We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Accident”
Review of Tek Sen Restaurant

Tek Sen Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 929 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Happy Accident”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were sent to go to another restaurant and as it was closed checked out Tek Sen since it had a crowd at the door. We were not disappointed. It was the best meal of our 3 week trip! This is the restaurant you'd want to move in to your street. Cheap, cute & delicious. They solved my usual problem with Chinese restaurants by offering multiple serving sizes. We had 3 small dishes and rice and didn't stuff ourselves too full! Great restaurant doing everything right!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EminOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    325
    97
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“I still dream about the double roasted pork”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice after sampling the double roasted pork....words cannot describe how good this pork actually is.

We asked the staff for suggestions with all other dishes and were not disappointed. The nutmeg juice is also a massive winner.

Love this place! Come early otherwise you may have to line up....it is worth it though!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RafKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The locals call it tall hat”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Really good Penang food, if you come to Penang for the food u must try this place.

Chu cha style, my fav is the cili padi fried with roast pork in black sauce, sambal kangkung, fish curry, steam fish teochew style, the soups, steam pork with egg etc

A man will come n take ur order, just let him recommend to you he estimates well the portions.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelboy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unforgettable!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This used to be a little local place, and has now developed into a more "modern and clean" restaurant... but it still has the charm of the old authentic place. We were back twice and loved the food! Had chicken with ginger and onions one of the nights - and that was my favorite. Here you find both locals and tourists, and the prices are very reasonable! A must place to visit while in Georgetown!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MargreteTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent local Chinese and Nonya food”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Had been to this restaurant many times, and always packed whether lunch or dinner. They take reservation and I would recommend making reservation to avoid having to wait during peak hours.

They serve a combination of local nonya and Chinese food, so not exactly a nonya restaurant. This is a casual restaurant and what local call 煮炒(cook fried), so dishes are typically simple dishes. Food quality are very good. English menu is available, so no worries for non-Chinese speaking.

The stir fried roast pork, fried kung kong, yam duck and curry fish are some of the dishes not to be missed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tek Sen Restaurant also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Tek Sen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing