We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic local Penang food and atmosphere.”
Review of Tek Sen Restaurant

Tek Sen Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 907 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sydney
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great authentic local Penang food and atmosphere.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Tek Sen is a great place for people who appreciate a locals experience with authetic local food, friendly service and excellent value. It may not be the best restaurant in Penang but it is certainly up there with them. Despite being criticised by some for slow service, or having to wait for a table people who know good food will overlook the aluminium table tops and little stools and enjoy its great tastes and good value. It is a an essential addition to a foodies list of must tries in Penang

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrouchoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    318
    95
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best sweet & sour pork of the Malaysia ...”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

we went to Tek Sen tonight ... and we try the sweet & sour pork (we are a kind of "sweet & sour specialist" and we already ate a lot in different country). Honnestly ... it was the best we never eat! congratulation to the cooker and the team.
a busy restaurant but for sure you will find the quality !!

GO GO and enjoy the best chinese food of Penang !!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laetitia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“No surprise but worth trying”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We visited this restaurant many years ago and I had long forgotten the taste until my mom suggested going there last Sunday. As this was a holiday, we had to wait for a while before getting seated. This restaurant is still preserved its local traditional Chinese 'kopitiam' in the old days. Atmosphere was ok with friendly staffs. We ordered the recommended fried tofu, sting ray curry, fried pork slices and fried veggie. No doubt, the food did preserve its local authentic taste which usually served on an ordinary dull plate (without any décor). However, I personally think that the food is over-rated. Probably, as a Penangite, this original taste might not be able to overwhelm me. However, I do recommend giving it a try especially non-Penangite. As mentioned by other reviewers, the price of the food is slightly more expensive if compare with other local kopitiam. As this restaurant is located near the wet market and does not have its own car park, finding a parking lot may be a problem. As a conclusion, not bad but not that great either.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teikhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
177 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A bit over-rated restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As a true Penangite, I think a lot of tourists flocking to this restaurant had over-rated it. The 'biggest' dislike that I have for this restaurant is its price. One example is the 'Spinach Soup' which will cost you MYR$15 while other typical restaurant will only charge you MYR$8 to MYR$10.Bear in mind that there are a lot of 'choo char' restaurants in Penang and so, why limit yourself to this one only? Just around the corner, there's a restaurant called Ghee Hiang (in Hokkien) or Yee Heong (in Cantonese) along the Campbell Street which serves better dishes in terms of tastes. And the most important of all is that it's cheap. There is also another chinese 'choo char' restaurant (Hai Beng Coffee Shop) ~200+meters away along the Pitt Street or Jalan Masjid Kapitan Keling. Their famous dish is the fried fish with small onion. So, just go explore more restaurants or coffee shops in Penang. You will meet wonders!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank choihb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere - Overated food”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The place has a great atmosphere. The waiters are really nice, and they accepted to cook what i asked at a vegetarian basis.
Even there were empty tablea i was asked to share mine with others. It is ok for me, but others may find that weird.
Food was ok, but found it quite greasy.
And it is a bit pricy for what it is.
Overall it is ok, but not the best restaurant in town

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oscarfernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tek Sen Restaurant also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Tek Sen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing