We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not that good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palanquinn Heritage Suites
Ranked #58 of 176 George Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here for several nights recently and I wanted to share my thoughts.

First up the room was really nice, perhaps not quite as luxurious as the photos on their website make it look but nice old colonial feel to it with a great looking four poster bed.

Their website does warn you about the noise but with us living in noisy Hanoi we thought we'd be able to live with it. The site does say they provide ear plugs - but there weren't any. Most of the time it's just traffic and street hum but there does seem to be a number of very noisy motorbikes who seem to use that street to accelerate down so there's little chance of a lie in.

The other problem is that the wooden ceiling is also the floor of the upstairs so every little bit of noise upstairs is magnified. Someone dropping a shoe or even a coin is enough to jolt you awake. Luckily we had quiet neighbours, you wouldn't want any night owls above you as their coming and going was hard to miss.

Finally the bathroom, which is lovely has two exits into the main bedroom and both only have net curtains up rather than doors. While this adds to the spacious feeling it does mean that you'd have to be fairly comfortable with the person you are sharing a room with. If this is an early relationship romantic get away then you might want to look elsewhere - if you're not quite ready to share your, err, "toilet noises" with your fellow traveller.

For all of the above we really enjoyed staying there. We liked the neighbourhood very much, even if it wasn't that central. We really recommend Annathai-Kitchen for brilliant Thai food. Also, take a left at the top of the road, then a right and there's a great little street food court - where my wife enjoyed noodle soup every day while I had French toast for breakfast.

Staff at Palanquinn were all very helpful. I did really like it but perhaps our expectations were raised by the praise. $20 a night less might have been more reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ourmanwhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 70 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed 4 nights here and I must say it was definitely a highlight. The room that we stayed in was the Loft suite, which was awesome. Top floor studio, all to our self, colonial style building, great bedroom and living area and a fantastic bathroom. What more could you want?

Well the real highlight here was Kelvyn and his personalized service, you'll be hard pressed to find a more genuinely friendly and helpful manager who will go out of his way to make your stay enjoyable, as well as providing excellent advice on where to eat, which is what Penang is all about! Very thorough and very friendly. The other staff were also very friendly and helpful and the best tip i can give is simply... eat at the night market near the beach, cheap and superb.

The only thing I would say is that the location is 10-15 minutes from Georgetown itself, if you ride a scooter, get one, its easier to get around, if not no big deal taxis are cheap.

Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perthteamtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed here with some girlfriends at the beginning of our 2 week trip to Malaysia and had a wonderful time. The location is perfect - a short walk to the fabulous food market. The staff were friendly and charming and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable, and our breakfasts on the balcony were a real treat every morning. I would definitely return and would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueF_270810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalanquInn, General Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Thanks Sue for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review through Trip Advisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your points mentioned on our location. Thanks for making our efforts worthwhile.

Best regards from all of us in Penang!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Stayed with my sister and friend for two nights in the loft suite. Beautifully restored building full of old Penang charm. We all agreed the bathroom was fabulous and particularly liked the option to open the roof which was a nice touch. Beautifully furnished with a delightful balcony where breakfast is served.

Street itself is pretty and perfectly located for food and accessing town for the main sites.

Really well managed and run by a lovely team who really do care about your enjoyment of your holiday and are full of excellent recommendations for places to see, visit and eat. Would definitely stay here again if in Penang, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiddleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalanquInn, General Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thanks Mair for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review through Trip Advisor.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are most happy to be able to host your friend, sister and you! I do noticed that most of the 'Loft Suite' guests love the retractable roof. The Palanquinn unit took us approximately 5 months to renovate as we did everything ourselves and did not engage architects and designers.

Seeing your comments makes it worthwhile. Thanks again.

Best regards from all of us in Penang!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My sister and I truly enjoyed our stay for two nights at Palanquinn and its other property a few paces away, Dwell Suites, last week. The Loft room was lovely, clean, and big, and we were comfortable just staying in. The experience of staying in a heritage house enriched our Penang travel.

Everyone at Palanquinn, especially Kelvyn, was really helpful with where to go, where to eat, and how to get to places.

The neighborhood, Bangkok Lane, is a good location, and we felt safe. It has a row of beautiful houses, and is fairly quiet for a prime location. The Sleeping Buddha Temple and the Burmese Temple are located on the next block. A 10 minute walk away is Gurney Drive, which has a promenade facing the sea, and on the other side the Gurney Plaza mall, and beside it the Night Market, which serves great char kway teow and oyster cake.

There are plenty of dining options that serve authentic food and don't feel touristy. A block away is the Morning and Night Market. There are also kopi tiams where we tried the flavorful local food.

Highly recommended! Thank you to Kelvyn and everyone at Palanquinn for the warm hospitality. Keep up the labor of love!

Room Tip: The Loft room is great value - has a bedroom, toilet, common area, and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderful888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalanquInn, General Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thanks Debbie and Joy for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review through Trip Advisor.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are most happy to be able to host you and your sister. We appreciate your points mentioned on things to do around our area. Thanks for making our efforts worthwhile.

Best regards from all of us in Penang!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Just spent two nights here, in two different rooms.
The loft is a lovely room. It i basically a bedroom, a living room and a huge shower/toilet area.
The room on the ground floor is smaller, with an adjoining bathroom that has no doors, so it might be awkward if you are there with platonic friends.
Both rooms are nice in their own ways, but I prefer the loft.
I am a city person and am used to ambient noise. But even then it took a little while to adjust to the noise I hear inside the ground floor unit. It comes from the room above and the streets outside.
But I'll still recommend everyone to stay a few nights because the hospitality is lovely.
And it'll be difficult for you to go hungry. Every corner you turn, you'll find something good to eat.
The B&B is a 15 minute stroll to Gurney Plaza, if you need a mall. And everything you might feel like doing should be within 30 minutes driving distance, depending on traffic.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms will be a challenge if you are a light sleeper. Also, first timer - it migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kceteew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalanquInn, General Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Thanks Wee Teck for choosing to stay with us. And many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us through Trip Advisor.

You are right on all the points you mentioned. The 'Terrace Suite' at Palanquinn has a noise factor because it is situated right next to the street. There are other ways we can try to block out the noise but management has always felt it would remove the true heritage experience.

In the old days, there were far less motorcycles and cars which made it bearable in my opinion.

We hope that you will consider us again should you visit Penang in the near future. Thanks again and all the best.

Best regards,
Kelvyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

From my original email enquiry through to our departure both Kelvyn & Charlie couldn't have been more helpful. Kelvyn even went out of his way to book our onward transfer & accommodation.
Traveling with 2 girlfriends you're never too sure how safe you will be but we felt safe at all times.
We were lucky enough to be staying in the loft area which included bedroom with ensuite, lounge area with daybed that doubled as a single bed & balcony overlooking the street.
I would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation to anyone looking at heading to Georgetown.
Must visit The Wine Shop (bar) round the corner for wine & cheese!

Thanks again Charlie & Kelvyn!
Deb, Kate & Sue

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalanquInn, General Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Thanks Deb for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review about our property on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate it.

I'm glad you enjoyed the 'The Wine Shop', personally as a local it ranks high on my weekend hangout list.

Please send our best regards to Kate and Sue.

Cheers,
Kelvyn and Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
1.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#14 of 87 in George Town
517 reviews
1.9 mi away
Betel Nut Lodge
Betel Nut Lodge
#4 of 176 in George Town
207 reviews
2.1 mi away
Reunion Heritage house
Reunion Heritage house
#9 of 176 in George Town
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ren i Tang
Ren i Tang
#2 of 176 in George Town
489 reviews
1.9 mi away
23 Love Lane
23 Love Lane
#15 of 176 in George Town
265 reviews
2.2 mi away
East Indies Mansion
East Indies Mansion
#7 of 176 in George Town
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palanquinn Heritage Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palanquinn Heritage Suites

Address: 20 Lorong Bangkok, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: $42 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palanquinn Heritage Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palanquinn is a captivating boutique Bed & Breakfast, comprising two lovely and private heritage suites, located on Bangkok Lane on the island of Penang, Malaysia. Our property is among the collection of colonial pre-war townhouses dating back to the 1920s, where two beautiful rows of heritage houses line this street, immortalized in time.At Palanquinn Heritage Suites, experience for yourself the legacy of its rich heritage and the intimacy of a comfortable and personalized milieu during your sojourn in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palanquinn Heritage Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palanquinn Heritage Suites Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing