We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place - good food.”
Review of Tek Sen Restaurant

Tek Sen Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 920 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fun place - good food.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Full of locals, you often have to queue to get in. We had the double baked pork and vegetables. Great food, tasty and so cheap! Also such a buzzy place - good to people watch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pragklbov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    324
    96
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Delicious dishes at reasonable price”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We went to Tek Sen for dinner on a Monday night. It is a busy place but the service is efficient. The menu is extensive and it could be difficult to make your choice. We ordered the plum sauce chicken, curry prawns and eggplant with fermented bean paste. All the dishes were delicious and the price was reasonable. We recommend this place if you like Chinese dishes.
The place was packed when we passed by it around 8pm on Sunday so you should try to be there before 7pm if you do not want to wait for a table.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MidcoVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Penang”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We went here after reading the reviews on trip advisor and it did not disappoint. The owner is very friendly and helpful (although he does make tourists sit at the front like others have said). The food is delicious; we had the twice cooked pork with chilli and the sweet and sour chicken. All the veg dishes looked delicious (we ate one but I can't remember which!) Definitely eat here!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The food was really good but a little bit pricey. We could have eaten a lot more with the bill we paid. The food was good though and we had a great time watching local people eat-very very few tourist.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mamabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Highly recommend this restaurant. Obviously popular with locals. Go early or book and the pork is to die for! Not cheap but worth it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LMB16465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tek Sen Restaurant also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Tek Sen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing