We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian food”
Review of Maharaj

Maharaj
Ranked #525 of 907 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Once upon a tiime two brothers ran a restaurant called "Passge Thru India". They had a disagreement and one brother took the brand name and opend a restaurant in Leith Street, Georgetown. The other brother kept the building and re-named the restaurant Maharaj. Iy is a great restaurant and is very popular with visitors to Penang - but it is not listed in Georgetown restaurants.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We ate here four years ago. Nothing has changed much. Same over the top Bollywood theme. Food is really tasty and a bit expensive, especially the beers. Would recommend for a decent Indian meal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank astra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Decent Indian food”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

My wife and I ate here in feb. in short it was good Indian food basically at a price point that I expected for the quality of food we ate. I would eat here again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roney1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoux, France
Level Contributor
125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not worth the deco”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Nice deco and friendly staff but the food is not tasty, very plain - here are plenty of better options for Indian foods, especially the informal food stalls of Little India.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank cocovlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good food and reasonable price”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I ate at the Maharajah restaurant one evening after a few beers at the Sohobar following my trek around the various car dealers out by the Sunai Penang. It was 38 degrees and sunny that day so possibly not the BEST day to go on a foot slog around Georgetown’s Industrial quarter so I was quite looking forward to the beers I must say and at RM 17 a pint they were quite good value, in fact I think London prices would be equivalent or even more.

As I walked out the door of Soho I was VERY tempted to go and see Manoor at the Kashmir and sample some more of the excellent cuisine and hospitality there but, having seen the Maharajah a couple of days earlier decided instead to turn right and give it a try as it is also only a few metres up the road.

Situated at the T junction formed by Lebuh Chulia with Jalan Penang the Maharajah is an attractive looking restaurant on a corner location and, like the Kashmir, it has a definite upmarket look and feel to it. Inside the restaurant is nicely decorated and atmospherically lit in a classical Indian style. It is not too dark and is spacious and the restaurant also has an upper level seating area which can be used to accommodate either private functions or even overflow from the main restaurant below. There is seating on the terrace at this level too. The washrooms are also situated here and are clean and tidy, something which can be an issue in some establishments and particularly in the Penang shopping malls (take your own loo roll if out for the day and anticipate getting caught short).

I started the meal with a plate of vegetable samosas which were light, dry and crisp with a nicely cooked and spicy filling. At times samosas I find can be a little greasy and stodgy but that was not the case here. They were preceded by some papadums and pickles with a raita which were very well received after the triple Tiger aperitif.

For the main meal I had a Guntoor Chicken which was very spicy, tasty and rich, if slightly too salty for my taste. The chicken was also a little dry compared to the more succulent offering at the Kashmir. I paired that dish with a rather nice gobi (cauliflower) Manchurian which was very nice indeed, well flavoured and the vegetables nicely cooked. It was still a fine and very acceptable meal which, together with a plain nan and a bottle of Tiger came to RM 60 for a meal which would probably have fed two.

A good range of drinks and beverages was on offer and the price very reasonable. The staff were also pleasant and helpful and the place is clearly popular. Like the Kashmir, booking may be advisable at the busiest times. If I only had the time or inclination to visit one stylish Indian restaurant in Penang I would chose the Kashmir but, if you are resident in Penang or your travel plans allow you to take in more than one such establishment the Maharajah would make a worthwhile alternative. Not quite a Top Pick from me but not far off and, who knows, after a few more visits that may change.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninja_Sanook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“good food - as always.”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Have been visiting for many years. Food is always great and the service is fine. The interior decore is very interesting and colourful.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank esorlegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharaj also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
Penang Island, Penang
 

Been to Maharaj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing