We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“cosy boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yeng Keng Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yeng Keng Hotel
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“cosy boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A beautiful hotel in the heart of Georgetown. Walking distance to places of interest, wall murals & food.

Room is clean but the downside is it might be alittle too small.

Staff were excellent.. friendly & helpful!

If you are taking taxi, would advise you to get it on the streets outside the hotel. It's pretty expensive if they call taxi for you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dorySG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    206
    37
    4
    2
See reviews for
128
367
52
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days, loved it. We soaked in Georgetown and loved walking, sampling hawker food, seeing beautiful Chinese shop houses. The hotel was a wonderful haven to escape the heat and madness ( also smoke, we were there when the Indonesia fires were running riot). The locals were so friendly. Hotel was tasteful and liked all the little touches like the toothpaste,toothbrush,razor and shaving foam.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

room was fine, location good but I needed leave a day early and I was forced to pay for a day I didn't use or need. I wouldn't go back because of that reason. I did like the architecture of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelestJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I will probably regret writing this review - it's like sharing the Gower coast with the world - not lightly done!
Accurately described as boutique, this hotel is the calm in the bustle of Georgetown.
Recently renovated to a very high standard the hotel has the atmosphere of a traditional Chinese mansion, situated privately with its own grounds, quiet pool and courtyard.
Ground floor bedroom was compact but stylishly furnished and comfortable.
Adjacent to the hotel is the Yeng Keng cafe that serves residents a cosmopolitan and varied breakfast and is also open to the public. Lunch and dinner menus are reasonably varied and are attractively priced, as is the bar.
Staff were exceptionally efficient, helpful and polite.
The decor is traditional and characterful; just outside the gate you greet the buzzing cosmopolitan community that is Georgetown.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My family and I was very interested to book 2 nights stay at Yeng Keng. I can summed up my online experience and my phone call to a receptionist lady at yeng Keng on sunday 14 july, 7pm as utterly disappointing.
Firstly... The Mansion Double Room was listed as having 1 King size bed in BOTH hotel.com and www.yengkenghotel.com.my. When I enquired further I found out to my great dismay that it is 2 single beds joined together. I was then told for a family of 3, ie husband, wife and a child of 4 years old we have to take Courtyard Family room. Even the beds in the Courtyard Family room was listed as having a king size bed. I feedbacked to the receptionist that it is misleading. She replied, it is out of her control.

Secondly, I wanted to understand the hotel's children policies, so I enquired what if I my family is a family of 3, husband, wife and a child of 1 year old, the receptionist says we have to take a baby cot. I said I didn't need one, how do you charge? And the lady receptionist told me, it depends on the situation. I asked, what situation? And she replied, perhaps I can call back later and speak with her superior in the most agitated fashion!

I was quite shocked by then, but I was cordial still. I said, so you wldnt be able to help me then? She said she can, and she has already answered my questions but I continued asking this and that
Wow wow wow.. Astonishing!

I'm sorry to say I wld not be making my stay here unless the service level is stepped up. The hotel looks beautiful, however, with undertrained staffs like the one I just experienced, the hotel will definitely see a dent in its reputation and ultimately bottom line.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank CapriceOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very nice small hotel.(10-12 rooms in total) Spacious rooms, friendly staff, and a beautiful building.
Great atmosphere, and a nice little pool in the back. Several notches up from the other hotels in that street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I stayed 3 nights at the Yeng Keng Hotel and were not disappointed. It was renovated in 2009 and they did a great job.
On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who were always willing to help with any requests or questions we had. We stayed in a mansion room next to reception which was quiet. The hotel is set back from the busy Chulia St and from our room we could not hear the noise from the street
The room was modern and clean.
A delicious smorgasbord breakfast was included in the room rate.
Location is excellent being in the middle of Chinatown. Local buses stop very close to the hotel. These are cheap and can be used to get anywhere on the island. There is also the route of the free shuttle bus not far away on Penang Rd which travels around the main tourist destinations in Georgetown.
There is also a great hawker stall setup close to the hotel near the corner of Chulia St and Carnarvon St where we enjoyed noodle / chicken dish, spring rolls and peanut ball sweet dish all prepared and cooked in front of us. We also loved the fresh fruit juice prepared at the stall while we waited. Penang is the place to go for good food and these hawker stalls provided us with the best evening meals we tried in Penang.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveMandurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 77 in George Town
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 77 in George Town
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nam Keng Hotel
Nam Keng Hotel
#8 of 77 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 77 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 2,883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#5 of 77 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yeng Keng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeng Keng Hotel

Property: Yeng Keng Hotel
Address: 362 & 366 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in George Town
#4 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yeng Keng Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeng Keng Hotel is a 20-room restored heritage boutique hotel located in one of the oldest surviving and intact 19th-century buildings at the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage City of George Town, Penang. Like many of the other buildings in the neighbourhood, it was originally built in the mid 1800's as a private residence. The Anglo Indian bungalow belonged initially to Shaik Eusoffe bin Shaik Latiff an Indian Muslim family and remains unique in Chulia Street for not being relegated to the rear of a row of shop-houses blocking its facade. In 1897 trustees of the Cantonese Club 'Ying Han Pit Shu' bought the building on behalf of the association, later donating it to the trustees of the Straits Chinese Building Association in 1939. The building was later leased to Yeng Keng Hotel. The conversion from a residence into a budget hotel was the prevailing trend along the street at the beginning of the 20th century. Small places of lodgings that were conveniently reached from the harbour were in great demand as the traffic in the port grew. An impressive traditional Chinese entrance gate was constructed announcing entry to the 'Lodging House,' adding grandeur to the commercial establishment and to distinguish it from the rest of the buildings on the street. Conservation and upgrading by the present owner, Hoo Kim Properties Sdn Bhd, was undertaken in March 2009 with the renewed Yeng Keng Hotel completed in April 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Yeng Keng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeng Keng Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing