We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty and cosy little boutique”
Review of Yeng Keng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yeng Keng Hotel
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Pretty and cosy little boutique”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This bright little hotel is smartly located at the fringe of Chinatown, within easy walking distance to many of the places of interest, shopping and good food in Georgetown. I don't exactly consider the hotel a restored "heritage" project. The original hotel was a plain old shophouse which while old, wasn't exactly an elaborate building (you can see the old pictures which were put up on the walls). A lot of the sharp and extensive decorations and internal layout we see now are installed a couple of years back, and are by no means "heritage" in a true sense of the word.

That said, they did a terrific job turning it into a designer hotel. They even managed to squeeze in a small welcoming pool in the grounds. There are sofa areas with magazines to lounge about in the courtyard. The maintenance has also been top-notch, and the hotel looks as sharp as it is on its first day (and amazingly clean!)

The room rates include a substantial breakfast, now in the hotel's new cafe next door. There is free wifi throughout, and the folks go way out to make you feel comfortable. They are always ready to address any questions guests may have, and will book taxis for guests (at preferred rates) to save you the hassle of bargaining.

We stayed in the mansion double room, which while pretty is small and tight. The staff explained that this is due to the typical room size, after installing an en-suite bathroom. This isn't clear on the website. We had a baby with us and we had to move some furnitures around and remove a couch to include a cot. We also had to rent the cot by the day, which is typically thrown in at other hotels. The staffs however went out of their way to help and make us comfortable.

Our main complaint we have is the noise from the pub in front. Our room is the one closest to the bar table at the entrance, and we could hear the noise at night up till they close (at about 12am I believe). This is despite the glass door that separates the hotel area from the pub. After that it's peaceful again.

Despite some minor problems, we remained impressed with the helpful folks here and their good thinking, excellent location and beautiful design. If you are going for the basic mansion rooms, ask for the rooms away from the front yard if possible.

Room Tip: 1. Suites don't cost very much more than a mansion room. If space is important, it makes sense t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    226
    38
    7
    2
See reviews for
139
407
62
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel has been very well restored apart from a few things where style has ruled over function. The washbasin was the worst example. It was a silly shape with nowhere to put soap and no hot water. The room wasn't very large but it was adequate.

The location of the hotel is excellent and the choice for breakfast was very good. One small criticism is that many of the restaurant dinner items need 24 hours notice. The many magazines available is a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amp-qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Location- The hotel is located in Chulia street. Approx 10 mins to komtar shopping centre, First ave mall, pangiun shopping mall. Also about a 10 mins walk to the famous chedol and cha guo teow coffeeshop.

Room- The room was charmingly decorated and rather compact. I went with a friend and the staff arranged two single beds for us. The room had a fridge, a safe and free wifi. There is a pc around the lobby area for those who need internet access. One slight issue with the room, the sound proofing is not that good for mine which was located at ground level, just besides the reception. I was working prior to the flight in to penang so I needed a few hours of sleep after I reached Penang. However when I tried to sleep around noon time, I guessed that the guests above had kids and the footsteps were ongoing and I could only fall asleep after the noises faded. At night, there wasnt much of the problems with noise, surprisingly.

Reservation- Their reservation policy was to complete a reservation form to confirm your reservation. Please remember to complete the form or they wont hold the rooms, like what I found out as I forgot to complete the form but just confirmed the reservation. So my 2nd floor room wasnt held.

Staff - The staff were friendly and willing to assist generally. They told us where to go for the famous foodstuff in penang with clear directions and happily repeat the directions if you asked them to. However, at breakfast, they seem slightly short handed to cope when external customers started to come in for breakfast as well.

Room Tip: The ground level rooms are very accessible, just that if you try and sleep in the day, its noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DICKYLEE_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The rooms are small, but given that they are so stylish its just not a problem. Fantastic service - a real oasis! Nice restaurant attached which serves a great breakfast and a courtyard cafe. Pay the few RM extra and dont stay in the ground floor rooms next to reception.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james_nw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We had an amazing 2 nights here in August, the hotel couldn't have been more perfect. Room very comfortable, lovely pool area, great staff. I particularly recommend that if you stay here (or even of you don't!) you speak to Michael who works there, he is a fountain of knowledge about Penang and the whole of Malaysia. He took us out for the day and showed us the "proper Georgetown" including some great food places we would never have found on our own. Highly, highly recommend you stay here when visiting Penang! 5*

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndsayuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Confortable room, great breakfast,great hospitality and courtsey in everything they do. It is really a piace that you san choose if you wanna spend few days in full peace band relaxation.
The hotel staff fan assist youon booking taxi tor your daily visit/restaurants

Room Tip: Alla the rooms area ok. Se were facing the pool,very quite place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nibbioscaltro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a period house turned very prettily into a nice modern hotel with excellent period touches in the styling and decor.

The suites are nice. A nice big sitting room for everyone to hang out in, if you are travelling with friends, or children. The rooms are, there is no other word for it, small, but very functional. However, there are lots of seating spaces all over the ground and first level of the hotel so you don't need to be cooped up inside your small room. Excellent attention to detail in the interiors, kudos to the designers. Some lovely period furniture pieces.

Service is excellent, very friendly and helpful staff, I can't say enough about them. 7-star!

Location location location! Walking distance to all the quaint Georgetown sights, the temples, boutiques, chocolate shop, drinking joints, cafe's, bars. Of course Eastern & Oriental is probably closest to the drinking strip but this hotel is walking distance from that strip.

We only ate breakfast at the Yeng Keng Cafe, which was decent. An eclectic mix of furniture, cafe like, and a wing-back chair, old retro wood and rattan furniture, charming.

Room Tip: Yeng Keng Suite is the best - it was a bedroom with a king sized bed, a large sized sitting room, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shobs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 84 in George Town
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.1 mi away
Nam Keng Hotel
Nam Keng Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 84 in George Town
466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
842 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 84 in George Town
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yeng Keng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeng Keng Hotel

Property: Yeng Keng Hotel
Address: 362 & 366 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in George Town
#4 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yeng Keng Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeng Keng Hotel is a 20-room restored heritage boutique hotel located in one of the oldest surviving and intact 19th-century buildings at the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage City of George Town, Penang. Like many of the other buildings in the neighbourhood, it was originally built in the mid 1800's as a private residence. The Anglo Indian bungalow belonged initially to Shaik Eusoffe bin Shaik Latiff an Indian Muslim family and remains unique in Chulia Street for not being relegated to the rear of a row of shop-houses blocking its facade. In 1897 trustees of the Cantonese Club 'Ying Han Pit Shu' bought the building on behalf of the association, later donating it to the trustees of the Straits Chinese Building Association in 1939. The building was later leased to Yeng Keng Hotel. The conversion from a residence into a budget hotel was the prevailing trend along the street at the beginning of the 20th century. Small places of lodgings that were conveniently reached from the harbour were in great demand as the traffic in the port grew. An impressive traditional Chinese entrance gate was constructed announcing entry to the 'Lodging House,' adding grandeur to the commercial establishment and to distinguish it from the rest of the buildings on the street. Conservation and upgrading by the present owner, Hoo Kim Properties Sdn Bhd, was undertaken in March 2009 with the renewed Yeng Keng Hotel completed in April 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yeng Keng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeng Keng Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing