We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queues give it away”
Review of Tek Sen Restaurant

Tek Sen Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 920 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Queues give it away”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This restaurant has a great reputation, and there were queues outside on a Monday night, whilst nearby restaurants had practically no customers. The food is original and absolutely delicious. This is a family run restaurant where you go for the food, not the ambience. Who cares about ambience when you can eat some of the best food in a city known for the quality of its cuisine?

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank The_Grumpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    323
    96
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noisy and messy place............”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We went there for lunch and had to wait for long time to be seated. The place was noisy and messy. Food was average. Overall, the experience was comparable to having food at hawker center.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank armenian2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

On of the best Chinese food restaurant in George Town. Had dinner at Tek Sen several times and food is excellant at price is reasonable. Cater to locals as well as tourists.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TKH25122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“maybe the best chinese food I ever had !”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I happened by this restaurant which was near my hotel and noticed people waiting to get in. Well "in" is not quite accurate, since the restaurant is basically open air. Anyway, I checked it out on the web and went back for dinner. It was fantastic (and inexpensive). I had the asparagus with prawn and sambal and fried chicken with plum sauce. Fantastic !! Now, that I'm back, I dream about it :) !.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank masha2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nothing fantastic”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

The food at this restaurant is a bit overrated. The cooking is no doubt Penang style. However, you can find similar cooking at many other zi char restaurants in the island.
We ate there as a family of 9 for dinner. One group of us had to go earlier to queue for a table. When we called earlier, the restaurant told us booking was not necessary since we'll be early at 6pm. Maybe a booking system will be better for diners.

Helpful?
1 Thank zhuzhusnowcup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tek Sen Restaurant also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Tek Sen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing