We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare find in Penang”
Review of Hotel Penaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Penaga
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rare find in Penang”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Unique architecture. Located within walking distance to shopping, food & tourist spots.Room space is big as compared to other hotels of similas class, not to mention a jacuzzi in the bathroom! However, rooms facing the main roads tend to be noisy 24 hrs. So be sure to ask for rooms on higher floors or facing smaller lane. Staffs were courteous & helpful. Limited tv channels, but other amenities within the hotel e.g. spa, swimming pool, bar will keep you occupied. Definitely worth to check out this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on higher floors / facing small lane
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tch125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    267
    63
    23
    11
See reviews for
146
312
43
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SIngapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Just checked out from the hotel. Stayed 4 nights, wished it could have been longer.
It is a very new heritage hotel located right smack in Georgetown itself. Near to most heritage sites.
Service was great right from the start. Thanks Micheal (Tanglung bar) and Joe (the Cinnamon) for making our stay filled with great memories.

But the management might have to look into the mosquitos issue in the room and the other areas. Parking was crazy during weekend and PH.

I will recommend this hotel to those who enjoy visiting heritage sites and staying in one.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun2Travel34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

This new hotel is just brilliant. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. The restaurant is a nice break if you want an air conditioned classic restaurant which serves wine - a nice break from eating "on the street". Wine is not cheap, but then it's expensive wherever you go. The rooms are fabulous - roomy, well appointed and, if you're facing the courtyard, relatively quiet. Nice small lap pool outside, a beautiful garden walk through the courtyard and very central.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the courtyard, not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haryadoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We had the privilege of staying in this new boutique hotel for 3 nights. After hot days of sightseeing, it was always nice to return to the chic rooms and welcoming staff. We were able to view the various room types and to stay in two different ones. The Clarke suites seem ideal for families that need multiple rooms and a kitchen. We especially liked the dual rain-style shower heads in the master bath.

When we had some issues with a sputtering air conditioning system, the staff was more than happy to move us into a beautifully appointed room with a balcony that was wonderful. While putting a jacuzzi tub into the bath seemed to have led to a slightly awkward floor plan (tight squeeze through the door), all of the provided amenities and lovely details (unique stained glass and handpicked furniture and original artwork) more than made up for such minor things. I think it's because we were so spoiled during our stay here that I even noticed.

Don't miss the gift shop, where once again the care put into the design of this hotel is evident. While we didn't have a chance to eat at the restaurant (great mamak stalls nearby) or make use of the spa, both seem luxurious and of the highest quality.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauinoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Stayed here when seeing Georgetown. The hotel is new and its design and decor has been well thought out - it feels luxurious without being over the top or too formal. All the staff were wonderful and went out of their way to be helpful whether it was in respect of our booking, hotel services or local sights. They are all clearly proud of the hotel and rightly so. I particularly liked Joe Louis, in charge of the bar who was an angel even when I accidentally knocked over the very tasty cocktail he had made me.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Penaga at the end of April. My experience with this hotel started very well since the moment I made the booking through its website which was very simple and user-friendly. I was assured that the room was reserved for us.
Once we were arrived the check-in process was smooth and we were shown to our booked room which was Hutton Deluxe with balcony even though it was just 13.00p.m. During our stay here, it was a real relaxing and pleasant moment, ideal place for a long day of travel and for recharging my battery before starting a new day. First of all, we were impressed by the decoration work. It is a nice combination of antique Chinese and modern contemporary style. This can be seen through the fine selection of living items and furniture which, for me, feel like a simple luxury. The interior work has been carefully designed to ensure guest’s comfort and privacy with lots of natural light allow to flow in through adjustable window shutters as well as in the baht room. The Hutton deluxe room itself is spacious and comfy for three persons. A set of sofa and low table with reading chair made a good service here. In addition, the hotel is perfectly located on a right spot. Even though, it is in the buffer zone not in the core zone, it is very convenient to travel around from here. The bus stop is just few steps away. You can catch a bus to go to anywhere in Georgetown. Komtar tower which is also a hub for bus to outside Georgetown is in a walking distance (around 15 minutes walk). In the night, you can walk down to Campbell street to China town and try hawker food. Lastly, what is the most important of all is an excellent service of the hotel staffs, especially Rachael and Linda who really took a good care of us from the check-in to check-out. When we arrived it seemed like the room has never been used before. I can smell the paint everywhere when we mentioned this, Rachael has quickly proposed to open all the windows and let the fan and AC turn on to get rid of the smell. We were concerned about the energy so we’ve decided to let just the fan on. When we were back in the evening, the smell has not totally gone. On the next day when we came back we found that the AC was on with the windows opened and there was no smell of painting at all. The service is very professional. When we arrived the hanger in the bathroom was broken and we was uncomfortable with its see-through window, when we told this to Rachael everything was fixed when we came back. Also, on the last nights, the Jacuzzi has stop working within 10 minutes a technician has shown up and made a fixing. All in all, the staffs are all very welcoming and treat us like special guests. Only one downside is since it is located right on the road so it may be noisy in sometimes but as we did not stay hear for all day, this is quite fine for us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Georgetown.

Room Tip: choose a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuJuNoNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Peter and I had the pleasure of staying 3 nights in this new hotel in George Town Penang. The hotel has been successfully adapted from shop houses and also has a delightful garden courtyard - something quite rare for george Town. The staff were incredibly helpful.
The hotel is furnished beautifully and there is wonderful artwork throughout.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_MarySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
811 reviews
0.1 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penaga

Property: Hotel Penaga
Address: Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in George Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penaga 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia, this hotel is a hotel with its own heritage charm while providing finest modern hotel expectations, is converted from a cluster of 15 pre-war terraces and shop-houses which spans along Hutton Lane, Transfer Road & Clarke Street. Within walking distance, the hotel is just a few minutes’ walk away from amazing heritage temples, pre-war heritage houses, churches, museum and variety of antique shops, restaurants & bars and not forgetting local hawker foods stalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Penaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penaga Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing