. The staff were extremely friendly and allowed us a very early checkin. The lap pool is small, but lovely set in beautiful gardens. Every area of the hotel was done using top notch finishes.

A couple of things to note:
-our room faced the street and as others have mentioned, the rooms are quite loud with street noise and the motorbike shop across the street. If you are sensitive to noise, pick a room facing the courtyard.
-our first breakfast featured a nice breakfast buffet, but the second morning we had to order off a limited menu (likely due to low occupancy)
-we were traveling with 3 small children and the staff were great with the kids

I cannot say enough good things about this quaint hotel. I have rarely been so impressed with a hotel as I was with Hotel Penaga. If you want to truly experience life in Penang, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard facing room if you are sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guelph_Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
3,532 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.1 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
829 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 84 in George Town
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penaga

Property: Hotel Penaga
Address: Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in George Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penaga 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia, this hotel is a hotel with its own heritage charm while providing finest modern hotel expectations, is converted from a cluster of 15 pre-war terraces and shop-houses which spans along Hutton Lane, Transfer Road & Clarke Street. Within walking distance, the hotel is just a few minutes’ walk away from amazing heritage temples, pre-war heritage houses, churches, museum and variety of antique shops, restaurants & bars and not forgetting local hawker foods stalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Penaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penaga Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing